This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp

Reviews of Mushara Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

236 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Bush Camp.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

27% success

Cheetah

40% success

Giraffe

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Zebra

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Oryx

91% success

Eland

56% success

White Rhino

44% success

Black Rhino

36% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 171-180 of 236
Duration
Arrival date
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"Much more friendly and welcoming than the NWR camps inside Etosha. Nice public areas. Comfortable, clean accommodation. Food excellent. This was our second best place to stay after Hoodia.

Although outside the game park, the park was easily reached by a short drive on a tarmac road." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"We used the lodge to relax for a day and found the facilities and helpfulness of the staff first class.

Again the food was good and would recommend this lodge as very comfortable." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"Mushara Excellence"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"A new camp for us and was the completion of our west to east transit of Etosha. It is well located near the Von Linquist Gate and you can even drive to it on tarmac. The tents are very good and the camp facilities are excellent.

We were welcomed by the manager Erasmus and his wife and over the three nights we stayed met some excellent staff who were a pleasure to talk to and who did everything they could to make us comfortable. Eating under the stars was superb and the food the best we had on the whole trip. With hindsight it might have paid us to have had a game drive at the camp to get local knowledge of the animals and best waterholes but having sole use of the car was beneficial in giving us maximum flexibility over what and how much we did." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Wisconsin

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2012
"The room was good, but quite small. They had every amenity including a make up mirror and a travel converter. Wifi at the lodge was excellent. Staff was really nice. Food was very very good. Joe says the best meal in Namibia- -- I vote for Okonjima and Mushara #2.

Very few people staying there. We got there about 3 since we left Etosha so early in the morning because of the last hotel. I had thought they had a water hole, but they didn't. We were comfortable reading in the lodge." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr P, Mrs A & Mr W
UK

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2012
"The camp was beautiful and the accommodation well appointed, with lots of attention to detail. Well managed, with friendly efficent staff. For example, we had two large chairs placed on the deck outside the tent, and a smaller one for our son.

Dinner was lovely (the wine was very nice) although we thought it was a bit odd (as it was billed as being a child friendly place) that if you didn't want the set menu for your child you needed to pay extra for a child's meal. It was a fairly challenging meal for a 5 year old - feta and beetroot tart, followed by oryx.

We didn't feel as if we were in the wild in Mushara. There was a fair bit of noise from car engines and people, and not so many birds or animals. We were staying at 4 of the national park camps inside Etosha after Mushara, so didn't go on the game drives or into Etosha during our stay at Mushara. If you only stayed outside Etosha, I think you'd miss out a bit - no being able to walk at night to the waterholes." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2012
"Warm and friendly staff and a nice cosy feel to the lodge. Very close to the park gate so is a good alternative to using the park accomodation if you want some personalised service. You would however have to forgo the night viewing at the waterholes. Staff singing after dinner was again good fun." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr E & Mrs T
Denmark

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"Loved the restaurant-house. Great architecture and ambience." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms S
Germany

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2012
"The Mushara Bush Camp was a welcome stop after the drive through the Etosha Park. It looks like it is also a good base for visiting the northern-east part of Etosha.
The rooms or tents are lovely and have everything you need. We arrived in the late afternoon and so didn't do much. The dining area was beautifully decorated and the food and service were also excellent. There were some families with kids who were well entertained." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Kiwis in
London

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2012
"This was a lovely place to stay, however our door blew open with the high winds overnight and it was not possible to secure the door latch so that this did not continue to happen, so we had to keep waking up to push the hook fully back down into the catch. We were the only guests to experience this as I heard some other guests mention that their door also flew open over night!

Could I suggest that the management look to have a more reliable method to secure the door?" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The B Party
Hampshire

"Mushara Bush Camp beautifully designed"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"What a lovely place to stay. So much thought has gone into the design of the complex.

Beautiful rooms, the best shower of the trip, and hot water bottles in the bed !

The lounge area is attractive, spacious and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful and very proud of their hotel and the food was superb." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 171-180 of 236
94%
236 reviews of Mushara Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
177
50
8
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa