This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 171-180 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Zurich

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2007
"Good location with different landscape.

Guides are interested to make your stay a great experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Python
Kent

"Wonderful Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2007
"This camp is beautifully situated by the lake. Once again we could see wildlife all around us - elephants and hippos, you couldn't ask for more.

We went on our first wild dog chase at this camp which was so exciting, fortunately we did not see the kill! Just amazing watching these animals pick up a scent and follow their prey to the bitter end. Super game drives: saw large herds of elephants, was mock charged by one; hippos and saw the cats: leopard, lions and cheetahs.

Chard and Doreen who were about to take managership of the camp were wonderful hosts. They are going to make this a super camp. Fortunate enough to see a baby tsesebe being born! Good food once again" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Oxon

"Amazing Kwando safaris - Kwara camp."

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2007
"The camp, it's staff, the food, our guide and tracker were all very good and friendly.

We think Kwara as a camp stood out over the others due to the view from our room, the camp and lookout town. Lazy afternoons were spent watching hippos in the lagoon and elephants, baboons and impala wander past." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Greece

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2007
"Highly recommended, better location than Little Kwara, you only have to sit in the lodge to see the hippos etc outside. The place is looking a little tired. They have now however fitted sliding doors to the tents instead of having to undo 6 zips. There are many things which need renovating.

It has been under various temporary managers for a year. In March it was an excellent training manager. Whilst we were there a new management couple arrived. They are very experienced and had been given the job if they wanted it. They were absolutely over the moon about the place (especially their accommodation). They took over the day we left. We spent quite a lot of time with them and talked about various improvements. I never got to grasps with their names but the lady after day one had five pages of improvements they were going to make.

Everything we mentioned she had already noted. We can't give everything excellent but the staff, the food, the service and location can't be faulted. Our guides were very good but didn't seem to be doing very much tracking. All the other guests very very happy." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C & Family
Herts

"Kwara Camp"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2007
"We had a very nice time at Kwara but a member of the camp's staff did tell us that there were problems with Kwando since the partnership break up and that there was cost cutting and they did not feel that guests who had been before and came now would be as pleased. We were sad to here this as we had asked Chris about our concerns before.

We had a perfectly nice time at both camps but felt Anita and Lloyd were just waiting to go in five days time as they were there on relief work.

The guides were very enthusiastic and we had wonderful game drives. Irritating that we had to ask them to change time of transfer flight as otherwise we woudl have missed our game drive that morning and not seen the cheater hunting and kill! This is something that the camp manager should sort out automatically" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
B & J
California

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"First, I would like to start by saying Chris did a most excellent job in helping us plan our trip. We went from the "rustic" to "luxurious" which was the best way to go, I think. But! I want to make one thing absolutley clear-- although Kwara was our least luxurious camp, it by far possessed our most favorite guide, tracker and staff. Anita and her fiance (I am embarrassed to say I cannot remember his name-- Paul? I apologize; I am terrible with names) were incredibly warm and accomodating and Ezekiel and Sevara's enthusiasm and friendliness were greatly appreciated. I think they may have been the most "green" of all our guides, but they definitely made up with genuine enthusiasm and a great attitude; a very "I am so glad to be here and we are so glad you are here with us" attitude. As our trip progressed, I would later appreciate Ezekiel and Sevara's enthusiasm and general kindness even more.

We were at Kwara when Independence Day came about and we were touched by how the staff included us in their celebration of their holiday. It was quite festive.

To be honest, I think our stay would have been perfect if it were not for two things--

1) a fan in the sleeping area of the tent (all of the other camps we stayed had fans to circulate the air-- VERY helpful to endure the heat during siesta).

2) a leopard sighting! ;-)

Overall, a truly memorable experience!" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H
Wales

"Life changing entry to the safari world"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2007
"Now I know why Kwando camps are special-trackers as well as locally based guides, I can see makes a huge difference. The places the driver got those vehicles wa startling.

Being able to go off the tracks meant we had one morning where we saw a lion, 4 cheetahs and two leopards in one morning. We couldn't believe our luck. Anita and Lloyd running the camp were doing a brilliant job of making us welcome. I was a bit nervous to begin with, as the nighttime noises sounded a bit threatening, and the care the guides take meant I remained aware of the dangers, but I grew more and more confident and enjoyed it so much.

We were treated to a dance and song at one point by a whole group of staff- that was an extra special treat we enjoyed.. The food was amazing, and Anita even managed to organise gluten free wraps for my brother in law.

Ezekiel (our guide) and Jamoo(the tracker) did a fantastic job. They are so amazingly knowledgeable, and very willing to tell us as much as we were interested in hearing. They didn't seem to mind being pelted with questions about animals, their lives and how Botswana works.

I can also understand why Kwando have the guides eating meals with the guests, as it gave us a chance to build up a relationship and time to ask even more questions. My only problem about that is that it seems the guides don't have much time "off"." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Wilts

"Trip of a lifetime"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2007
"Had the most wonderful time, everyone so helpful. Good accomodation and food.

Superb guides-Justice and Savarra- nothing was too much trouble, enormous effort went into ensuring we saw a large variety of wildlife, friendly and so proffesional." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Louth

"Different to Sandibe but just as special"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2007
"Arriving at Kwara Camp was a test for the staff there because we were arriving from Sandibi and now had a comparison. The camps are very different but in many ways quite similar.

Kwara camp was slightly more basic although offering the same sort of facilities The welcome was just as warming and nothing seemed too much trouble. Everything seems to run like clockwork from the getting up at the start of the day to the time out in the bush/delta to the meals. Although whatever you suggested to the staff/guides was carried out with the minimum of fuss. We found that the combination of bush and delta gave Kwara the edge over Sandibe." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Canada

"Great safari on truck, boat, mekoro"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2007
"The five days spent in Kwara and Lebala were the highlight of our trip. The abundance of the wildlife, the trips on truck, boat, mekoro and the walking safaris were excellent. Our guide and trackers, Donald and Name in Kwara, Hector and Muate in Lebala - deserve to be mentioned especially.

The food and all services were outstanding.

We saw many lions (3 lionesses and eight cubs in Lebala), plenty of buffalos, wildebeast, different antilopes, countless elephants, a leopard and our favorite - the warthog. The most spectacular event was also a little sad for us - the lionesses killing a warthog in Lebala." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 171-180 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa