This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C.
Blauzac

"Adored this lodge could have stayed longer"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"The setting for this lodge is wonderful and such a surprise. The views are amazing. We had 2 tent/chlates side by side for us & daughter and son-in law with a great kitchen diner sitting room in a 3rd tent. If only we had been here long enough to use it!!

The open bathrooms were fabulous. It is funny to brush your teeth and shower with dassies sitting close by on the rocks watching!

We really enjoyed the food in the main lodge and the fact that dinner was served on the terrace overlooking the water hole. Our waiter was such a lovely kind man. Some lovely birds come to the lodge. The walks are lovely to do in the morning and we climbed the big hill behind the lodge to appreciate the stunning views. Enjoyed the pool.

We should have had longer here" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Unique experience at Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"The Erongo Wilderness Lodge offers a unique experience in very well equipped tented chalets set in the Erongo mountains. Our chalet had a large deck with comfy chairs and lounger overlooking the distant plains. The camp manager, Katherine, was very accommodating and helped a lot with arranging activities. Our guide for all our activities. "Gelasius", was very knowledgeable about fauna and flora of the area and had a very endearing personality. The food and the service in the restaurant was excellent, with dinner served on the outside deck. The sundowner walk was a highlight, hiking to the top of a kopje to see the sun set. Would also recommend the sundowner excursion to Paulas Cave. The lodge has a nice little pool set into the hillside but only has room for a few comfortable lounge chairs.
All in all a great stay" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr's W
Victoria

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"Quirky and comfortable accommodation, Many interesting birds and mammals.

Good activities. Lovely food, excellent guides and great walks." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs C.
Crewkerne

"Great way to finish our holiday"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2019
"We stayed here for a very short time as we were on the way to the airport.
The pool is tiny but we had a lovely sunrise walk up the rock behind the lodge and saw lots of baboons.
Lighting in the rooms could be improved. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs P
London

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2019
"Erongo is a beautiful place, the staff and guides could not be more helpful.

Make sure to make the most of the sunrise and sunset in a beautiful landscape in which you can walk safely" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B - family
UK

"Great stay at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"This was very special - the lodge has a wonderful setting in the Erongo mountains amongst boulders.

Our tented rooms were very spacious with enormous balconies. One of them (room 10) was great for viewing the sunset.

We did a couple of activities organised by the lodge - a 3 hour early morning walk, and a sunset walk, but it would have been easy enough to walk on marked trails by yourself. However having a guide added immensely to the experience. Our guide, Gelasius, was very knowledgable about the trees and other plants.

There was plenty of bird life but we didn't see much other wildlife. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr GM
Porthcawl

"Erongo Wilderness idyll"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2019
"Erongo is a very different lodge, dominated by great boulders with the lodges interspersed. There are snakes, we saw a rock python, but they are keen to get away from you. Again, the people are great, as was the food (breakfast especially). Sleep could have been better as the tent was noisy due to the wind, but we were in the most exposed position in the camp (tent 11, the family unit) but the unit itself was better than expected, two individual tents and a separate tent with a sitting area, dining table and kitchen, though we only used the fridge." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E & family
UK

"Our most favourite place. Ever. "

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2019
"You have to experience the beauty of Erongo for yourself. Words cannot do it justice.

We were a little unsure when Sabina recommended including it as part of our itinerary as there are no obvious 'big draws' such as wildlife or famous desert scenery. But we are so glad we did. The tented lodges up in the hills feel as though you are in your own treehouse. They are utterly charming. The service was friendly and personal and the food was out of this world with a wine list that includes two served at Her majesty, Queen Elizabeth's Diamond Jubilee dinner.

Erongo Wilderness Lodge is like a little family up in the hills, one that takes you on walks over the rocks and feeds the dozens of horn bill, love birds and sparrows every morning before breakfast. We are going back. " See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2019
"Our second visit to Erongo.

Beautiful tented lodges in a spectacular setting, and excellent guided walks. vegetarian food was not as good as last time (different manager then who personally looked up ideas on the internet for us!). Parts of the meals were for a vegetarian quite repetitive variations on tomato sauce.

However as a destination we would still highly recommend Erongo" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Stockport

"Great way to unwind at start of holiday"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2019
"Food as good as ever. Able to experience afternoon tea for first time.

Room very good.

Did a self guiding walk (baboon just over a 1 hour) which was enjoyable and gave a good vantage point of the lodge and the surroundings.

Staff again very helpful, as had problems with 4 way gang connection to recharge batteries etc.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa