This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse

Reviews of Hilltop Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

55 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hilltop Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 55
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.
Southampton

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2019
"In view of the timing our flights we regret returning to Windhoek and should have had an additional night somewhere else." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Pavel
Eleebana

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2019
"Nice location with a view and helpful staff.

The room very small and basic looking rather tired. Probably a converted laundry previously." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Mr J.
Ireland

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2019
"A very nice guesthouse for our last night.

Rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was lovely.

The staff were friendly. Nice swimming pool.

Air conditioning was noisy. Happy to stay again though." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr H
California

"hmph"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2018
"I am not sure how relevant our feedback is as there was someone standing in for the owners/ managers during our stay. She was very unwelcoming, made us stand in the hallway and just stared at us, then walked into the office and got her key and showed us to the room. Told us not to move the bucket while we shower, so we actually had to straddle a bucket right where you would normally stand?

She was not warm at all, and we did not really feel welcome. She did give us some pointers about our drive and a small quip on where to eat, but the minute we got there we just wanted to leave.

During breakfast, we wanted to sit by the pool and enjoy the view (hence the hilltop). However, they said we could not sit there and sat us at a table on the sidewalk right in front of our door." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"A good place for the first or last night if you wish to stay in Windhoek.

Near restaurants and supermarkets (although a taxi to nearby restaurants is advised).

Rooms/view/pool were lovely but bathrooms a bit dated." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms T.
London

"Good start to the journey"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"Quiet room with a comfortable bed and delicious breakfast on the veranda outside our room.

Great views of Windhoek from the veranda.The only small downside was the plumbing: dribbly shower, slow-clearing drain and separate hot and cold taps. They have secure parking with a security guard present at all times, which surprised us, as we are not used to it, but was also reassuring.

The staff were great. We were also given some useful advice for shopping and parking in town." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"The owner looks after his guests well and tries hard to please." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Back for a third time"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"We ended our visit to Namibia at the Hilltop Guesthouse where we retrieved our luggage and had an evening to pack for the rest of our trip in Africa. The staff, as with both other visits, were excellent. We left too early the next morning to enjoy breakfast, but the owner surprised us with coffee in our room.

Our room this time was not as nice as the others we stayed in. Primarily, the shower floor very steep and difficult to stand on. Otherwise our room was comfortable and impeccably clean.

We really appreciate being able to leave our extra luggage at the Hilltop Guesthouse during the safari portion of our trip. Thank you!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"Staff was pleasant at Hilltop.

Visited a fantastic small local bookstore near Hilltop, great discussion with wonderful owner, Anya.

Visited Independence Memorial Museum in Windhoek, good introduction to history of Namibian independence." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Another comfortable night"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"This was our second stay during our time in Namibia. We had a smaller, downstairs room near the pool. Same attention to detail by the staff and same great breakfast.

We left some luggage on our first stay and only taken what we needed to the Fish River Lodge. Now we were able to switch to what we needed for the safari portion of our trip and left the other luggage. We would pick it up on our last stay before we left Namibia." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 55
91%
55 reviews of Hilltop Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
16
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


89% (390 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

A cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek, Galton House boasts a pool and a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.


90% (166 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (132 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (126 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (122 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (103 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (42 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (40 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


94% (40 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (24 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (18 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


94% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa