This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 161-170 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Kwara - Wide ranging Activities"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Before coming to Kwara Camp per se, we have a couple of general observations about Kwando Safaris which apply equally to the third and last lodge at which we stayed, Lebala (also controlled by Kwando). Both revolve around transport (on which basis alone we have marked down otherwise good to excellent 'facilities' in both Kwara and Lebala).

First, Kwando's vehicles - both jeeps and boats - were, during our eight days staying at their lodges, subject to what we regard (based on several years of experience on safari) as an unusually large number of mechanical breakdowns. At Kwara, our jeep broke down terminally on two out of our six game drives (despite being a replacement for one which had broken down just before we arrived); other guests suffered similarly during our stay there. And the boat engine (which we understood to have been out of action just before we arrived there) broke down the day after we had taken the trip to the heronry. Sadly, such a record of mechanical failings can detract somewhat from the overall experience; and yet our impression was that the camp staff who were having to deal with this on a day-to-day basis may not have been getting as much support from HQ to come up with lasting solutions as one might reasonably have expected.

Second, we were surprised in this day and age of greater awareness of the risks of skin cancer that, as a matter of company policy, Kwando's land vehicles do not have shade from the sun . Our concern over this was compounded at Lebala by the camp's airstrip having been out of commission since the start of the year necessitating a 90-minute-plus journey between the camp and a neighbouring camp's airstrip, often in the middle of the day. While we understand that there are arguments in favour of open vehicles (eg for bird watching), we at least have certainly found significant advantages in canvas tops in terms of guest comfort and no compelling disadvantages (underlined by our experience at Mapula where the vehicles are covered).

That being said, we would underline that our overall experience at Kwara camp was excellent (as indicated above). The camp has new top managers in Diner and Dit and they seem to us to have gotten off to a terrific start, creating a very positive and friendly ambiance in a relaxed atmosphere. The semi-spontaneous singing and dancing which the staff organised on the Sunday evening is indicative of a happy camp in which staff and guests are at ease individually and with one another. Based on our experience, we commend highly the way in which Kwara is being run.

We also had the benefit of a first class guide (David) and tracker (Justice) team who are extremely knowledgeable of the range of micro-environments - deep water, shallow water, bush - which Kwara offers. Highlights here included elephants, sable antelope, lions, cheetahs, serval and genet cats, and side-striped jackal. We very much enjoyed the boat trip to the heronry which was the centre-piece of a strong four days for birders.

We again had a most enjoyable makoro experience followed by a very interesting bush walk. As with the other two camps in which we stayed we very much liked the approach of rolling the afternoon game drive into a pre-dinner night drive.

Overall, therefore, despite our reservations about transport we really enjoyed our stay at Kwara and have no hesitation recommending the camp to others." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Bitterns
Twickenham

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2008
"Very friendly staff made our stay at Kwara so enjoyable. We liked having a guide allocated to us for the duration of our stay and eating at a big table with the other guests and some of the staff. Log fire and hot water bottles helped to stave off the night-time cold." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr Wildebeest
UK

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2008
"A mixture of good, some excellent, and poor makes our scoring below mostly average for a camp of this type.

There were problems with some aspects of the accommodation and service: the loo was broken and the first attempt to fix it was not successful, not aided by a communication mix up between the managers; the water in our room should have been replenished daily but was not.

Got off to a bad start because the boat to collect us from Xakanaka was 2 hours late: Grant contacted the Kwara Maun office and, after they had radioed the camp, was told that the boat had left when it hadn't. Another plus for Grant for staying until the boat did come.

The managers who are leaving at the end of June had perhaps lost their drive: we had a sense of the managing of the camp needing tightening up and that the incoming manager, who we met, would make a difference. We make these remarks with a full appreciation that we were in Africa and acknowledge the difficulties that can arise. But, apart from the guiding, which is, of course, most important, Kwara did not stand up to comparison with other camps/lodges we've been to in Botswana and Tanzania.

For us, having been on a mokoro with Grant, the very limited mokoro trip was too inactive and stretched out. The motor boat trip was worth while. The saving grace was that the guiding was excellent: it certainly helps having a tracker/spotter as well as the driver, especially at night. A highlight was the night sighting of serval." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2008
"We were pleasantly surprised by Kwara. The setting was excellant - a wooded area by a hippo lagoon.The rooms and facilities at Kwara were much better than we expected. Whilst not exactly "luxurious" the tent was extremely comfortable and pleasant and very private being high up on stilts with views over the plains.

We had good game sightings from our terrace and also had five elephants outside the tent one evening eating the trees. This was a little scary but very exciting and we watched them for some time before they moved on to the next copse and tent. There were also hyenas who regularly raided the kitchen and on our last evening, a lioness waiting outside camp as if expecting tit bits!!

Guiding was slightly disappointing. I think we were unlucky in that we were assigned a new guide who seemed to have a fixation on lion kills! There was interaction with the other guides though and we did see lots of game although this involved some very tiring long drives over really awful tracks. The vehicles used were South African Uris which were not suitable for the sandy terrain and these made the drives arduous rather than enjoyable. We enjoyed the mokoro trip...quite an experience...and the double decker boat trip at sundown.

In general, the staff were lovely and there was a very relaxed atmosphere but little attention to detail and service. However, the food was good and several guests had been time and time again.

We did get to see Little Kwara (which had been our preferred choice) and yes, it was more luxurious but game drives were the same as Kwara so I don't think we missed out that much as our main aim was to see game!!

Overall, Kwara was OK." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Honey Badgers
NY

"My favorite camp thus far"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2008
"We spent three nights at this camp which was the perfect length as we got to unpack a bit and rest up in between the travelling. Our guide Donald was very knowledgeable and thorough in teaching and answering questions. Our tracker was JD who was very very good. They were the best I had in the three camps that I visited.

We were lucky to see wild dogs, leopard, pride of lions and the female lions too. The game drives were chilly in the mornings and evenings but very productive and exciting. Dinner and desserts were so good especially after a tiring evening of tracking animals.

Our tent (I believe it's #3) did get a bit too hot during the afternoon to be able to fall asleep. There were also a lot of bees that joined us during afternoon tea which were a bit scary as i learned that they can get aggressive. At night, it gets really cold. Even the extra blankets did not keep us warm enough. More insulation for the tent will be super helpful as it makes getting up at 6am a bit easier.

The water was also a bit yellowish-brown and some times way too hot. The water pressure in the shower was a bit low and the hot water knob gets so hot that you can easily get burned. Also, the insect killer spray "Doom" used at all the camps doesn't work. The bugs only get wet but don't die. I suggest they buy a different brand like Raid that does work." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Lions at Kwara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2008
"Game drives by our guide Donald and tracker TJ were excellent, a huge variety of animals were seen including a night hunt with lions. Other actiivies included fishing and Mokoro however due to long grass a walking was unavailable. The food, the friendlyness of staff were excellent.

There were too many sorries due to housekeeping errors, unfilled water, promise of water bottles but not put in, room being prepared for new visitors when we were not leaving therefore the room not being available whilst it was being put back to original state, laundry then being returned wet due to error of room being vacated, being told that room would be put back to original state and that laundry would be dried but when told room okay to go back to, bed had not been returned to original state and laundry still there wet.

This did not retract from our stay we still loved the camp, it just reduced our opinion from excellent to good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Wild hunting dogs
UK

"Good for hippos"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2008
"The camp was very well integrated into its surroundings, and accomodation, food and service were excellent. The managers and all the staff made us very welcome. Siesta times were spent on our verandah watching the grazing hippos. To be recommended!

During the first evening drive we witnessed two cheetah kills and one lion kill. Dinner for us was a little late that evening! We were impressed by the skill of the guides in following the hunting animals, but in a non-intrusive way. The animals were not bothered by our presence - confirmed by a vet in our party - and all the guides were careful not to interfere with the hunts - switching lights off at critical times so that we did not influence the outcome - by blinding the prey, for example. Our guide, David, was also aware that not all guests would want to witness the kill or the aftermath, and we were given the choice.

The other drives were also very enjoyable.. We had very good viewings of many animals, including lions and cheetahs again. The boat trip was delightful, and it was great to enjoy our sundowner in the middle of a large African lake, watched by a few hippos. The mokoro trip was great, so peaceful, and having heard the calls of the painted reed frog, it was great to see them, and marvel at how such a small creature could make so much noise." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Louries
London

"Very good range of gaming activities"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2008
"Both waterborne and land animal and bird expeditions were well conducted by skilled staff who responed readily to customer requests.

Food was good if somewhat unimaginative (and the meat was usually over-cooked)" See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Highgate

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2007
"This camp was also in a lovely situation near a pool and also with views across the fields. The tents had sliding doors rather than zips which might possibly be a plus to anyone anxious to keep out centipedes, but the lavatory was part of the bathroom rather than being separate which we had liked at the other camp.

Another very friendly camp where everyone: guests, guides, managers ate together. And the food was of an excellent standard. Any small request was dealt with promptly and most willingly, e.g. another towel, hot water needing adjustment, etc.

Again, the guides were superb,driving us some distance to see a family of cheetahs hunting, wild dogs, lions, as well as taking us on a bush walk to hear about plants and their uses. Nothing was too much trouble and their conversations about some of the Botswanan customs added a further dimension to our experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr H
Habsburg

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2007
"We can recommend to visit Kwara during the rainy season, despite the fact that animal densities are fairly low at this time of the year. We saw a pack of wild dogs, 2 prides of lions, a coaliton of cheetah, and Hyena. We do not recommend to have night drives, as we had virtually no sightings at all. But this may be different during the dry season." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 161-170 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa