This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp

Reviews of Shinde Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shinde Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shinde Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

50% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Wildebeest

71% success

Buffalo

43% success

Roan antelope

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 81-88 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"Food superb. Game excellent."

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2007
"Good tracking by guide. Again, wonderful food and superb service.

But as before, no need to have tea served at 5.30 when having great breakfast at 6.00." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"This was our first safari - brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"Lots of activities, although the mokoro trip was shortened by elephants getting too close and a cold stong wind. James the guide was very enthusiastic and we learnt a lot from him.

All the camp staff were very helpful and friendly. Great managers, great hospitality" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Spotted wildcats
UK

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2007
"Very nice ambiance, excellent food and service create a relaxing place to stay.

Spacious layout in woodland gives opportunities for birdlife to while away time when in camp.

Tents a little old fashioned in style but are perfectly functional." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms F & co
Sacramento

"5 star ratings for Shinde"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2007
"This is a wonderful camp, made even more so by the fact that during our visit the previous camp managers (Barbara and Bruce) were then providing relief for the current managers, who were on leave.

Managers Barbara and Bruce, our guide Bee, major domo Julius and virtually everyone else on the staff were absolutely top-notch. The guiding and activities were superb, the best of our trip. Vehicles were new and comfortable. Food was excellent, so was the service.

The site of the camp is wonderful and its overall design just lovely. We would definitely return to this location. I would rank this camp the top overall rating of the four we visited and would recommend to anyone." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Honeymooners
UK

"Shinde"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2007
"Shinde is a well established camp and thus the game seemed more tame! Whislt this means getting very close to them (which was great!) however seemed all too easy to come across the animals compared with our time at Linyanti.

The guides, whilst have the most amazing spotting skills, lacked enthusiasm that we had seen in our earlier camp... The food at Shinde was good but felt the dining setting was a little too formal. We loved the fact there was a pool which meant we could relax in the afternoon between game drives - although it did lack sunloungers and towels for the numbers that wanted to use it.

Shinde excelled in offering a number of different type of activities - mokoros, motoboat trips, walking safaris. The champagne and cheese platter we received as a honeymoon treat was a lovely touch." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs R
Sandy

"Shinde Camp"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"Wonderful location, very attractive raised dining areas and tents with raised outdoor deck were very nice. Food fine. Some very good wildlife sightings including lots of hippos in a pool at dusk, lions stalking buffalo, resident genit(!) and an amazing sight of a sitatunga just caught by a huge croc and being held under (even our guide BT had seen nothing like this before). Slightly larger camp 16 guests so felt busier.

Only one adverse comment and that was the staff in charge, Rian and Winnie. Their hospitality felt quite "forced" and we felt rather regimented. On arrival after a hot trip what I most wanted was a cold drink and the loo! I did not appreciate a long talk about Ker and Downey and their other camps - all too much "marketing"!

On our last day the time of transfer changed 3 times - as it was originally going to be at 10 so we decided to forego a early game drive and relax and catch up a bit, when it changed to a later time we were made to feel it was somehow inconvenient for THEM for us to be still there.

Other guests also felt they were not the most skilled hosts so I would have some reservations about recommending what is otherwise a great place." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"Shinda feedback"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"Again, as per our comments on Footsteps: the rooms were comfortable, the staff were great, we were lucky enough to be with Julius the Head Guide and deputy manager, who managed to find something different and fascinating every time we went out - and these were not things he knew about in advance and could 'deliver' to us (however accomplished a guide, you can't pre-arrange a huge bush fire lighting up the horizon 20 kilometres way that dramatically illuminated 7 young male lions stalking a moving buffalo herd at sunset!).

We realise that many people like the lavish hospitality bit but we found the evening meal with the long table slightly formal and might have preferred it to be a touch less banquet-like, but its a detail and overall we hugely enjoyed our stay.

Only one suggestion and its something we've noticed across southern Africa, and its that coffee is always made rather weak - but if thats our only gripe, no-one needs to lose sleep, do they?" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Arizona

""

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2007
"Ker Downey camps remain my favorites. Their staff and guides are wonderful! It's good to see the guides able to work their way up into more administrative jobs with seniority and ability recognized. Loved the elephant dung/sisal paths!!

I am a bit sorry to see a "one size for all" somewhat slick welcoming routine - I saw the exact routine at Selinda. I much preferred the "take you to your room first" routine which was more individualized to the clients immediate needs. Too many people at a time, much prefer 16 to the 20+ we encountered; lacks the "family" feeling." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-88 of 88
93%
88 reviews of Shinde Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
22
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (190 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (124 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (80 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (69 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (41 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (31 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (13 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


93% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa