This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse

Reviews of Hilltop Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

55 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hilltop Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 55
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M
Chatteris

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2017
"Excellent

At the start of the trip we had stayed at the Hilltop Guest House in Windhoek. This took some finding and I was grateful I had bought a map map of Windhoek to help us do this.

Once we were there we were very well cared for and the owner gave us the good advice to dine at the Social. We had an excellent meal there.

Also we were grateful we did not have to drive far that first day since we had not slept much on the overnight flight from London.

We stocked up on lunch type food and water at the Eros Centre below the Guest House before leaving Windhoek next morning." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Jules & Geoff
NZ

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2017
"This was nice comfortable guest house.

The staff were very nice and the owner gave us some helpful information but was not around at check in and we felt that it would have been nice that the owner greeted us. I believe the owner lived offsite and this felt like it was the case. Breakfast served on the deck was very pleasant. Location was in a nice area of Windhoek but required a car.

All in all a fair place to spend our first night." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2017
"Excellent accommodation with a very comfortable mattress which was most welcome after the long flight from London. There was an onsite guard keeping an eye on the entrance to the property and the cars in the driveway. For me the best was the location which was a short walk downhill to Joes Beerhouse where we had a most memorable dinner. The coffee machine in the room was also a winner.

The owner came out in the morning to speak to us and we appreciated the personal touch. He advised us to buy a cooler box and told us that ice would be available at all service stations so we could keep our lunch drinks/provisions cool. This turned out to be a great suggestion and worked well for us.

As we had a double cab vehicle with a canopy, he also recommended that when driving we should keep the canopy windows slightly open to avoid the pressure building up in the back of the vehicle and excessive dust being sucked in. In truth the dust was so bad it was only the bin bags that saved our suitcases from certain death!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2017
"Welcoming hotel in nice location." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
J & PJ
Reading

"Convenient first night in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2017
"The room was good and the advice on restaurants from the owner was excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr J
Floral Park

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jan 2017
"Wonderful, great view on the second floor." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Floral Park

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2017
"Wonderful, made everyone feel at home." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms J from
UK

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"We found the owner extremely helpful.

The breakfast was also outstanding and we found this place to be a great start to our trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
D & D
Cork

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Unfortunately due to our flight being delayed and missing our connecting flight to Windhoek we did not actually get to stay at Hilltop Guesthouse." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr R & Mrs N
NI

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"Hilltop was an excellent start to the holiday although finding it can be a little tricky, and having done so, the parking is a little tight.

The staff are excellent, from help with parking to receiving guests and helping with any enquiries. The accommodation is first class and spacious.

We found that it was simple to arrange a taxi to the iconic Joe's Beerhouse for N$70 each way. It is the type of place that makes one regret that they hadn't booked another night." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 55
91%
55 reviews of Hilltop Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
16
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


89% (382 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

A cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek, Galton House boasts a pool and a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.


90% (165 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (132 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (126 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (122 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (103 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (42 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (40 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (24 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (18 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


94% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa