This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse

Reviews of Hilltop Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

55 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hilltop Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 55
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M
Wakefield

"Nice B&B"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2018
"Great location in a quiet cul de sac. Room was a little tired and dark.

The personalised breakfast on the balcony was a nice touch.

Was good for a one night stopover prior to flying home but I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Perfectly good"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2017
"After 24 hours travel, we were shown our room by the security guard and felt rather unwanted. All was pleasantly sorted and explained the following morning, and we left very pleased by our brief stay. The breakfast was lovely (on the verandah). The room was a good size, airy, and quiet. Its bathroom was a bit drippy and tired, but perfectly good.

We had hoped to arrange a sandwich or a bite to eat upon arrival so that we could get straight to bed, but this unfortunately had not been possible (e-mail communications). Shattered arrivals like us might want to insist on somewhere that can provide some food rather than a b and b." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Excellent. Comfortable and warm welcome"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2017
"Very welcoming, comfortable and great breakfast" See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr F
London

"Friendly welcome, great view, good service"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"Only stayed a night but owner was super helpful and gave us loads of tips for our journey.

Even offered us a cool box he had spare. Room was very nice and the balcony had a great view over the town. Breakfast was top notch and great service.

Was a bit far from town center, but not a problem for us." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Alan
Glasgow

"Hilltop a hidden gem"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"We were only one night at Hilltop but the manager/owner and staff couldn't have been nicer and the rooms were excellent for a B&B.

It's a little bit out of the way and hidden but there are a couple of restaurants at the foot of the hill that served good foor and wine at a reasonable price.

Thanks goodness we had a satnav to find it though." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
namibia
UK

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"The owners were on holiday, and the lady who was standing in for them was very concerned about guests safety. She advised us not to go out at night as a couple and we joined a group of 5 other guests to walk to a local restaurant. She informed us there had been recent incidents against guests staying at Hilltop. There was 24 hour security.

On checking the Uk Government web site it does inform visitors to Windhoek to be careful.

This experience did raise concerns for us having just arrived in Namabia." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"Perfect stopover"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2017
"We stayed just for one night after landing at Windhoek airport.

The location is nice, with a view out of the suburb - and a nice first African sunset. It was too far from the city centre for us to venture out during the afternoon we had there; we were recommended to take a taxi for any trips outside.

Restaurants are available nearby for an evening meal (short taxi ride).

The room was spacious and very comfortable. There is a reasonable sized swimming pool (which we didn't sample) and nice deck area for relaxing" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Bucks

"Hilltop Guesthouse - perfect first night stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"Easy to find and well located on-top of a hill in a lovely part of Windhoek.

A perfect stop for a first night in Namibia as is reachable in less than an hour from the airport - and very little traffic encountered.

Good parking and secure. Felt very comfortable and safe. Easy to reach nearby restaurants e.g. Joe's Beerhouse.

Lovely, lovely rooms - very large and comfortable.

Great breakfast served on the terrace in the sunshine overlooking Windhoek.

Only regret is not staying two nights and using this as a base to see more of Windhoek..." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Middlesex

"Convenient Stay at Hilltop Guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2017
"We were impressed that we were booked into TripAdvisor 's top pick in Windhoek.

We had a great welcome when we arrived. Our rooms were spacious and lovely. Breakfast was probably the best one of the holiday.

It was convenient to eat at Joe's Beerhouse (which we really enjoyed) and downtown Windhoek." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Vivonholiday
UK

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2017
"Glad we ended up at villa violet on way out - we thought it was better, hiltop is noisier with traffic nearby, two of our party had to endure cold showers in the morning we left as hot water rN out and there were no hair dryers in room / poor for the capital when they had often been provided rurally ) and unnecessarily for rural

Locations! Food was good though and host. Pleasant" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 55
91%
55 reviews of Hilltop Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
16
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


89% (382 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

A cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek, Galton House boasts a pool and a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.


90% (165 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (132 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (126 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (122 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (103 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (42 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (40 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (24 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (18 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


94% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa