This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

320 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

38% success

Cheetah

5% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Elephant

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Black Rhino

78% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

White Rhino

41% success

Eland

24% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 311-320 of 320
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P
West Sussex

"Good base for the park"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2007
"Again, when we arrived here we found we were not expected, and they told us they were full up and could not take us. We produced our vouchers, and waited. Finally, they found us a bungalow, (which was number 41), which seemed to be adequate, although whether it was our intended accommodation we did not know.

Breakfasts were a bit scant, and this was not because we were late taking them. The cooked part was good, but there was often a shortage of juice, or fruit and glasses, plates and saucers. The evening meals were better.

Considering this is described as the best camp of the three main ones, we did not find it so, and prefered Okaukuejo. Having said that, its location with regard to waterholes and drives nearby was very good.

No information on mealtimes, amemities or activities." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Mr-W NYorks
UK

"Great Game drives with Lion and Rhino as well"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2007
"These lodges were fantastic and we got what we had asked for (and what we ahd wanted at Okaukuejo). The game was brilliant with a good waterhole where we saw again elephant and rhino as well as Honey Badgers and much else. We would have happily stayed another day here.

The shop had very little in it so you need to know to bing food in, especially meat of which there was nothing. This was a shame as the barbecue pits were fantastic but we were not able to use them. A lovely site which will be marvelous when the pool is finished.

The restaurant was almost a disaster. We had no food so early on I went to book for dinner. I was told by the head waiter that I did not need to book as they only took bookings for 6 or more (we were 5) but if we came as they opened we would be fine. This we did to be told all the tables were gone as coaches were coming in and we would not be able to dine that night. Fortunately I held my ground and we did get to eat a good meal (so long as we were fast!!) but they were incredibly disorganised and the chefs serving the meat quite grumpy. This was an amazing contrast to Okaukuejo restaurant which had been in a tent but very friendly. It was only following our example that some older British tourists finally got to share our table and eat. In fact the coach parties they were expecting never arrived.

The resort needs to sort out the restaurant service, booking and expert africa need to advise those who think as we had that they will self cater here. All utensils for self catering were there but food would have need to be brought from Outjo." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr AT
UK

"Halali Restcamp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2007
"The waterhole was very good and we saw lots of animals." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs-H
UK

"Good location"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2007
"Good rooms - we had a family suite to ourselves

Restaurant was better than Okaukuejo Restcamp but still very limited options if you don't want a full 3 course meal - eg a light breakfast or lunch as the shop was limited." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"A match for any accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2007
"Again the upgraded rooms were really excellent and we were told that the camping facilities were the same. The previous comments about food [Ed: at Okaukuejo] were true here as well though were Ok for us for two nights.

One of the flood lights at the water hole was not functioning properly but it still provided excellent entertainment both in the day and especially at night." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs Meerkat
UK

"super accomadation"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2007
"The accomodation was new and excellent - staff were a bit impersonal.

The entry to the park is a bit impersonal and it is difficult to get guidebooks before entering.

It was great being in the middle of the park as we could easily cover the whole park in the three days" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Clontarf

"OK lodge in goodlocation"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2007
"Service was slightly worse than Okaukeujo but game viewing was even better

Staff were sullen and unhelpful in restaurant and again very little to buy if self catering. Snack bar closes for lunch

But saw fabulous game driving around the area - many lion, black rhino etc And the sight of 40+ elephant at the watering hole at night was amazing plus rhino

New chalets are clean and nice

Worth at least a night" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr M
Lancaster

"Excellent waterhole with prime game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2007
"The camp is currently being renovated and bungalows upgraded to a high standard: building work continues. The opportunity to self cater is currently limited as the shop is not stocking any supplies for this. The signage in Etosha generally is being up graded but many of the drives are currently whited out: it woudl be easy to get lost! The waterhole still remains a prime location with consistent and interesting game viewing: still a good place to see leopard.

A relatively quiet camp, we never felt crowded.

There is now a 'daily parking' cost of 80 namibian dollars per person which replaces the game permit which had previously been paid at Andersson gate. We were told that prices are being reviewed in November and would likely be rising." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr Caracal
UK

"A convenient modern base"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2007
"Upgrading work appears to be still in progress and the pool was not finished which may have been refreshing in the middle of the day.

The restaurant was a little institutional but served us well and it was a good base for the game viewing. The cottage was great and although there was crockery and a kettle there was no cutlery!

The water hole at the camp is excellent and we enjoyed watching the rhino and elephants drinking at night/evening." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr J & Mrs S B
UK

"The refurbished bungalow was really nice"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2007
"The refurbished bungalow was really nice and done to a good standard, but could have benefitted from some basic equipment (only a part set of cutlery/crockery provided and no BBQ implements or washing up facilities so only option was to eat at the restaurant).

There was an initial problem with our checking in as they had us down to arrive in August!!! It was sorted eventually, but the staff were not particularly friendly and it seems that they were still finding their feet with the procedures.
The restaurant was a bit hit and miss with the food. We soon learnt that it was necessary to arrive within first 30mins of opening time: then it was to a fairly good standard. Again some staff (but not all) were not always that friendly.

The waterhole at the camp was really nice to be by at night and really only spoilt by a few less considerate individuals!

We did one of the night drives and the guide, Martin, was a really nice and knowledgeable person. Unfortunately, it wasn't brilliant in terms of game viewings on that night, but just luck of the draw I suppose - and it is hard to believe just how cold it can get when travelling in the open vehicle!!!

The overall wildlife viewing in the park itself is unbelievable at times with animals everywhere, but maybe not such photogenic backgrounds as we experienced in Kruger a few years ago. Some special experiences to be had watching the wildlife." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 311-320 of 320
79%
320 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
84
154
66
14
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (654 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (247 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (148 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (147 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (95 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (86 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (70 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (28 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful and isolated private reserve, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa