This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs PF
NW London

"Excellent Camp with good guides, good atmosph"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2012
"very friendly and professional quide" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Nashville

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2011
"This camp just blends in the middle. Nothing terrible and nothing great. The tents were the least comfortable here. Older, smaller and some water issues with the showers.

I am having a hard time finding anything else to comment on." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Seychelles; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr E
Canada

"Stunning wildlife & a truly special excursion"

3 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2011
"Kwara had some unique additions: the boat tour was great (Sandibe's boat tour was a lot less special, with hardly any sightings (except for some nice kingfishers); the small channel through the papyrus was still nice though); and the komoro and little walk were a nice touch.

From a pure camp (design, built) and comfort perspective Kwara was the looser in this department, with both Nxai Pan (main lodge) and Lebala (own hut) being very nice/unique and coming very close to Sandibe (note that our hut at Lebala did get quite wet on the inside twice after heavy rains; luckily excluding the bed and luggage area). Even the 'looser' Kwara was still rather nice: we woke up to the noise of 'grazing' hippos early in the morning… (and giraffes across the lagoon one day).

Kwara and Sandibe camps were the clear winner from a pure wildlife perspective. They were best for both the abundance and the variety of wildlife (including some rarer species). For example: Kwara (fantastic cheetah sightings, serval). Truly impressive.

Suggestions for improvements:

I did not find the hosting at Kwara special at all. It was what I expect a nameless hotel in Mallorca/Cuba during high season to be…. (mind you, this was also the fullest booked camp, so it simply was less intimate). Also our tracker at Sandibe was disappointing; we drove right past a leopard less than 10m from the Jeep (I know this happens, but it generally felt we saw great wildlife there because of their abundance, not the tracking quality)." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Orkney

"Kwara Camp safari"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2011
"The location of Kwara camp in the Delta area and on the shores of a lake is wonderful. You can watch and listern to hippos from the camp. The activities, safari drive, boat safari and mokoro trip were excellent. The habitat here was so different from Chobe and so provided us with good opportunities of seeing some different animals. Over the three days we saw 21 different lions and 3 cheetahs. Also saw Tsessebe, Blue Wildebeest and lots of hippos in addition to elephants, giraffe, zebra etc. The boat trip out to the heronary was lovely and the heronary is amazing, so many heron, stork, egret, cormorant breeding on the island, we spotted nearly 20 different species. A wonderful place to have the 'sundowner'.

Kwara Camp itself was good but there were a few things that did not quite met the standard. The rooms were good but we couldn't understand why after making such a point about the importance of making sure the door was latched properly to keep baboons out they don't provide a latch on the inside of the door. This means when you are inside the room you have no means of keeping the door closed. This would be such a simple thing to resolve and could enable guests to feel a bit more secure at night. The food was reasonable but quite often not very hot. The staff were friendly and helpful but there were a few occasions when it was difficult to find someone if you wanted a drink from the bar or to look in shop. Despite these few things the safaris at Kwara were very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr R & Mrs C
France

"This camp was a bit of a disappointment!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2011
"The game viewing here was wonderful - we saw lions with cubs at close quarters and many other animals and birds. Very comfortable new vehicles.

The camp itself however, was far from satisfactory when we were there. The shower in our tent (No4). would only run too hot to use or freezing cold and in spite of three very polite requests to the manageress, nothing was done. There were also issues with cleanliness, the condition of the tent generally and the fact that baboons might be able to get in and interfere with our possessions. Food was truly dreadful - sometimes overcooked, sometimes served cold or undercooked. It was generally unappetising.

The camp is in a lovely position, overlooking water. However, the effect of this was spoilt by fallen dead trees and branches in front of the camp and outside areas could be much improved by a bit of tidying up." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs W
Chorley

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2011
"There was no area in the camp that we could get cool - no fans etc.

The food was very enjoyable and of an excellent quality.

On speaking to other travellers we would have preferred to stay at Little Kwara, due to the better quality of the rooms. The rooms at Kwara need refurbishing." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Nevada

"Kwara camp"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"Our time here was exceptional. George and Beruti were great. The trucks here are very nice. Again, max of 4 in the car. The amount of game was incredible - lots of lions.

The lanscapes here were amazing as well. Our favorite camp overal!!!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hampshire

"A great all- round experience at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"Our stay at Kwara a great experience and would highly recommend it.

The staff were outstanding...all being very friendly and helpful.The Manager BK was helpful an dinformative.The guiding by Bait and Justice was some of the best of our trip. We found the rooms very comfortable as were the Toyota Landcruisers.

The game was plentiful and there were some noticebale benefits not being on a Reserve. The boat trip to the bird island was an experience not to be missed." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Ms F
London

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"Perhaps unfair since we'd just come from the refurbished Lagoon Camp, but Kwara felt a tiny bit shabbier with smaller rooms.
In general, though, it has an excellent area for game drives and a lagoon for mokoros.

There was one thing that left a sour taste, however. On the first day, one of the lodge's cars located a male lion. We got very excited and went straight over. The lion, however, was incredibly old and sick and could barely move. He was covered in flies and looked ready to die. I would guess your average safari goer is an animal lover and this may not something they want to witness, so I would have thought the guide might have mentioned, before we drove there, that the animal was sick.

He didn't, and found the state of the lion hilarious. He couldn't stop laughing at this wretched creature's state. Even after I mentioned that some people found the whole thing moderately distressing, he kept bringing up the story of the sick lion at dinner and bursting into fits of giggles. While he was a good guide - this was not an attitude we expected or liked." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms S
London

"Great action on and off the water at Kwara"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2011
"A good broad based experience of the Delta. Enjoyed the mukora/canoe trip and the boat trip was a good change of pace. We saw a wide range of game (although not many predators) and birds - expertly guided. We were lucky with our jeep mates at this camp (Nick and Rebecca - also customers of yours I think) and liked the enthusiasm and warmth of the staff.

Accommodation was the most spartan of the camps we stayed in but still a long way from roughing it. The only cavil would be to say that having only an outside shower at this time of year is a bit challenging. We thought the cooking here was about the best we experienced in Botswana." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa