This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp
Kwara Camp

Reviews of Kwara Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

181 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwara Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwara Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Hippo

86% success

Sable antelope

43% success

Sitatunga

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 181
Duration
Arrival date
Dr B
Miami Beach

"Tree House Tent"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2014
"My stay at Kwara was very nice. Of the 3 lodges I stayed at, the food here was the best. The facilities were wonderful and my room (a tree house tent) offered wonderful views and an area to unwind in the afternoon and evenings.

I saw a number of animals right from my balcony!

The tree house was very nice except for a few details:

1) there was a hornets nest somewhere outside near my shower - I notified the staff about it but nothing seemed to change with the hornets persisting in that area. At night when it was cold, I could go out to shower since there were fewer hornets but this was not as pleasant as I would have hoped.

2) There appeared to be a break in to the room before my arrival and I think baboons may have urinated all over the carpet/rug and the side of the bed in this room. There was a distinct smell of urine at all times. At night, the maid would burn an incense which made the room much more pleasant to sleep in and the smell did not overly bother me.

The games drives were very good and I liked that there was a walking safari and morokoro option here." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr JF
NW London

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Kwara camp has an excellent location and a great variety of game - in our 3 days we saw lion + cubs, male lion + kill, cheetah, giraffe, elephant, hippo, wildebeest, baboons, vervet monkeys, wart hog, various antelopes and some spectacular birds.

Activities included game drives, a walking safari and a great boat trip through the Okavango waterways. The rooms are very well-appointed and the facilities good. Our guide and tracker were both great.

The only thing that prevented this being a 5/5 rating was the attitude of a couple of the camp managers, one of whom was somewhat chippy towards western visitors (e.g. uncomfortable comments on colonialism, racism etc), the other showing a lack of real interest in, or enthusiasm for, her job. Otherwise outstanding." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"Great animal encounters at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2014
"Great camp, great encounters with animals.

The guide and tracker were excellent and always tried to accommodate us re bird and photography interests." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs H
Canada

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2014
"Kwara Camp had much the same feel as Lagoon - as it is also a Kwando property. As Expert Africa predicted, and as many of the EA reviews indicate, Kwara is not as luxurious as the other camps. The tents are significantly smaller, are older and less well-appointed. Still, the tent was comfortable and met all of our needs.

The managers, TJ and Joseph, were friendly and helpful - though not as visible as OB had been at Lagoon. Our guide, Thomas, and the spotter, Josiah, were outstanding. Thomas is intelligent, articulate, and charming, with a tremendous enthusiasm that is infectious. Josiah is extremely kind and caring and we all enjoyed getting to know him. He's very knowledgeable and the team of Tom and Josh really worked out well. They went way beyond the call of duty with respect to game viewing - one evening taking us on a cross country dash for a fantastic viewing of a cheetah.

One other staff person who stood out for us was Ocean, whose friendliness and enthusiasm were great.

The atmosphere at Kwara is very informal - even more so than Lagoon. For instance, instead of sitting down at the table for 'tea' in the afternoon, there was a kind of small buffet and guests ate standing up or found a soft chair to sit in. We actually found this to be a better plan, since it encouraged people to chat with one another and reduced (at least a little bit) our calorie intake. The food was good." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr G
Cape Town

"Kwara camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2014
"We loved our guide - his assurance, sense of adventure, and bush wisdom, and the great rapport between him and his assistant/tracker. It rained a lot but we went out on activities undeterred and had great fun.

Also loved the more indigenous feel of the camp, with its elephants in the garden!

Would be nice if the camp had more sitting/lounge facilities - sometimes there simply wasnt space for all the guests to be in that single lounge space at once." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Ms C
Vancouver

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2014
"At Kwara we had the most adventurous and energetic guide as well as a well versed spotter who participated knowledgeably in our travels." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Great Safaris at Kwara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2014
"Lovely, traditional camp although the tents are smaller and little more cramped especially with the additional bed. Lovely staff and good food. Our guide, Russ, and tracker, Master, worked very well together especially when driving through the bush and provided some wonderful sightings including two young Leopards up a tree, a Lioness with an eight week old cub and an African Wild Cat in daylight." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Wales

"Excellent safari at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2013
"I very much enjoyed staying at Kwara camp. The tents had everything you could need while still retaining something of an'Old Africa' feel.

Guiding was good and we saw cheetah, elephant ,lion and much more. The guide (George) was a good communicator.

I was able to take a short mokoro trip and a walk.

The camp was well organised and well run and service and food were both excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss H & Mr W
UK

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2013
"i was interested in seeing Leopard and as there had been a kill we went back several times to see if we could find it/them. in fact we did not see the mother, but did see the cub briefly at night, and it was marvellous. Our viewing might have been longer but unfortunately, whilst I realise it is common practice to share sightings, the next jeep arrived at the spot at high speed and so caused the leopards to move away.

Still, the only 3 vehicles at any sighting, and not following any predator which is clearly stalking prey, seemed excellent rules, and we appreciated the care the trackers and spotters take of their wildlife.

The rooms are fine, although a little more rustic than some camps, but the food was good and I would not worry about any tripadvisor reports to the contrary. The staff are fabulous and Hilda was a star, always cheerful and kind and considerate of the dietary needs of the diabetic in our group." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Middlesex

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"Rooms were in need of updating but did not spoil this fantastic camp.

Driver George and spotter Josiah were a joy to get to know and incredibly knowledgeable, also great fun. Would go back anytime." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 181
93%
181 reviews of Kwara Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
124
51
3
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa