This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
MW&JS
UK

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2011
"The rooms are basic Meru style tents and were fine but not as comfortably furnished as similar ones at Xakanaxa,which had the edge accomodation -wise .The communal areas were abit cramped and faded .
However the location ,range of activities and quality of guiding made Kwara a good choice.Hilda was great manager and nothing was too much trouble
Highlights included
-The views of the lagoon just a few yards away were amazing -listening to the music of the frogs and hippos chomping the grass round our room at night
-our guide Thomas -who must be the biggest guide in Botswana and tracker BJ who was a real star and mokoro poler Justice who described 2 month mokoro trips in his youth to travel from his village to the main town (now takes 3 hours by road)
-birdlife especially wattled cranes ,a secretary bird,a Pels Fishing Owl (Thomas had last seen one 5 years ago) and a dozen huge ground hornbills spread out in formation across the airstrip scouring for 'roadkill' but missing the lone blacksmith plover chick which we checked out each day
-crossing the wooden bridges between the islands -very hairy
-the mokoro trip (seeing the tiny things in the reeds)and walking in the bush,tracking and learning about the flora ,the biodiversity and the interrelationship of living things in the delta
-the evening boat trip and watching the sunset through the papyrus
-having a puncture surrounded by 7 lions
" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs GJ
Chester

"Close encounters at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2011
"In general the game at Kwara seems a lot more relaxed with the vehicles here compared with Lagoon and Lebala. We had great sightings of lions chasing vultures away from the hippo carcass which they had claimed for their own, but by far this was the best place for sightings at night. We were particularly please to see an aardwolf and one evening we saw a small spotted genet, a civet, an African wild cat and two servals, all within a few minutes of each other. The serval showed up on a couple of evenings and seemed to be at ease with the vehicles.

Since the animals here were much less wary of vehicles or people, this led to some very enjoyable sightings at close quarters. During siesta time in the middle of the day, we were sitting very quite on the ground near the water's edge and had a family warthogs come within a few feet as they foraged their way through the camp. Later that afternoon, we were unable to leave our tent for the game drive, as a large bull elephant was taking his time collecting fruits from around our veranda. As he wandered his way towards one side of the tent, our guide came to collect us around the other side, only to come face to face with the elephant as we tried to get away at the back of the tent. We carefully retraced our steps, as the elephant strolled away.

The vehicles at Kwara were great - brand new Toyota landcruisers which were only a few weeks old, however, they still get stuck from time to time. The Delta was flooded to a very high level when we visited and we were only a few feet from a group of lions when it was our turn to get stuck.

The tents at Kwara are old style safari tents, which are quite small compared with Lebala and Lagoon, but they are still very clean and comfortable. The only problem we had was with the hot water supply, especially to the shower, as the gas boiler to our tent was a little temperamental. The solar systems at Lebala and Lagoon are excellent, but there are a lot of baboons Kwara, which can cause a lot of damage to solar panels.

On our last morning, instead of taking the usual game drive, we had a mokoro trip and bush walk with an armed guide and tracker. This was certainly well worth doing, as it gives such a different close up view of the water and all its beautiful plants. The walk was very interesting and we also spotted a lioness in the distance.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Ferndale

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"Very good game viewing with lots of wildlife and easily accessible despite a large number of their usual dirt roads being flooded due to high water. The camp has new jeeps which were very comfortable.

We had an excellent guide and spotter who were exceptionally knowledgeable and comfortable talking about a wide variety of birds, animals and plants with us (and without us having to ask loads of questions).

The camp itself is typical of the region - very good quality, a nice feel and friendly staff.
We also had good success fishing at Kwara (for catfish)" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
Washington DC

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2011
"Kwara was a charming camp. Beautiful tent facilities on the edge of a Hippo lagoon. Our guide and tracker were knowledgeable and friendly. One of the highlights was the motorboat tour of the lagoon. We saw many hippos and enjoyed a beautiful sunset.

The best part of that boat ride was our walk along the shore underneath century old trees. We felt as if we had traveled back to the beginning of time! What a relaxed way to start a safari." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M-E
Nevada

"Great Game Viewing at Kwara Camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2011
"The game drives and boat and mokoro rides at Kwara were great - it is a wonderful location for these activities. After the extremely relaxed experience at Mapula Lodge, we were a bit surprised at the pace at Kwara - many more people coming and going, and a full camp. At first we were a bit disappointed, but the overall experience turned out to be very good.

The camp "manager" that greeted us was a bit impersonal, but he was efficient. We really liked our guide, Master, and our tracker, Baruti. Master was fantastic - his knowlegde and ability were truly amazing. He was willing to do whatever was necessary for great game viewing, and he always checked with us about what we were most interested in doing and seeing. Again, we were lucky to have only two other people in our vehicle. Master was always aware of the fact that we wanted to take photos of things, and would position the vehicle for better views and would not leave until we were ready.

We did a nature walk the morning we went on the mokoros, and sighted a lion on the walk. Master let us stay and watch the lion from a distance he considered safe, and then took us back to the sight by vehicle after we had returned to camp by mokoro. There were several very special, unexpected experiences during our activiteis at Kwara that made up for the much busier feel of the camp.

The food was very good. We liked the tented camps, but had a problem with our toilet that took a day and half to fix. Unfortunately, we also had a problem getting hot water, and the temperature had dropped and it was too cold to use the outdoor shower without hot water.
Overall, the camp definitely puts game viewing first, and will accommodate meals around this." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
NZ

"Kwara Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 May 2011
"Beautiful location.We only had one night but it was a very nice one." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Darley

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2011
"Guides very good . Enjoyed boat trips especilly standing on top! Scenery so beautiful.

V good game viewing Lions and leopards" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr T
Oxford

"Lovely location"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2011
"Another very warm welcome with a variety of activities which was good. Enjoyed the fishing and the boat trip.

Again there was the long table with all eating together which gave opportuiy to meet other guests and chat to staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr S
Oxford

"A great stay at Kwara Camp."

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2011
"Another very welcoming and beautifully positioned camp. The 'tents' were fantastic and offered beautiful views as well as close up experiences of elephants, hippos and wart hogs.

Our guide, IP and spotter KB were both very knowledgable and fun to be with. Very good numbers of game spotted and excellent fishing! Always found the most beautiful locations for sundowners and KB wins the prize for making the best G n T!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
Canada

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2011
"Our guides everywhere in Botswana were very knowledgeable and professional but Tom at Kwara was outstanding.

We enjoyed the game drives with him and loved the mokoro trip and walking safari. Kwara has excellent camp facilities." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa