This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 151-160 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
NorthHumb

"Idyllic setting at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2009
"We loved sitting on our terrace overlooking the water hole at siesta time watching Hippos crocodiles baboons Impala come to us
The staff again were so friendly and interesting Janet was a delight.

Jacob was an excellent guide and worked hard to find the animals
We did feel that some drives were cut short to enable other guests to catch a transfer
The mokoro ride was disappointing because it was so short

We thought the early morning porridge was brilliant
We preferred this arrangement with the cooked breakfast after the safari, to having lunch as we did at Stanleys" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Carmine Bee-eaters
UK

"We love Kwara camp!"

4 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2009
"This camp is brilliant.

Kwara camp's rooms and communal area look out onto water that is both beautiful in itself, and is frequented by hippos, elephants, crocodiles, impala, baboons, storks, pelicans and who knows what else.

The camp is gorgeous. The tents are built around the trees so it really feels like part of the scenery. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and well maintained. Something about the camp made us feel instantly at home - maybe it was the friendly and very hospitable and accomdating staff, maybe the manager (who is a lovely man we had met previously at Lebala), or maybe just the general atmosphere of the place. We couldn't recommend it highly enough.

The terrain is very varied and interesting - open plains where the cheetahs and lions roam; mopani woodland where we were fortunate to see the rare sable antelope; and areas of acacias and scrub land.

The game viewing was brilliant. We were lucky enough to come across wild dogs resting and then off for the hunt, as well as general game, lions, cheetahs, elephants and some unusual sightings such as a leopard tortoise, an aardwolf, an african wildcat, and a small spotted genet. There is lots of interesting bird life as well, including the endangered Ground Hornbill. The elephants are a bit shy here, so you don't see large herds that are happy to hang around once a vehicle has arrived as you might in Chobe or Lagoon / Lebala, but we did see several bull elephants bathing and wandering about.

The drivers and spotters here are really passionate and committed both to finding and tracking the game and to imparting their impressive knowledge and fascination with the animals. We learned an enormous amount from our driver and guide, General and BJ, and we certainly had the impression that all the drivers and spotters took a simlar approach. They work as a very effective team, planning their routes to maximise the possibility of all the guests getting a chance to see something interesting. We had some great experiences tracking animals off road into the thickets and looking for nocturnal animals in the dark. The emphasis here is very much on the game, and everything else fits in around that.

The food was fabulous - as a vegetarian I was catered for very well, and the staff were very flexible in working around the timings of our extended evening drives.

The camp manager, drivers, spotters and staff work enthusiastically and tirelessly from dawn until the guests go to bed to ensure everyone has a lovely time. Whilst we were there, a honeymooning couple had a few surprise treats unexpectedly organised by the camp manager and staff and they clearly had a great time. They are very good here at working out how to satisfy a range of guests including repeat visitors and safari first-timers, without making it look at all difficult.

We had a very special and wonderful time at this camp and we hope to return soon!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Unbelievable KWARA"

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2009
"We were SO lucky at Kwara we enjoyed game viewing far beyond our wildest expectations . We had an excellent guide in Bally whose keen eyes spotted so much . BJ our tracker kept us laughing and joking . What a team they were. Who would expect to see Cheetahs and cubs, Lions, Leopard, Hyena, Wild Dogs, along with Zeebra, Giraffe, Elephant, Kudu, Tessebe, Impala, Reedbuck, Waterbuck, Hippo, Baboons, Warthogs, Crocodiles, Snakes and all manner of birds ALL IN THE SAME DAY----------- Amazing!!

This was a very happy, established and well run camp, we just loved it and Tuso and Janet made us feel so welcome.
We shall return!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Lincolnshire

"Kwara camp comments"

4 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2009
"Great game area with knowledgeable guide/tracker helping to give you great mind-blowing episodes which will long live in the memory eg a cheetah mum with 5 6-week old cubs, a coalition of 7 adult male lions setting out on a hunting trip through the grass, and on the last morning three adult male cheetahs dining on an adult impala stag.

Slight reservations include the tent accommodation which was fine but lacked things like a chair inside, and the fact that sometimes all the seats on the jeep were filled giving little room for camera equipment etc.

However a good lodge with excellent staff so a few quibbles should not detract from an overall very good stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2009
"The air transfer was 40 mins from lagoon and no problem. Another great Kwando camp. The main lodge area looks over the lagoon and the resident lechwe and impala . Get a high numbered tent as they overlook the lagoon.

As it was a busier camp and its sister camp Little Kwara is just down the road , four vehicles went out morning and afternoon and they were in communication which made sightings a little bit easier. Even so . Lions , Hyena, Leopard, and a Cheehah mum and 5 cubs in one day !! Guide David and trainee tracker KP were great company and David must be up there as one of the very best.

Food , accommodation were fine . A brilliant 2 days" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Bristol

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2009
"Two nights here were not enough! The game is prolific and I intend to go back in the future. Relief management were in place here and this does have an affect on the dynamic at any camp. However my stay here was very enjoyable, my guide(David), is the finest guide/tracker that I've experienced in my 20 years of extensive travelling throughout Africa. No greater compliment can be paid.

Leopard tracking, the finest art! The cheetah with five cubs, the fondest of memories and super photos. Seven male lions that dominant this area, three cheetah brothers and once again an abundance of birdlife.

My favourite 'tent' of the three camps - the sliding doors make it so much easier. Great food and enjoyable company here.

Thank you to all concerned." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Ingleton

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2008
"Kwara was the best stay of the holiday. The tent wasn't as good as Lebala but everything else was better. We had had good guides at Lagoon (Alison) and Lebala (OC) but Izzy was much better also his tracker (Mike) was very good.

We saw a herd of buffalo and then six male lions eating one, later we saw some femal lions with a cub. That afternoon we saw a different group of female lions again witha cub. The following morning we saw three male cheetahs and in the afternoon we saw them again but this time there was a male and female lion nearby! The female started stalking the cheetahs who stood theie ground until she got to about 70 mts whene they made a military retirement to about 100 mts. The lioness then creapt closer to wthing 40 mts when she charged at the cheetahs who ran around her between her and another cheetah thus confusing her. They escaped!.

We a great river cruise to the Heronary and also a great makoro trip, as we were they only gueats with Izzy & Mike we had a makoro each. On our final morning at Kwara we saw a spotted hyena.

This was definitely the best stay, obviously down to the good sightings but also down to Izzy who, I say again, was very good." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Pangolins
Atlanta

"Lovely Kwara!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2008
"Ah, Kwara, such a lovely place and highly recommended for a safari experience. After spending time at both Lagoon and Lebala our 3 nights at Kwara was a nice way to conclude our safari experience. Kwara is on the edge of the Okavanga Delta and yet still has a large reserve available for game drives with a variety of environments to include open savannah, woodlands and marsh areas.

Our guide David and tracker (whose name escapes me at the moment, my apologies!) were excellent. David clearly knows his business and we found him to be an excellent guide. Kwara provides a range of opportunites to include game drives, mokoro rides, river cruising in the delta and even the possibility for walking safaris. Perhaps it is because it was the end of the dry season but we found the mokoro ride a bit underwhelming (the weather was also a bit dicey as well that morning) but I suppose it is one of those things you should do at least once.

The river cruise to the Gcodikwe Lagoon is well worth the trip but although Kwara is on the Delta the focus here is still on game drives. Perhaps to have a more "in depth" Delta experience another camp deeper in the Delta might be better but since we did not do that it is hard for us to say. But the quality of game drives here was excellent with lion, cheetah, elephant, buffalo, giraffe and various antelope (to include lechwe, waterbuck and sable) all in abundance. Only the elusive leopard evaded us despite our best efforts. One of the many highlights was David's superb work in tracking a lioness with a young cub in tow on the prowl. We were right there for the chase and while the lioness missed her prey we didn't miss any of the heart stopping action!

Kwara Camp is perhaps the oldest of the three we visited and as such has a comfortable lived in feel about the place. The views are lovely and in November the lagoon is smaller leaving more grassy areas where lechwe, hippos, baboons and even elephant wandered by close to camp. The rooms here are tents and they appear to be slightly smaller that the tents at Lagoon Camp.

We stayed in tent 8, the "honeymoon" tent, which appeared to be slightly different and perhaps older than the other tents in camp. It is a little more isolated from the other tents which is nice as the other tents are farily close together and it has a nice view (although I wouldn't have minded a bit of the brush being cleared back to open up the view even more). It is the only tent I saw not on a raised deck and contains a bathtub at the sacrifice of a double vanity and smaller shower area. Personally we did not have much need for a tub and would have preferred the larger vanity and shower area of the other tents.

The main area has a nice view of the lagoon with a nearby elevated observation deck and a plunge pool for hot afternoons. The staff was very attentive and helpful particularly during a brief illness one of us experienced right at the end of our stay. Located near Kwara is the newer Little Kwara camp although you can't see it despite its close proximity. I think we might have enjoyed a visit to see the other camp during one of the mid day breaks. I do not know if this was possible or even allowed but I confess we have only ourselves to blame as we did not think to inquire about doing so until after we had departed." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Carshalton

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2008
"The management of this lodge is very poor. On arrival the manager seemed disinterested and stiff. The relief manager (PJ) who arrived the next day was an improvement. We lost part of our evening game drives on two evenings, the second being 2/3rds of the drive's time, because of late arrivals. This is acceptable on the first day but the result of unacceptably bad organisation of guest groupings when it recurs a second time.

Jacob was an excellent guide whose efforts were badly let down by this bad organisation.

During the 3 days we saw impala, tsetsebe, reedbuck, red lechwe, sable antelope, warthog, jackal, hyena, a lion, hippo, a large 70 strong herd of elephant, buffalo and numerous birds. The highlight was tracking a cheetah searching for and calling for his brothers to his reunion with one.

On our third evening our trip to the heronry was marred by a violent and overhead thunderstorm with heavy hail causing hippos and elephant to be very nervous. We question whether we should have been on the water in those conditions, though Jacob handled the situation very well, reading and responding to the intentions of the animals accurately" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr L
Lancashire

"Kwara"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"Josie was my number one camp manager, all the staff and guides out performed to the very high standard expected." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 151-160 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa