This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

413 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

19% success

Zebra

15% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 413
Duration
Arrival date
D&L
New Zealand

"Beautiful views of the Erongo Mountains"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2024
"We really enjoyed our stay at Ondudu. The tented chalet was very well appointed, including air con and a giant bed. Amazing views of the rock formations from the large back deck and outdoor bathroom. We enjoyed a great drink overlooking the mountains and valley, watching the sunset with the baboons. Dinner was very good and we saw porcupines visiting the water hole. Lots of rock dassies in the morning. Great stop on our way back to Windhoek, would recommend if you like beautiful landscapes and hikes." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The S Family
Plymouth

"Erongo Wild review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2023
"We liked Erongo Wilderness - but only had one night there which limited our ability to see all they offered. The walks looked interesting. The staff were friendly and attentive.

The tents were nice, sympathetically sited and well spaced out with attractive outdoor seating. The sundown drive was good although wildlife is limited. Food was good, catering for vegetarians." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms S.
Surrey

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2019
"Very nice set up, fantastic views and great walks.

Service could be improved as this was the most poor accommodation service we experienced during our trip (albeit the other hotels set a very high standard). Breakfast was good, dinner food wasn't great. Dinner service was very slow. Dinner was served outside and it would have been good to have been given the option to eat inside as it was a bit cold (especially as we were waiting a while to be served) and it was too dark to see what we were eating (were told it was salmon, turned out to be bacon - luckily we eat and like both).

Tent was nice with a lovely private set up with lots of outside room, however the set up and in-room facilities are minimal rather than luxurious (albeit we had everything we needed aside from a hairdryer). There were supposed to be two lengths of morning walk available however, guests were persuaded to go on the short walk and discouraged from the long walk (which in practice wasn't really an option). Evening cave drive felt over priced (arguably should have been included in the accommodation price)." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Nice place to wind down"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"This was one place we used 4 wheel drive. The car park below the lodge was totally deserted so there appeared to be no option. The staff rushed up at the top and apologised profusely, saying that someone should have been at the bottom. If you have 4 wheel drive it’s no problem going up and down.

We had the “honeymoon suite” which was the furthest tent from the main lodge, but came with a spectacular view down to the plains. The tents are very well laid out and the external bathroom is excellent.

The evening and morning walks, conducted by Deon and Cardo were easy and enjoyable. The small pool was enjoyable during the hot afternoon. The local walks are easy to do on your own and are very well signposted.

We were a bit unhappy to see the management (universally white) standing around while the workers (universally not) rushed about serving guests. This was made worse after our first dinner when we were asked by a manager how it was and I said that the meat was over cooked and dry. The following day several of the staff came to check that the menu was ok, and my food was ok. While I believe their concern was genuine, I also felt that they had been ticked off which made me very uncomfortable.
They were, however, excellent at handling my lactose intolerance.

The wine list was very good, and we had the nicest bottle all trip here." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"Being there for only one night, and moving off early the next morning, we did not have time to take full advantage of the activities on offer. Would recommend a two night stay if you have the time.

However, just seeing the spectacular scenery was worth a visit there." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Erongo Wilderness LodgeAmazing "

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Amazing that a lodge and cabins have been fit in amongst all those boulders! The outdoor dining room was beautiful and the food was excellent. We were told by the staff that there weren't many animals in the area, but Ken saw a troop of baboons on his guided sundown walk. The staff were very helpful in taking a phone message for us from Swiss travellers who had been on our Botswana safari, enabling us to meet up with them at Brandenburg Rest Camp the day we left." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Something a little different"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"Fantastic location within the rocks, although it was very hot.

Superb guide (Deon) on the couple of nature walks we did." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Louise & David
UK

"Beautiful Lodge in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"EWL took our breath away! Comfy tented chalets set apart from each other on different levels along attractive walkways and surrounded by the Erongo mountains. Lots of steps up to very attractive main lounge, dining area and pool so need to be reasonably mobile.

With a Guide we did a late afternoon walk, which we found a bit of a challenge but thoroughly enjoyed, to see the cave paintings followed by sundowners which were very welcome as it was still quite hot. On our second day we did an easy early morning 2 hr walk, again with a Guide, to explore the beautiful mountain area and learn about the plants and trees.

Food and service was excellent, great choices, lots of fresh produce and a camp fire to sit by after our evening meal whilst we watched the stars.

We saw lots of birds at Erongo which was an area of particular interest for me." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Fantastic walks"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"Even though this was just a one night stop in between Windhoek and Etosha, we really enjoyed it here and were sad to leave. The view from our room was beautiful and it was just a lovely peaceful place to get in tune with nature.

We did the sundowner walk in the evening and then a more challenging, longer walk in the morning. Both were hugely enjoyable and our knowledgeable guide introduced us to the flora and fauna of the area, which was really interesting. Later in our trip we would encounter the big mammals in Etosha, but it was equally fascinating to learn all about the native plants and insects. The evening/early morning time of the activities also meant we got some really beautiful photos.

Service was also very attentive but in a nice relaxed way, and the food was very good." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"At the end of any trip you want somewhere to unwind and just relax and this was the perfect combination. The guides are excellent and the walking first class with stunning views.

A welcome treat at the end of a very long and winding road." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 413
96%
413 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
341
66
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (83 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

A convenient stop between Etosha and Windhoek,.Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, and some spectacular San rock art.


90% (42 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (36 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


83% (13 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa