This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
W Sussex

"Kawara is in a great setting by a lagoon."

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Quite a large camp which is spread out along the bank of the lagoon and a lot of the wild life comes in to camp particularly the baboons who will get on to the tents and into them if the access (sliding doors) is not properly secured. The showers are open air at the rear of the tents and the baboons get in there. Elephant were in the camp around the central area which was interesting at 20 feet.

Guide was George who was very knowledgeable and competent. There was lots of game in the area with lions, and cheetahs being the high lights though we felt that too much pressure was put on some of the lions when they were on the move with up to three vehicles following them and over taking them and stopping in front of them.

An evening boat visit to a heronry was an excellent excursion.

The food was disappointing and it was put out when the first vehicle arrived back at camp and left out until the last vehicle got back which could be an hour and a half as the priority was game drives.

Each tent had a gas driven hot water system which required careful manipulation to get a hot shower but half the holes in the shower head were blocked with scale which crerated a back pressure which tripped the hot water syatem" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
W Sussex

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Game drives and the boat trip to the heronry were high spots of our whole trip. The game drives are given precedence over everything else which is fine but does have consequences that would be guests need to understand. Our guide (George) and spotter were excellent but the camp does overemphasize lions of which it has an abundance. Apart from the lions, we had good sightings of cheetahs, jackals and water birds.

Because camp life is focused on the game drives there is a slightly regimented feel about the regime. Food was average in conception and execution and suffered from great variability in times of arrival back at camp. One serving only and food would be kept out and exposed for periods if one group arrived back later than others." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mrs N
Much Hadham

"Kwara camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2012
"Yet again a wonderful experience. We had a fantastic guide who was incredibly knowledgeable, and we learnt a lot about all the animals and their behaviour, and watching the guides track the animals was fascinating. We will never forget the lion/buffalo kill that happened on the way back from the night drive, and the enthusiasm of our guide, BK.

You made us aware that this was a relatively old camp, so this is not a complaint, but fans in the bedrooms would have made a huge difference as I found it too hot to go to in the afternoon. Otherwise it was a wonderful place." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
York

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"A diiferent atmosphere, we did not click so well with our guide, but on reflection perhaps we had been very lucky with our introduction in Leballa.

Plane trnsfer very slick, no waiting and very swift. Perhaps the facilities a bit dated but game viewing v good. HAd to mend the Loo - the plunger had got stuck, but to be fair as we managed to sort it we did not let the manager know. A busy shedule with lots to do river trips, walks, mokoro rides and game drives, perhgaps not the ideal camp to finish a safari but great when we were all keyed up and keen!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Nevada

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2012
"This was our second trip to Kwara. As before, the staff was excellent.

We were with George and Buruti again, an awesome driver/ tracker pair. They really know the animals and the area well. We were very fortunate to see lions, cheetah, and lots of other game. The bird life is amazing. The landscape in the delta is beautiful." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Germany

"Kwara - entrance to the delta"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2012
"After Lagoon we had a short but scenic flight to Kwara Camp where we stayed for 3 nights.

This camp is beautiful located at a lake and we've had regular visits of warthogs, hippos (at night) and elephants (mostly at night but also during breakfast and dinner!!!). Kwara camp is more rustic than Lagoon (run by the same company) but still comfortable. The tented rooms are smaller than in Lagoon but still very good and large enough. Service and food is as good as in the other camps we've been. All people in the camps are helpful and friendly and try to make the very best of your vacation.
They offer game drives in the morning and afternoon (ending as a night drive!), a recommendable boat cruise to the river system of Moremi National Park and also a Mokoro trip including a bush walk.

Like in all Kwando camps also in Kwara we've had a driver guide (Bate) and a tracker (Master) on our vehicle who made a very good job. We've had wonderful game drives with the highlight of seeing 3 big male lions at a zebra kill. There was also a pride of 4 female/young lions and of course many of the other animals you'd expect there (except of cheetah and leopard :-( )
Because Kwara is at the delta you can see many water loving animals like lechwe antelopes and waterbucks.
The Kwara wild dog pack unfortunately just had left their den with the puppies and was not seen for some days (and also not while we were there).

Kwara concession has different landscapes from flooded areas to permanent water, from open grassland to woodland which makes it very interesting and offers habitat for many different species of animals.

We were happy staying at Kwara Camp and of course recommend it!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Los Angeles

"Excellent game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2012
"Staff was very good and friendly. Lots of great game viewing. My favorite tracker of my trip, Mustah, worked here; he was lots of fun and had a great sense of humor!

While I landed, there were two male lions hanging out right next to the landing strip! Surprisingly, the plane didn't scare them off at all. They just watched us like they were watching TV. We got good views of giraffe, ostrich, wild dogs, water buffalo, lions, zebra, wildebeast, elephants, baboons, wide variety of large birds, hyenas, jackals, cheetah and even porcupine.

Food was pretty decent. Service was very good. Guides and trackers were both very knowledgeable and personable.

The accommodations at Kwara were by far the most Spartan of my four camps. I knew this in advance, but I overlooked this because of the excellent game viewing reputation. Not that the rooms were substandard, but they really do need a facelift. One thing I did not understand: the staff made a point of telling you to always lock your doors because of baboons, yet there was only a lock on the outside, not the inside! (I propped one of my bags against the door at night) The canvas tents have seen much better days. This would be a prime camp if it were to be refurbished like its sister camp, Lagoon Camp (my final destination).

Luckily, the room conditions did not diminish my enjoyment much. I still had a great time at Kwara. If like me, game viewing is your primary objective and you can overlook a lesser level of accommodation, Kwara still very much worth your time! Pictures and videos of my trip, including video reviews of my rooms, are available if you click here. I hope this review is helpful for you." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr W
Dyfed

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2012
"Kwara offered a broader range of experience with a chance to fish, travel in mokoro, take a short walk etc. as well as to drive out mornings and afternoons/evenings. Accommodation is not as good as some other camps, but still perfectly adequate.

Our guide and spotter - Bait & Mopane were both very knowledgeable, patient and committed. Again, we enjoyed both bird and animal experiences enormously." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Dorset

"Kwara - Land of the Lion!"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"Accommodation - This was our third camp in the Delta (the others being Lebala, Nxabega, and Sandibe) and we stayed here for 2 nights. The tents are well appointed, but a little tired (we knew this before we came here) - however that in no way detracted from our stay.

Here at Kwara, everyone dines together around a central table, which is a great way of meeting new people and sharing stories and experiences. Also, Kwara was the only place where we didn't have power sockets in the room to charge up batteries and devices - but there is an excellent system set up in the communal area where you can plug in and charge up.

Wildlife - Here in Kwara we were lucky enough to see the Cape Clawless Otter, fishing for it's breakfast on our first morning here. This was a lovely, unexpected sight - as Otters are normally very shy and will disappear long before you see them. We stayed watching the otter for a good 10 minutes - and it seemed completely unconcerned by our presence.

Kwara was also the home of the Lion for our particular trip. At this point (day 7) we'd yet to see Lions at all in Botswana, and our Guide and Tracker picked up tracks for a male Lion along the road, made the previous evening, which we then started following. Imagine our surprise when we came round the corner and almost ran over 2 female lionesses and 2 18 month old cubs who had approached from the other direction. We stayed with the group - following them as they set off to hunt - and eventually leaving them as they settled in the long grass near some Red Lechwe, to wait to hunt in the coolness of the evening.

That evening we set off, and this time we came across a lone female lioness who, clearly by the amount of blood around her mouth, had just made a kill. The Guide and Tracker recognised her as a female with 2 young cubs, and suggested we followed her. We were not disappointed - shortly she called to her cubs, and they came bounding out from their hiding place, and she led them back across the ground to the kill (a journey of approx 30 minutes). The two cubs were approximately 3 months old - and we stayed with the family, driving through dense bush, until we reached the kill (a male Kudu). We watched enthralled as the lioness fed, and the cubs chewed the meat a bit - and then messed around, jumping on the carcass, on their mother - and playing with the Kudu ear. It was a wonderful, intimate glimpse into lion family life - and one we were very privileged to watch and photograph. (Many thanks too to the kitchen staff at Kwara, who kept dinner for us long after the usual dinner time!)

Our trip to Kwara was rounded off the following morning with a lovely male Lion, with a Steenbuck kill just outside the lodge.

Again, you will also find the usual array of Elephant, Giraffe, Hippo, Warthog, and various different Antelope species (including Red Lechwe and Tsessebe) at Kwara - in between the Lions !!

The wildlife sightings are often much closer than in other parts of Africa, as the Drivers/Guides and Trackers take you off road. Note - we had both a Driver and a Tracker on every Game Drive, so you need to consider that when estimating the amount of cash required for tips." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
California

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2012
"Kwara Camp was supposed to pick us up by boat at noon, but they didn't arrive until 3:00 PM. Xakanaka kept calling and they kept saying they were on their way. When we arrived they were getting ready to go on a drive, so there was mass confusion as to what we should be doing.

They also said they knew nothing of my diet, when the people at Xakanaka said they called the Maun office and told them of the diet restrictions. Again, they did OK with the lack of notice.

This is a Kwando Camp and it was not very well run. You never knew who the manager was. They had some "Corproate" people and they were more concerned with them, than the guests. I would not recommend the Kwando organization." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 91-100 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa