This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A
London

"Best time at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2011
"This is an old camp which is showiing its age. Actually I enjoyed this camp the best of the whole trip, but my tent could have had cleaner straw mats on the floor. Also the water comes from a bore hole here and it is very brown. Although I was warned about not drinking it it would have been useful to know about the staining as to begin with I thought that the loo in my tent was dirty. I did also have drain problems, but they were fixed promptly and with no hassle.

The camp is on a private reservie so going off road and night driving were great. The guide and spotter, IP and Justice, were the best of the trip, with everything being pointed out. I saw lots of lion here, new varieties of game( warthog, hyena, tsessebe, red lechwe, genet, african wild cat, python amongst others) and excellent birds. As well as game drives I went on a boat trip in the Delta (saw lots of hippos) a jungle walk and in a mokoro - where again we saw lots of hippo: one so close we had to take evasive action.

This is a great camp for people who are serious about seeing the wildlife. The staff were friendly and very welcoming and although certain things could be immproved it would be a great shame if it were tarted up too much." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family JB
New Malden

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2011
"Everything was lovely. We really enjoyed getting back to the Bush. Guides/trackers- Bali and Baruti excellent. `Service friendly. Food disappointing. There was plenty of it but the cooks were not very good. Having been to many different safari camps, and understanding the logistical problems of running a camp in the Bush, this was the worse for food, in our experience. The tents were basic (which we loved) and we had an elephant almost at the end of our bed on the first night!!

Due to the time of the year of our trip, Fishing was not available and Mokoro's were not encouraged, so apart from a boat trip to see Hippo, we were only really offered safari by jeep. However, they were fantastic!" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr M & Mr E
USA

"Kwara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2011
"Best place for game drives as you can go off road and at night. Excellent guides.

Tents could use a makeover but nice all the same." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr A
London

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2010
"Cats, cats and more cats! In fact, that is pretty much all we saw, which was a wonderful contrast to our other camps. Every day people at the camp had new and exciting stories of things they had seen.

Fantastic boat trips but the contrast with being able to go by jeep across the plains, due to it being dry season, made it for us.

Luxurious rooms, with great views. Extremely friendly staff. More of a 'tyring to please the punters' place than some of the other camps, but if that's why you've come to Botswana, then that's no bad thing!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Lincoln

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2010
"A very friendly camp with lovely staff who made us very welcome. The driver and tracker were enthusiastic and knowledgable. In common with other camps they tended to concentrate on big game while we were sometimes interested in stopping for birds and smaller wildlife but we suspect this is what most visitors want. We did often have a 'sunalreadydowner' as they tracked something big.

Overall the game viewing was very good and we had a couple of very close encounters with lions, a hippo who made it clear he did not like us so close when we were in a mokoro and the tracker made a spectacular jump from the spotting seat to the safety of the truck when we nearly ran over a 8 foot black mamba. All very memorable stuff.

The food and drink were very good considering this is a bush camp. Lots of bottled water is consumed but one really needs plenty of liquids in the heat. Hopefully the empty bottle are recycled.

The only quibble was that our tent (number 6) did not seem very insect proof, as at night we had plenty of wildlife in the tent if the light was on." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
Paris

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"Great atmosphere - very friendly camp - lot of wildlife even in the camp! - amazing game drives and boat cruise with wery professionnal guide and tracker" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Cumbria

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2010
"This is in a lovely spot looking out on a lagoon.

Our tent was very comfortable, but unfortunately the electricity was not working. It failed each night about two minutes after we had been taken to our tent in the dark. It was mended every day but failed again in the same way each night. It would not have been a problem if the camp had accepted it was not working and given us some oil lamps.

The safaris were excellent with some exciting tracking of animals. Both the guide and tracker were very helpful. We also did a walk, a speed boat trip and a canoe trip so there was plenty of variety. The food was excellent.

The communal area was too small to seat everyone and the swimming pool was out of action so everyone tended to sit by there own tent during free time." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Herts

"Honeymoon at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2010
"We spent 3 nights at Kwara, having flown in from Lebala. Kwara's location in the trees in front of the lagoon is amazing and it seems to attract all sorts of great wildlife which The General & Kebe were only too happy to track down for us.

The waterside location affords extra activities and both the mokoro and delta-boat trips were very special experiences. The hosts at Kwara (Thuso and Janet in particular) really do go the extra mile for their guests and put on a private dining experience to celebrate our last night in the bush, and we were sad to leave the lovely people and their wonderful camp.

The only real surprise at the Kwando camps was that there were no other English guests whilst we were there. Not a problem at all, just a little unexpected." See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
NL

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"A similar experience as earlier in Lagoon. [Ed: this traveller commented: 'A fantastic experience in a real bush camp with a good and enthusiastic team.' about Lagoon Camp.]

The camp is great, beautifully set and very friendly staff and a good informal atmosphere. Our guide (Ona) and tracker (Kent) managed to find cheetahs, lions and leopards. Fantastic!

We also enjoyed the boat ride and the many birds we watched.

A great place to be!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs W
Leics

"Leopards and lion cubs"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"Guide and tracker were great - Jacob and Kent. Finally got to see a leopard (not easy in the long grass). Later on however we saw him up a tree in characteristic pose just staring down at us. We also saw lion cubs with their mother just playing in the afternoon sun, could have watched all day.

Took a mokoro boat across to an island where we walked for about an hour. Got up close and personal to a male elephant. Also had chance to smell elephant dung - not as bad as you might think." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 121-130 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa