This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs W
Leics

"Leopards and lion cubs"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"Guide and tracker were great - Jacob and Kent. Finally got to see a leopard (not easy in the long grass). Later on however we saw him up a tree in characteristic pose just staring down at us. We also saw lion cubs with their mother just playing in the afternoon sun, could have watched all day.

Took a mokoro boat across to an island where we walked for about an hour. Got up close and personal to a male elephant. Also had chance to smell elephant dung - not as bad as you might think." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Avon

"Cheetah - first target acheived"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2010
"Our first camp on this trip to Botswana (see also Duba Plains, Little Vumbura, Mapula, Lagoon, & Duma Tau). We asked for a high number tent & were pleased to find we were in no. 7 with good views across the lagoon& opposite shore. From our tent we saw warthog, baboon, hippo, giraffe & impala & fish eagle & hoopoe - the pick of the birds.

On our game dries we saw impala, tsessebe, zebra, giraffe, elephant, steenbock, warthog, & baboon as well as many bird species.
In previous visits to Zambia & South Africa we had never seen cheetah, so they were high on the wish list. Within 4 hours of our arrival, on our first game drive Balli & Justice found us the coalition of 3 males resting on a mound.

The following morning, after much tracking, we caught up with a mature lion, one of seven brothers, completely relaxed at the roadside. In the afternoon we caught up with the cheetahs again, relaxing on a grassy mound in the evening sunshine - magic. Another vehicle nearby had been watching two lionesses, so we swapped over for the last half hour.

The camp had a very relaxed feel & all the staff were cheery & friendly. Our tent was comfortable & adequate & the food excellent. The need to be escorted to our tent after dark was brought home to us as there were two elephants feeding noisily between tents 5 & 6 after dinner one evening & another sleeping noisily beside our shower decking in the early hours. The noises seemed to be coming from both ends, plus lots of rumblings from the tummy.

We did have one serious concern at this camp. Returning after dark one evening we caught up with three other vehicles from Kwara & Little Kwara, spotlighting a leopard walking along the track. They weer leapfrogging each other crashing through the bushes on either side in order to get ahead or abreast of the animal for photos. Our diver joined in the general melee, but after a short while my wife asked Balli if we could leave as she thought the leopard was being harassed. The other couple in the vehicle agreed, but Balli ignored the request & continued the pursuit.

On one occasion the animal tried to leave the track, but was cut off & 'herded' back into view. This sort of behaviour by guides & drivers is totally unacceptable & unethical. A leopard moving at night is hunting & should never be subjected to such harassment. In the 15 days spent at six camps this was the only occasion when animals were not treated with the utmost respect by guides." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms J
Botswana

"Kwara Staff make the difference"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2010
"The amazing variety of wildlife in this area made our safari special. The staff here made our stay outstanding.

Our guide, Keone, was magnificent and the greeter/coordinator was also fab." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
London

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2010
"Best for big cat viewing. Guides Piet and GnT were an excellent team and worked very hard to deliver interesting game drives. We would like to add a special note about Piet. An English, solo travelling, lady joined our group mid way through our stay. She was extremely demanding of Piet and required almost one-to-one attention. In our view she had been badly advised (not travelling with Expert Africa) and was totally unprepared for seeing nature in the wild. She was only interested in "pretty animals" and was selfish in her demands and behaviour towards us and the guides. Piet demonstrated outstanding patience and diplomacy in trying to balance her requirements with those of the three of us other guests on the vehicle. We are aware that she made a complaint and whilst we made assurances at the time to Piet, GnT and Janet, we want to add our comments to assure the team at Kwara that they could do no more in the circumstances.

We felt that the tents would benefit from some refurbishment. We didn't experience many mosquitoes but they would have little problem coming up through the gaps between floorboards. The canvass was pretty mouldy in places and the bed linen was very tired. That said, the location on the lagoon with the views (and sounds) of the hippos, impala, warthogs and baboons on tap was wonderful.

Again, we have the reservation that 6 guests to a vehicle looks cramped - we were lucky and only had 4, which was fine." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mr B
London

"A wonderful introduction to the Okavango"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2010
"A well appointed camp with an authentic safari ambience.

Efficient,friendly,relaxed staff who established easy rapport with guests.We liked sitting at a communal dining table which allowed guests to share the adventures of the day and we valued the contributions of the guides who joined us..

Our guide and tracker were outstanding." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Waterloovi

"kwara camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2010
"another superb camp at least matching if not surpassing lebala.

game drives were awesome, extremely flexible were happy to accomodate a full days safari. Janet the manageress was incredible and could not do enough.

leopard spotted on 2 occasions with great sightings, cheetah also seen on 2 occasions, lions were very prevailent and numerous were seen" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
H family
Berkshire

"Excellent Kwara camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2010
"In spite of exceptionally high water levels, our driver always got us through mud and swamps (and pulled out other vehicles on a couple of occasions) so that we had excellent sightings of leopard, lion and cheetah.

The overall quality of guiding was outstanding.

The tents are slightly smaller than average, but are well equipped.

The boat ride was a highlight of the stay." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Beds

"Very good all round camp with lots to do"

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed this camp. We had good game viewing especially as the guide worked hard to find things for us.
Birding was very good as well.

Boat trip was exciting particularly the ride back in the dark!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The D party
England

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2010
"We had an amazing time at Kwara and the team there were excellent. Although the menus were the same as at Tau Pan, the quality of the cooking was far superior and so was the bush lunch.

Tusseaud the manager is excellent and professional. Any issue with the rooms or anything else were promptly dealt with.
The concept of the rooms is good but they really need to put some capital into the camp and up-date it to a level like Xakanaxa. Cleanliness is an issue as well.

Our guide, Keone and our trekker, Sherlok were excellent.

I would say that what is missing in the camp are the final touches on service training the camps as sometimes the ladies taking the plates from the table were very abrupt without doing it on purpose as they were very nice. The Kwando lodges do need a better variety of dishes and especially vegetarian ones." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Brentwood

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2010
"Highlights were the wild dogs and a pair of mating lions" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 131-140 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


94% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa