This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zambezi Queen
Zambezi Queen
Zambezi Queen
Zambezi Queen
Zambezi Queen
Zambezi Queen

Reviews of Zambezi Queen

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zambezi Queen and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Zambezi Queen.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G.
St Albans

"Constantly seeing wildlife is very special "

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"We stayed in a master suite on this comfortable boat but, even these, cabins are small compared to the rooms in lodges. There was one armchair and sufficient room for our cases. There were two chairs on our small balcony, but this was a great place to sit to view wildlife. There is a very comfortable guest lounge with bar and dining area. There is also outside seating on this deck.

We did a two night stay, which was an ideal length as all your wildlife viewing is from the water. We arrived at lunch time on the first day and cruised on the river in the afternoon. This gave us the opportunity to explore more of the river than we had from the Chobe Game Lodge. In places, we could see the animals making their way down to the river and got a greater sense of the size of herds. Be aware that if the wind is too strong, the Zambezi Queen will not sail, but will be docked and so you will only explore in the ship's three smaller boats.


On our only full day, we were offered the opportunity of an early morning bird watching cruise. After breakfast, we went on small boats to a Namibian village. We had 6 guests on our boat, so there was plenty of room. There was even a toilet on board . We were guided around the village and it was fascinating to see the way of life there. We were also made very aware of the problems that this year's drought has caused local people. After the tour, members of the village performed singing and dancing for us and displayed hand made gifts for purchase. There was no pressure to buy, but there was an expectation that you would make a small donation for the tour and entertainment, if you didn't buy any goods.

After the village tour, you can go back to the Zambezi Queen or continue with the morning safari. After lunch, we went on the small boats again for further wild life viewing. The next day, there were no safaris; you leave after breakfast.

Food on the Zambezi Queen is very good. Most meals are buffets, but we did have a waitress service evening meal on our first night. All the staff are very pleasant and the guides are very informative. On the second evening the staff performed songs and dances for guests.


Transfers to and from the Zambezi Queen are well-organised.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Brydon
UK

"a beautiful way to view Gam and birdlife"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"A unique way to view Game and birdlife from the Chobe River as opposed to in a vehicle. The location where the House Boat is berthed is a hassle to get to but it is all very well handled and organised. The choice of activities is wide ranging from early morning bird watching to river boat drives along the Chobe banks.... whether you see much wildlife is weather dependent.

The service and rooms on board were excellent - we were in one of two front facing suites with a large terrace. The quality of food served given the isolated location was simply amazing and the staff were absolutely charming.

I would concur that a 2 night stay is just about right. " See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E
Guildford

"Zambezi Queen review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2016
"High expectations, and not disappointed." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr R
Melbourne

"This Safari Comes to You."

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2015
"The best part of this is the armchair style of watching the animals. One of my best memories of Africa is of watching the sun come up while I lay in bed. Another is of the elephants crossing the river in the dark of the night. The bed and the rooms were comfortable but the bathroom really needed a touch up. The sink and the floor coverings were stained and the shower "shell" had holes in it from prior attempts at fitting the shower screen.

The trek up to the Namibian Police station on top of the hill I could have done without. We really should have had a guide accompany us up this road to reduce confusion regarding directions and uncertainty under the gaze of less than friendly locals.

The water safaris were a great way to see the local wildlife and birds.

The management and staff do a great job under difficult resourcing conditions." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Caldicot

"Luxury on the Zambezi Queen"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Mrs M
Peru

"A different look at Africa"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2012
"A nice ship, very nicely decorated. The food was good, but not spectacular and I did not get special attention to my dietary needs. Lunches were a buffet type, but without a great variety. The activities were OK. The best were the sundown cruise and the dinner served on land.

Passing through Namibia and Bostwana inmigration posts serveral times was very annoying." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Norfolk

"The Ultimate Bird Hide!!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2012
"After our stay at two bush camps this was a great way to relax after the rigours of safari. You can take part in as much or as little of the activities on offer as you choose. Staff are very friendly and attentive and look after you very well.
The suites are very spacious with sliding doors onto your own balcony, looking out over the Zambezi.

The top deck lounge and dining area is very comfortable with large sofas where you can relax with a beer and watch the wildlife come to you! The last night Boma dinner held under the stars on the Namibian shore was very enjoyable with traditional Botswana and Namibian food, The crew also give you a taste of local cultural singing and dancing around the fire.

Just one thing to note is that due to the Zambezi Queen being registered in Namibia not Botswana you have to exit Botswana via an immigration check point and take a small boat across the Zambezi to Namibia. You then have to walk a distance to the Namibian immigration point over fairly rough ground - so where sensible footwear!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Marvellous"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2011
"Fantastic setting and the quality of the accommodation was comparable to the best we have experienced in Europe. Great modern decor and all the facilities you need in the room/cabin. The food was really fantastic.

We enjoyed all the trips on smaller boats and marvelled at the number of elephants, hippos and crocodiles we saw. A perfect experience.

We had expected the boat to be moving along the river but apparently there was a problem with one of the engines and it stayed moored in the same place. However, in the end it did not matter much because we still had a great time." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Leics

"Zambezi Queen - absolutely 5 star"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2011
"The Zambezi Queen is fantastic:

- superb location moored in the middle of the Chobe river - I lay on my bed watching elephants on the bank of the river, and at night I went to sleep listening to the hippos on the bank nearby

- service is first rate, from the welcome song as I boarded, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It truly fely as if I couldn't have been looked after any better

- food is excellent, breakfast and dinner on board were very good, and included afternoon tea, but the highlight was the dinner on land on the last night. A sort boat ride to the bank where our tables had been arranged under the stars, lit by lanterns, and served a local boma, with food, dancing and music - quite magical.

- activities - game drive, boat rides along the bank (saw that big croc I was looking for!), and more fishing

- star gazing from the top deck was excellent because it is moored away from any lights.

Overall highly recommended, I loved this" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
96%
9 reviews of Zambezi Queen by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa