This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs U
Luton

"Authentic Feeling Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2013
"Kwara was our favorite camp for a true "Bush" atmosphere without actually having to pitch a tent! The tents are not luxurious but we weren't looking for that, they have a great real bush feel but the beds are very large and very comfortable and bathroom facilities are fine. I enjoyed the outside shower.

Sleeping with the storm flaps up across the front of the tent was a great experience (there is a gauze sliding panel so no worries about insects etc). We could see silhouettes of Elephant and Hippo and heard Impala grazing just outside our tent it was magical!!! Kwando camps are all staffed by local people, Kwara's Manager was Hilda who has risen through the ranks from Waitress and is doing a fine job, a lovely lady. Food and drinks are excellent at Kwara all home cooking not Gourmet but very tasty and 4 meals a day you won't be hungry! Sundowners out in the bush are great fun.

Our personal team of guide, Tom and tracker, Justice were fabulous. Their combined skills of tracking and knowledge of wildlife was at times astonishing. They successfully tracked Lion (several times), Cheetah and Wild Dogs (twice) the tracking was a fascinating experience and thrilling, speeding across wild country in hot pursuit of our goals. We saw many other animals including, Porcupine, Sitatunga, Red Lechwe, Steenbok amongst all the usual animals you might expect to see. Tom has a particularly good knowledge of birds and in 3 days we saw 76 different types.

We were sad to leave Kwara we really got into the rhythm of an African Safari here and could have done everything we did again and again. Thanks to everyone at Kwara," See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2013
"We had a great guide (Dutch) and tracker (KB) and that's all we needed. The area is great for game as there is always something going on.

The atmosphere in camp was very relaxed and friendly and even though the tents are a little dated the camp serves it's purpose just fine. We actually quite like the fact that you're still staying in something that looks like a tent as opposed to some of the other 'tented' camps." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Belgium

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2013
"great views from rooms, excellent guides and game drives
particularly enjoyed the chance for the night drives and the water trip" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Utah

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 May 2013
"Kwara is getting a little old compared to the other Kwando camps we stayed in, Nxai Pan, Lagoon, and Lebala. However, it was still a great experience.

Our guide Tom and tracker KB worked hard to bring us a great wildlife adventure." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Berkeley

"Top guides, no game to be found"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2013
"Our guide at Kwara was highly knowledgeable and a wonderful companion, but in 3 days of game drives, including a 7 hour drive where we were met with a delicious bush lunch -- we saw almost no game apart from the hippos that were at Kwara's front door, occasional elephants and the omnipresent impala and two jackals.

Our accommodations were excellent, the food satisfactory and to our liking, and the opportunity to enjoy non-vehicle activities was a plus -- our mokoro trip and hike were great and informative, as were the double-decker motorized launch trips, which gave us a unique awareness and appreciation of the delta, its waterways, bird life and vegetation.

But because our prime motive for visiting expensive Botswana camps like Kwara was to see game, fundamentally we were disappointed and wouldn't recommend Kwara -- at this time of year -- to visitors. We were told by our guide that the normally resident prides of lions had moved away from the reserve. A bad fire had scorched a sizeable area of the reserve just a week before our visit." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms M
Virginia, USA

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2013
"Wonderful Camp! Loved the setting of my tent looking out on the lagoon.

The Mokoro canoe trip was fun as was the informative bush walk on the island.

Great staff, guides and food." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Maryland

"Kwara Camp was outstanding"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2013
"This was my favorite of the three places we stayed in Botswana. Our guide and tracker (Bate (not sure of spelling) and Justice) were incredible. Not only were they able to find all the animals we were specially interested in seeing, but they could spot and identify every bird we passed and talk about their habitat and behavior. We saw an amazing number of animals and birds - everything we had hoped for and more. Bate spent time with us beyond the animal drives and boat trips so we developed a good relationship.

The camp itself was excellent. All the staff warm and welcoming. The tent was very attractive and comfortable with many amenities that I didn't expect. The food was very good (too good!) and they readily accommodated the needs of a vegetarian. We definitely felt well cared for. The size of the camp and number of visitors were both perfect. It was large enough so that we felt we had some privacy, but small enough that we had good interactions with the staff and other visitors." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Wickham

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"Again an excellent guide who went out of his way so that we could see Cheetahs (I did not see them anywhere else). We were having coffee prior to returning to the lodge when a call came through to say that Cheetahs had been spotted a 40 minute drive away from where we were. As they might move off the guide drove to the area where the Cheetahas had been spotted and we found them. We did not arrive back at the lodge until nearly midday. I was very impressed with the guides attitude. There were several prides of lions in the reserve and we came across them each day on our drives.

I rated Kwara and Lagoon the best places for game viewing." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Honolulu

"Great game drives at Kwara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2012
"Of the 3 camps we stayed at (Lagoon, Kwara, Lebala), Kwara was the most rustic.

The game drives at Kwara was excellent.

George (guide) and KB (tracker) and BK (camp manager) provided awesome customer service!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Bath

"Good game viewing and makoro experience"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"George and KB were excellent guide and tracker respectively..

Some of the food was a little bit disapponting; the dinner on our first night was almost inedible." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa