This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kwara
Little Kwara
Little Kwara

Reviews of Little Kwara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

177 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kwara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kwara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 177
Duration
Arrival date
Nick & Kate
London

"Overrated - has seen better days"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"The following comments in no way reflect on our delightful and excellent guide, Jacob, who deserved a better posting than this tired and run-down lodge.

Our reception on arrival was cursory to say the least, and the temporary relief manager could hardly muster any enthusiasm. Despite arriving at 12.30 pm, no food was offered to us and there was a reluctance to provide any, as the service had finished at noon. Our room had clearly seen better days, with insect screens stapled together, often leaving gaping holes, and the furnishings had clearly not been updated since the camp was first opened. The rooms were suffocatingly hot, even with a fan on full speed (one guest recorded a 100 degree temperature in his room in the afternoon).

There are many old-fashioned touches, such as not washing underwear and serving instant coffee, whereas other camps have upped their game. There was no hot tea offered (it was provided when we asked, as we had to do every single day). Staff were not present a lot of the time, and in consequence baboons ran riot all through the communal dining area. At one point two baboons ripped apart some tin cans to suck out the sweet juice, and then deposited the sharp debris by the swimming pool. No member of staff cleared it up. When some baboons threw some lamps on the floor, staff members came out to see what the noise was, and then retreated without clearing up the mess.

Unusually, there were 11 guests rather than 10, but still only 10 seats were put out for breakfast and drinks round the boma, meaning one guest always had to stand. The management was simply not on the case. The communal sitting area was tired, and so badly disposed that there were only three seats not in the sun in the afternoon. It was configured in such a way that two seats had their backs to the rest of the seating so guests could not congregate properly. There were two huge sofa-seats, where you could not sit with your back upright and your feet on the floor. The cane furniture had seen better days.

Another Expert Africa guest had made similar criticisms about the tired nature of this camp a few years ago and his comments had led to the reply that the camp was expecting an imminent upgrade. No such upgrade is evident. Overall, this was a camp which was resting on its laurels (it still seemed to attract guests), was tired and run down, with management and staff making very little effort. It has been surpassed in many respects by its competitors who are constantly seeking ways to improve and enhance the tourist experience.

We would not recommend staying here." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Ms H & Mr S
CA

"Great camp, highly recommend"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"The experience at Little Kwara was wonderful, top to bottom. Our guide, Charles, was maybe the best we ever had.

We started a game with our friends to see if one of us could come up with a question that he couldn't answer. We didn't. The tracker, Chairman, was very good and they worked well together. The staff was so warm and friendly and they seemed like family to each other. Charles is also the manager, along with Okie. I can't thank them enough for taking such good care of us and making us feel so welcome. The staff even sings together a cappella and what wonderful voices they have.

Animal viewing was amazing. Baboons and vervet monkeys playing trampoline and slide on the tent roofs, leopards, lions, lots of dogs, hippos, kudu, warthogs, and night sightings of serval, African wild cat, and civit. many giraffe, tsessebe, impala, red lechwe, I could go on and on. Wonderful cruise to Bird Island at just before sunset framed by a flock of about 200 flamingos.
I would have liked to stay longer, and I will definitely go back.

We stayed at three Kwando camps on this trip. I was struck by how the warmth and genuine friendliness made me forget how seamlessly and professionally the camps were run. The staff at all camps made sure that the guests were given the best possible safari experiences. I really appreciated that if the night game viewing was good, we'd stay out to watch, not scurry back to the camp at a specified dinner time. It was obviously worked into the management plan that this would make the guests happy.

I would highly recommend staying at Kwando camps." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Isle of Man

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"Little Kwara was a lovely, small camp with excellent guiding and a great location.

We had good lion, leopard and cheetah sightings but the highlight was an evening on the boat cruising along the river. The journey took us to a breeding colony of various birds - Maribou storks, yellow-billed storks, a pelican, open-billed storks, African darters, black and white egrets.

The list was huge, all coming and going, building nests and feeding chicks which had already hatched - in the late evening light before sunset - pure magic." See all these reviews: 9n in Malawi; 4n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms N
California

"Great experience at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"We loved Little Kwara. The location is exceptional and in a beautiful part of the Delta. We loved our guide, Tom, he was amazing. He's very knowledgeable and has a great sense of humor. He made our time at Little Kwara very special.

We also loved the manager, Charles. He goes above and beyond for his guests.

Little Kwara is 5 stars!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Heathfield

"Beautiful location at Little Kwara"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"Little Kwara is in a beautiful setting in the heart of the Okavango Delta. The rooms are lovely - very spacious with outdoor space for sitting to enjoy the view (although watch out for the baboons, who are very troublesome and can land next to you unexpectedly!)

Most of the staff are helpful but to be honest, we didn't feel they went 'the extra mile', as we had experienced at other places where we have stayed and a couple of them were a bit surly. We were disappointed that our trip in a canoe was shortened because the two other guests with us had to get back early for their flight. Our guide did take us on a river trip in the motor boat in the afternoon to make up for this, but the canoe trip was one thing we were really looking forward to and it was not possible to go out in the canoe again.

Nevertheless, we did enjoy our time in the Okavango Delta, which is a very special environment." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A
Fulham

"Amazing Lodge at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2017
"Wonderful location, great game viewing and incredibly hospitable and kind staff. We'd highly recommend Little Kwara." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Calgary

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2017
"The game viewing was good , the guides were great and responded to requests. The only negative thing i can think of is the charging bank - the power bars were old and many outlets did not work. A few $ solves that problem.
The need for a guide to move after dark is annoying but i understand the necessity. There is no problem getting to ones room but getting back to the common area is difficult. Suggesting some cheap walkitalkies would allow summoning of someone when at ones room which would make it feel less like a jail after dark. There" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr W
Altrincham

"Feels a bit remote - but nice"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"Only problem was coordination of our pick up at the arrival. Other then that it was very nice. Game viewing - excellent. Guides - very good. Service and attitude of management -excellent. The place feels a bit remote - but that may just be my feeling. All in all a nice place and a vey pleasant stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
EB
France

"Stunning location & wildlife"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2017
"This lodge is in a stunning location on a marsh, surrounded by stretches of open grassland dotted with waterholes and islands of trees. The lodge itself is lovely, with an open lounge area overlooking the marsh, big spacious rooms with huge beds, tastefully decorated in wood, each one quite private and surrounded by vegetation. But more than the amazing accommodation, I most appreciated the contact with the Batswana people running and working at the lodge.

As there are only a few rooms, there is a very exclusive feel with only a handful of guests staying there, maximising contact with the staff and guides. In the evening, eating dinner with the camp manager and guides was very interesting, giving us insights into their experiences and lives that we really valued.

The wildlife at this lodge is dense and amazing, with the guides going off road at any sign of something interesting.

Our guide Jacob very proactively searched for lions, leopards, cheetahs, giving us many exciting moments!" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K
Oakland

"Amazing!"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2017
"We had such a great time at Little Kwara.

The staff, guide, wildlife spotting, and the camp itself were all incredible.

I could not ask for more." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 177
93%
177 reviews of Little Kwara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
131
34
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa