This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Hertfordshire

"Great location and safari"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2013
"We really enjoyed this camp as well, staff were very friendly and efficient,
Our guide Master was truly delightful and he endeavoured to meet our wishes
To see everything possible. Fantastic location." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E
Oxfordshire

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2013
"Whilst the accommodation is not of the quality of Little Kwara the quality of the guiding and the experience is not affected.

Besides again seeing abundant elephant, antelope, hippo and co we were fortunate enough to have good sightings of wild dogs, jackel, mongooses, cheetah and even a distant sighting of a honey badger. The guide and tracker went to great lengths to meet our request for cheetah and lion hich they succeeded in meeting.

We've deceided that we should get up earlier because we missed wild dogs hunting an impala in sight of the camp. The impala escaped into the lake only to be killed by one of the resident crocodiles, all within view of some of the guests. We also go to bed too early as one evening whilsts guests were sitting round the camp fire one of the elephants joined them forcing them to stay up even longer drinking their delicious Amarula!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Ontario

"Keara Camp-great Memories, Great Sightings"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"We feel most fortunate to have launched our Safari experience at Kwara.

The staff was excellent. Our Guide Bate and Tracker KP were quite a team. Our Safari drives covered various areas. We had a lagoon boat ride to the Godikwe herony and got great pictures. We traveled in a mokoro to an Island walk. We even saw the seldom seen Sitatunga.

On our last day we were treated to a brunch by a Hippo pond. Unbelievable. Such memories!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Atlanta

"Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"Kwara is the oldest camp we visited and it shows it's age in places but we still enjoyed it very much. Which may explain why it was also the busiest camp we visited being fully occupied while we were there.

Our tracker KP and our guide TJ did a great job finding the animals we most wanted to see, big cats and wild dogs. The highlight was the wild dog hunt which was excellent! We missed the moment of the kill but it was still exciting and amazing. The mokoro ride and nature walk were also very interesting with TJ teaching us about the termites and also the animals in the area.

Our favorite spot in camp was the sofa overlooking the lagoon where we sat and watched the birds and animals that passed by. It was a perfect place to complete our African adventure." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Great wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"Kwara was a seamless continuation of our bush camp experience. The camp was more rustic than Lebala but for the most part very comfortable. My one criticism was the tents, which were canvas, got uncomfortably hot during the middle of the day, when we were in camp. They need either overhead fans or easily accessible flaps to open. The staff was very professional, courteous, anxious to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The wildlife viewing was fantastic.

Our guide, TJ, was very knowledgeable and a good communicator, but he either did not like me or didn't like the clients in general. He reprimanded me 3 times during our first drive not in a tactful or caring way at all. I was angry and offended. Our last night drive was miserable. He wanted to find the wilddogs, which we had already seen, for a new couple that had joined us in the jeep. So we spent two hours tearing around at a very uncomfortable speed, getting thrown around. I was exhausted when we got back to camp. I think he showed poor judgement in his decision to favor the new couple over the two others who were leaving the next day. You also did not question his decisions on what we were doing. The simple thing to have done was to give us a choice.

On the other hand, our tracker, KP, was a delight." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The R family
Solihull

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2013
"We spent the longest time here (4 nights versus 2 nights at each of the other two camps). This camp is probably a bit older and it shows particularly against Lagoon. I think if we hadn't seen the others we may have thought this was excellent too!

The staff were extremely friendly and not put out by elephants constantly damaging the camp in the night.

Guide and tracker probably also the best, but that may be because we spent most time with them and forged the strongest relationship. All the guides asked what we wanted to get out of the game drives." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The A Family
East Gri

"Excellent adventures in Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2013
"Although perhaps not as luxurious as the previous camp we had been in (Lagoon), Kwara sure did not lack for hospitality or service! This time our guide was T.J. and tracker (H?)Orace. I must admit that we were worried we might be disappointed after having such a fantastic time at Lagoon, but we quickly realized that although very different, Kwara camp had just as much to offer.

The tents were smaller but warm and clean and comfortable, and this also went for the main buildings. None of really mattered though because it was the staff who worked there that made it an experience not to be forgotten. As I mentioned with Lagoon, it was my boyfriend's birthday on the day we switched camps, so our first night at dinner he was treated to a birthday cake and both the English birthday song and a very enthusiastic traditional song of celebration. This really set the tone for the rest of our stay.

I can't say enough about the knowledge of our guide! While Spencer in lagoon camp satisfied our thirst for action, T.J. satisfied our thirst for knowledge. Although still very willing to follow the excitement, T.J. was able to point out smaller things that we might not have otherwise have noticed. Examples include: a missing tail on a giraffe due to lion attack, and one with an injured eye from a dispute with another giraffe, as well as a baby elephant with a missing trunk. He was also able to spot and identify many birds, and if he didn't know something, he'd find out. Since we were a crowd just as interested in the small things as the big game, T.J. made for an excellent guide! Not to mention (H)Orace, our tracker who was also fantastic. I jokingly asked him to find a leopard for us while he was waiting for us to return from our evening boat ride, and when we had returned, he lead us to a baby leopard up in a tree. It was a really memorable moment on our last night at Kwara. We were quite late for dinner that night from enjoying the leopard, which seemed to be quite alright with the staff as well. They are really very accommodating when it comes to meal times!

Overall we had such an excellent stay, I don't have enough words. As someone who had never been to Africa before, both Kwara and Lagoon camps absolutely exceeded my expectations in every way!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Toronto

"Not the optimal"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2013
"My husband and I stayed at Kwara for four nights and were a bit disappointed. We realize Botswana is an expensive destination so we expected nicer facilities and better service than in Zambian camps but it was not the case. The toilet & sink were outdated, there was a recurring problem with hot water supply to our tent. We complained to the staff once & they tried fixing it but unsuccessfully so we just had to make do. Then another couple from another tent who were a bit more demanding complained so the staff took it more seriously and on the last day of our stay it was fixed. We understand that we are in the bush and getting hot water can be difficult but they advertise that their heating system supplies hot water at any time of day except it didin't work.

Secondly, both my husband and I found that quantity of food was a little scarce, particularly at lunch time. A few times we would have to limit our portions seeing that if we took the food in quantities we wanted, there would be very little left for others (i.e. taking the last sausage on the grill without knowing if they have extra). As a side note, my appetite is not gargantuan but rather moderate. Breakfast options were rather limited too.

The most disappointing experience were the activities. We were hoping that we could have at least a couple boat rides (the reason we went to Okavango was that we wanted to see the area being on the water). Well, as it turned out, we could not choose the activities: we were told what we would be doing each day. We only had one boat ride & by the time we go back all five of us (including three fellow tourists from UK) were rather glad it was over. The guide (Hobbs) was assigned to take us for a boat tour but we understand he normally works at Little Kwara so I guess he didn't really care. He showed up late. There was another guide (Wilson) who was driving the boat and he was obviously on a learning curve which is totally ok as long as you don't practice with tourists on board. We crashed into a dead tree one our way back. Luckily, nobody was injured but I had to assume "brace position" as airlines call it which saved me from scratches and bruises. We laugh at it now in hindsight but strictly speaking, it shows lack of operational skills on management's side, it's not just the guide's fault.

We had one short mokoro trip on the morning before we departed - better than nothing... The morning safaris were good. There was one guide, Master, whom we only had for one day, and he did great job tracking cheetahs on our first morning at Kwara. Then he had a death in the family and we were reassigned to another guide, George. He was good too but something tells us our experience with Master would've been better.

The night drives were totally useless. As soon as the sun would go down and it would get dark, both the guide and the spotter would head back to camp without any serious attempts to make it a memorable experience for their guests. I understand that wild life is called wild for a reason & not one guide will guarantee anything... However, it seemed our guides were slacking off during night drives but again, we picked up on it only because we had good night drives in Zambia before (good not only in terms of what we saw at night but mostly in terms of effort which went into finding the creatures of the night). Other guests at Kwara would probably be ok with night drives there thinking that it's normal not to see any nocturnal creatures except the usual game which you see during the daylight (i.e. Impalas, zebras, hippos, elephants etc)." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs K & Mrs T
USA

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2013
"Kwara is one of the more established camps in the delta. The location is in a prime spot with access to water. Kwara is more rustic in it's accommodations with a more camping feeling.

With the ability to off road the guides are able to track game and offer the best photo opportunities. The highlight of the camp was our chance to see three cheetah brothers beginning there sunset hunt." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A
Derbyshire

"An amazing introduction to Africa"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2013
"Kwara was our first camp. We loved our whole experience there. The staff were so friendly and happy and obviously enjoyed their work. They really couldn't do enough for us. As for the food, delicious!

We saw so much wildlife, elephants in camp, at night munching right next to our tent and then watching it amble off with the moonlight providing a backdrop of the grass plains stretching out behind him. Our first night drive we encountered a big male leopard, precious seconds viewing before he slinked mysteriously away. Another highlight was the den of wild dogs and we got some great sightings. Our guide and tracker, Bate and Master, were two of the best. They were brilliant and actively tracked the wildlife with a passion, providing us details and information that enhanced our appreciation for these experiences.

Yes the accommodation was slightly tired and probably ready for renovation but we liked the rustic aspect of it and in no way did that detract from our experience at Kwara. Thank you." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa