This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp

Reviews of Shinde Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shinde Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shinde Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

50% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Wildebeest

71% success

Buffalo

43% success

Roan antelope

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2013
"another excellent camp but views were not as good as okuti. food excellent as the same menu as okuti. room was excellent . activities were very good with more choice. the mokoro trip was a special treat. managers were not in the same league as okuti but still very helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A
Derbyshire

"A good experience at Shinde"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2013
"We enjoyed Shinde. The accommodation was very comfortable with all our needs catered for. We particularly enjoyed being brought an early morning cup of tea. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was also good.

We found the landscape very appealing with expanses of open grassland and the view from our tent was great.

The first day we arrived we were taken out on a motorized boat. We were accompanied by one guide. The guide took us into a very shallow area and the propeller became entangled with weeds and clogged up with thick mud, the motor very quickly overheated with the frantic efforts of the guide to try and disentangle us. This went on for a considerable amount of time, we even had our sundowner whilst waiting for the engine to cool! Eventually we suggested that the guide ought to radio in and let the camp know where we were situated, I felt very vulnerable and was thankful no hippos or crocs appeared as we would have been sitting ducks. We did actually manage to limp home but the engine was damaged and it wasn't an experience that I'd care to repeat.

In saying that we did have some amazing game experiences at Shinde. The best of which involved a leopardess, who posed quite regally for us in a tree for a considerable length of time enabling us to get some great shots.

I think in conclusion we overall enjoyed our time at Shinde, every camp we stayed at had something amazing to offer. The vehicles used by Kwando seemed superior to those used by Ker and Downy. Kwando Jeeps had 3 sets of seat and 2 people could sit together whereas K and D,s vehicles only had 2 sets which meant 3 people sharing. The Kwando vehicles also had a longer wheelbase and therefore were nothing like as bumpy as K and D's.

At Shinde, as noted by the above experience on water where only one guide accompanied us, it also applied in the jeep with one guide and no tracker. At Kwara we always had a guide and a tracker both in the vehicle and on the motorized boat. This felt a much more satisfactory and safer arrangement!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Lincolnshire

"Unforgettable experience at Shinde Camp!"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2013
"Shinde was our third camp during our stay in Botswana. Before getting there we were a bit concerned that since Shinde is a sister camp of Kanane (where we had staid the previous two nights) they would be too similar and we would have not gained much from moving there. How wrong we were! Despite being sister camps and both being on the Okavango delta the experience was completely different. Although we liked Kanane a lot, we definitively fell in love with Shinde! The fact that we were given the Honeymoon hut could have helped a bit (out trip to Botswana was a present to ourselves to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and since the anniversary date fell in the middle of our stay in Shinde, we had been given one of the best huts in the camp) but in any case we loved our experience at Shinde.

First of all the managers Gabs and Mhpo and all the staff were very kind and extremely attentive to all their guests. Our guide Bee has been great and I shall never forget such a beautiful person. He not only was very knowledgeable like all the other guides that we have met but he has been able to transmit to us his love and his respect for nature. We have learnt so much not just about wild life and the flora, but also about each other's culture. At the end of the three days the two of us, Bee and another two ladies who were in our group had bonded so well that we felt like we had known one other for years. On our second day at Shinde we went out on a relaxing boat trip in the afternoon. It was lovely to see the sun disappearing at the horizon from the boat , while enjoying a drink. Back at the camp we found a lovely card and bottle of champagne waiting for us in the hut, courtesy of the managers Gabs and Mhpo who, together with the rest of the staff wanted to wish us happy anniversary. How thoughtful of them!

After having seen big groups of giraffes, wildebeests, warthogs, zebras, tsessebes, monkeys, baboons, impalas, lechwes, elephants, crocodiles, hippos, hyenas, honey badgers and many other wild animals (as well as many beautiful birds), on the morning of our third day Bee has managed to track a magnificent lion with his lioness. Spotting them amongst the high grass and following them while they were moving around was so emotional! In the afternoon we also saw a female leopard on a tree and that as well was amazing. We followed her while she came down the tree ready to hunt and even if we have not seen her catching her prey (despite we patiently waited while she was moving slowly crouching in the grass) again it was an exciting experience.

Then, towards the end of the day we met the lion and the lioness again but this time he had to compete with another three majestic males! Words cannot describe our emotion while we witnessed four adult lions fighting for a lioness, which in the end decided that none of them was good enough for her and left them empty ended... What a story!! It must have been a magic day as while we were driving back to the camp we also saw a red moon rising in the dark sky. Last but not least the food was amazing and we particularly liked the traditional meal that they cooked for us one of the evenings.

Our stay at Shinde was first class and we could not have asked for more!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mr R
London

"Shinde, more wildlife close encounters"

3 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2013
"Our final camp (of 3) in the delta and in some ways the best. As we had become by now accustomed, a short game drive from airstrip to camp with our new guide for whom, as in the previous camps nothing was too much trouble. Shinde camp is only a short drive from the airstrip but is perhaps the best located for wildlife viewing of the 3 we visited, there being small salt pans very close by the camp holding a good variety of birds including wattled cranes, and animals including crocodiles.

Once again the camp staff were all very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. A free self-service bar in the raised lounge was available with views across an expanse of grassland to keep us interested even while relaxing there. The dining area is raised at least 3 metres above the ground and surrounded by trees, a lovely spot too. The tents are as always well appointed and well equipped.

Having been in camp less than 30 minutes I was lucky enough to be walking along the path back to our tent when a small black mamba crossed about 5 metres ahead of me, very exciting. Further close encounters while out on drives were many at Kanana and included leopards, lions, hyenas, Cape wild dogs and a solitary cheetah.

Walking safaris, fishing and game drives kept us busy and happy for our 3 days at this camp with possibly more species of both animals and birds than at either of our other camps. The great service from the lovely staff made this another splendid experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & family
Sussex

"Shinde Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2012
"We spent Christmas at Shinde Camp and loved our time here. Overall this was probably the best camp we stayed at in Botswana.

The camp itself is beautifully set among trees - at night the lights look spectacular. The communal areas are very well designed, and the rooms are very comfortable. Note though that not all have views, because of the trees (we asked to move to one which did). Food was always excellent.

The highlight of Shinde for us was the game viewing, which was the best we experienced. Our guide was extremely impressive - probably the best we have had anywhere in Africa - and we were able to track a pride of lion through the concession at night, and see a leopard with a recent kill. Much of this is down to luck, but the staff at Shinde will find game if it's out there! We certainly didn't think that the lack of a tracker was any handicap. The heronry at Shinde has recently been destroyed by elephants so it may be disappointing if that's a particular reason to visit, but the boat and mokoro activities on the water were great nevertheless - including seeing a sitatunga near the camp from a mokoro.

Overall excellent. But we thought that a couple of days at Shinde was probably enough, and were glad that we had planned to see another concession (at Kanana) afterwards rather than spend more time there." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Leopards at Shinde"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2012
"There was not a lot of game in total - possibly because of the time of year. However, we had a wonderful first afternoon, with 4 leopards - we got 3 in one photograph.

Tea/coffee would have been welcome on the morning drives.

Organisation a bit lackadaisical; we waited for over 30 minutes past the agreed time one night to be collected from our room." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr S & Ms M
Banstead

"The best camp we stayed at."

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"Would have been excellent if we had seen more wildlife." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Margo
California

"Excellent camp on the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2012
"We had a lovely stay at Shinde, our last camp in the Delta. We were there for 3 nights, and participated in a number of game drives as well as water activities. The food and service was excellent, with great hospitality and terrific staff. We also had some excellent wildlife sightings, including two leopard cubs who were playing with each other while waiting for mom to return.

Like at Okuti, dinner was communal at a large table, with guides and management staff joining guests and food served family style. No one goes hungry at these camps, since there are three meals a day, tea, and several snack breaks on top of those! Plus cookies in the room!

Since Shinde is on a private reserve, we were able to be out after dark and also go off road, which allows guests to see the animals from closer up. We didn't see as much wildlife at Shinde as at our other camps, but that was just due to the luck of the draw and not the camp itself." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Bucks

"best of them all"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2012
"This is a lovely camp. It is not overly forced and formal but service is good. Management is very genuine and not remotely pretentious. Genuinely enthusiastic and no sign of tourist fatigue (well done!!!).

Safaris good when leopards were around but otherwise were, quite frankly, boring. Going fishing was great as we had not done this before. Very patient and helpful guide (cannot remember his name now...an older man with rheumy eyes) with an obvious lifetime of delta experience.

Mokoro here was excellent, plenty of time to enjoy the peace and quiet!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Ms C
Montana

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2012
"nice facility. liked the tent style accommodations. don't be concerned, the tents weathered a rain storm we experienced just fine. trade-off, somewhat confining, couldn't move outside after dark because camp is open to wild animals but you are surrounded by nature. not problem since by the time dinner is over in the evening, you are ready to retire.

like the fact the camp is trying to reduce water bottle waste by furnishing plenty of treated water. would encourage the owners to expand conservation efforts, reduce laundry, reduce room cleaning. believe that doing so would not reduce quality of rooms or service.

the game drives were good. seemed more natural than the ones in Kruger. did not see lions or leopards. the mokoro trip was good." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 88
93%
88 reviews of Shinde Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
22
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


94% (39 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


94% (7 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa