This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Bristol

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2010
"I visited Kwara last year and just had to come back. It did not let me down.

The best of Kwando safaris guides are here, even though David has left. Jacob and G.T were my team this year, and did everything they could to find what I wanted. 4 out of the 5 of the cheetah cubs from last year have survived, what a mother! Following a nervous female leopard for ages without interfering with her (building trust for later observers). African wild hunting dogs found after a kill and 3 Cheetah brothers, observed, diamond formation and setting off at top speed towards their target- what a privilege!

The 7 male lions have now separated and have created their own territories but I've been informed occasionally, 5 still get back together. Many elephant and giraffe. Walking safari here too. Gcodikwe lagoon, hippos and sundowner, another G and T. Very good accommodation, in great location and the food and service here is excellent.

Thank you to all concerned." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms H
Kensington

"Fantastic Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2009
"Kwara is not as luxurious as Lebala because it is slightly older, so the tents are in fact tents and nothing like as spacious as the "bungalows" at Lebala there is some electric lighting.

However, it is beautifully situated on a lake with about 80 hippos in amongst tall trees through which the vervet monkeys swing. Also there were considerably fewer mosquitoes than at Lebala.

Once again the service and friendliness of the staff was faultless and the food excellent, although perhaps not quite as sophisticated as at Lebala.

I very much enjoyed the mix of water activities which was a welcome change from constant game drives at Lebala." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms N
London

"good eatablished delta camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2009
"Kwara is a long time favourite of ours and the atmosphere of the camp remains good.The camp itelf , especially the tents are probably due a refurbishment but they are still comfortable.( just extending the outside decks would give more useable outside space and make the accomodation seem roomier )

The game patterns had been affected here as elsewhere in the region following the exceptional flood this season.The guiding was as passionate and enthusastic as ever and long days out in the bush with combinations of boat and vehicle are catered for with real enthusuiasm. The long trips out to tsum tsum were both great fun, incredibly scenic and rewarding - good lion and cheetah tracking.

Skillful tracking by the guide and tracker ( izzy and KB ) enabled us to intercept 5 of the coilition of 7 males at night patrolling and roaring - terrific stuff - and the guiding teams were quite prepared to stay out and return for a late dinner.

The management team here seemed more settled and the very effective.Thuso runs a well motivated team.The food and service were good.




" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
NHants

"Wonderful staff at Kwara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2009
"The first of 4 camps visited in our 10 night trip to Botswana. Kwara camp had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere with very hospitable staff who always had a friendly and welcoming smile. Attentive at all times. The camp has a pleasant location looking across to the lagoon.

Game drives were always interesting with lots of lions, as well as healthy showings of general game and birdlife. The visit to the heronry late afternoon was a highlight, as well as the exciting boat ride back ( tip - wear sunglasses and a necktie that you can put across your mouth as the flies in the fast return wind can be a nuisance). Whilst Kwara had mokoros for guests the mokoro trip at Kanana camp was a lot more interesting and rewarding.

From a constructive point of view

a) the Toyota safari vehicles seemed to be under-powered compared to other camps.

b) more proactive vehicle and boat maintenance is required. The equipment gets a lot of heavy usage on sandy and water clogged tracks. One of the vehicles broke down on a morning drive; 2 of the 3 boats were out of action. The first boat trip to the heronry was cancelled because of engine problems, ok for us as we went the next night but disappointing for one couple who left the camp the next morning.

c) the camp was looking a bit 'tired' compared to other camps. Again proactive rather than reactive maintenance would help.

d) the family of baboons were a bit too intrusive at times. A swimming pool should be a swimming pool - not a drinking pool for baboons. Close the pool or keep the animals out. ( I appreciate its the bush but seeing young children swim in a pool where animals have drank isnt my idea of great hygiene)

All in all a very pleasant 3 days. No hesitation in going back again to Kwara." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Wiltshire

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"We loved the location of this camp and the camp manager was inspirational. On the drives we saw lots of game including a family of 6 cheetahs & a pack of Wild Dogs.

However our guide Bali did try very hard but we were slightly disappointed as we had heard/read a lot about the quality of the Kwando guides. He did not seem to be able to position the car very effectively for photos and mis-identified a few birds but to be fair he did try but just was not to the standard we had hoped. Bali did take us at a very long night drive & we saw a lovely Serval which was very nice & we appreciated this.

The Tracker BJ was terrible. He spent most of his time chatting & lost his concentration for frequent & extended periods. We thought it was just us being very demanding but found out later the other couple felt the same & joked they were going to give their tip to my husband as he had spotted 99% of our sightings.

We were meant to stay here for 4 nights but we were getting increasing frustrated so asked if we could go to Lagoon earlier which was not a problem." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Guernsey

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2009
"A lovely liitle camp. This was our first visit to a safari camp and of the three that we visited (Kwara, Lagoon and Lebala), this was our favourite. Although the accomodation was more basic than the other two camps, it was comfortable, clean and completely adequate. The staff were extremely friendly and in fact sitting down and chatting with them we felt we were staying at a friends house rather than being at holiday accomodation.

The range of activities was excellent, game drives, boat trips, walking, we did them all and this added to the experience.

Wildlife score: * * * * *" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2009
"After having seen so many animals and birds at our first camp it was always going to be hard for our next camp to compete.
Here we were given a driver and a tracker. However we did share the vehicle for most of the time which means that you have to go along with the interests of the other occupants.

We did see an unusual family of 6 cheetah containing 2 adults. We also saw a magnificent male lion rumoured to be one of 7 brothers! Our driver and tracker were good at following signs so we also saw 3 male cheetah and 2 groups of female lions. Amongst other creatures we also saw a Secretary bird, Ground hornbill and Ostrich.

We were unlucky to suffer 4 punctures and also becoming stuck which understandably meant quite a bit of hanging around.
There was a lot of water here and much of the driving was through water. The scenery was a contrast to the first camp but still lovely." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms C
NL

"Fantastic stay at Kwara camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"The friendly team at Kwara made us feel really welcome. Bali our guide, Justice our tracker, Janet and all the staff run a very well organised yet relaxed operation.

We were in the middle of the bush yet we were extremely comfortable! Their attention to detail gave our stay a touch of luxury. To see lions on our very first game drive was a real treat, as was the elephant right outside our tent! The endearing sound of hippos "chuckling" in the adjacent lagoon will stay with us forever.

All the activities and the food were excellent." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P
Arizona

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2009
"We saw the most wildlife at this camp, and Kwara is just great all the way around. As at the other Kwando camps, the guides and trackers are outstanding--we had Jacob and Justice.

The camp's location on the lagoon was scenic and entertaining with all the wildlife which could be seen from it--hippos, warthogs, monkeys and some good birds." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Barnstead

"Friendly Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2009
"We loved the luxury of the"tent" which looked out over the lake. It was wonderfully relaxing with sights of elephants, baboons and hippo in the water at the far side of the lake and the amazingly loud sounds of the bell frogs in the evenings.

Going off road to follow a leopard staking out her prey (abandoned when the impala sensed her presence) was quite an experience, as was seeing a large pack of wild dogs. We caught glimpses of a lion but again they were elusive and we never saw any predators on a chase or feeding.

The camp staff were welcoming and friendly as were the guides although they sometimes needed prompting to share all their knowledge.

When 3 other jeeps arrived within 15 - 20 minutes of the call out to other guides following the wild dogs sighting we realised the concession was not quite as big as we thought.

The boat trip was disappointing, the hippos disappeared as soon as we arrived and we saw no other wildlife except one tiny crocodile. However the ride back in the dark, twisting and turning through the narrow waterways at speed was quite something!
The mokoro ride was uneventful but short and peaceful. The safari walk was a slow informative stroll around the camp." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 141-150 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa