This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zebra River Lodge
Zebra River Lodge

Reviews of Zebra River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

94 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zebra River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Zebra River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 94
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"a very special place in the mountains"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2015
"We were the only guests which meant we got a lot of care and attention. The owners were very friendly without crowding us out - they havda lot to do with their plans to develop the Lodge. Our aim was to have some time in the mountains walking. We did do this although the walks are not quite as easy as you might think: there are some waymarks on this private land but with hand drawn maps it can get tricky.

The long awaited rains were starting so one day we got rained off from the mountains but overall it was a great experience and the landscape is stunning, fantastic birds but relatively limited wildlife, lots of baboons in the rocks above you as you walk and we did see a few zebra. It is off the beaten track but ideal if you want a few days of relative solitude.

The geology is interesting and provides another reason to walk." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs E
Surrey

"A great place to get away from it all!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"This is a great lodge in a wonderful setting with beautiful views and some great walks from the lodge. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable.

Many fellow-travellers we met missed the Naukluft Mountains area but for us, it was a highlight of our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs S
Hants.

"Zebra River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"Sadly the worst lodge of our trip. Had a slightly run down air about it and although welcomed by the pleasant staff our feeling was it was not well run. It transpired that the owners were away as was the only guide. The lady who was standing in for the owners was charming and did what she could to make us feel at home. However on our last evening a coach arrived of self catering guests with us as the only other guests which was not very pleasant. They also left at 5am which disturbed our sleep

There was little in the way of organised activities which was ok for us we did 2 walks on the day we were there but there was no guiding as advertised as the guide was away. Our short sundowner drive was with the maintenance man.

Our very dirty car was cleaned for us for which we were very grateful" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Loved Zebra River Lodge. Did two walks on our own from the Lodge. Did the second walk at dawn when we realised how hot it was for the first walk.

Lovely room in beautiful location. A fantastic introduction to Namibia. One of the best sundowners of the holiday. It was lovely when the staff came and sang beautifully to us at the end of the meal." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & family
UK

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2013
"Beautiful scenery , we loved the complete isolation and solitude . Stars were amazing at night. Probably one of our favourite locations we stayed at .

We thought it could easily have more activities for families ie horse riding and bike paths . Food was superb . We would go back here easily if there was more to offer in this area and stay longer next time ." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"It was a pity that we used this lodge as simply an over-night stop to break up a long journey. It was really good and deserved a longer stay. However, I would suggest that you consider this lodge for it's own sake and not a base for visiting Sossusvlei - the road to Sossusvlei is not so good and it's at least 1.5 hours drive each way.

The lodge is in its own canyon, is very remote and a perfect base for walks and hikes, or just relaxing by the pool (with the tame springbok)" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs F
Canada

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"This lodge is in a lovely location, although quite a way off the main road. The stone cottages are charming and blend well into the landscape. This was our first night in the Namibian countryside and we were thrilled to be woken at midnight by zebras munching on the grass outside our cottage.

Our only activities were a short walk on our own and a sundown drive, which was pretty but didn't provide good value for the cost (short, no animals). The lodge owners were away; they may have been able to suggest other activities." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Louis, the owner, and his wife Geraldine are wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The tours on foot and the sundowner drive were excellent. Louise was very informative and helped to identify any number of lovely birds.

The approach road is so improved, it is unrecognisable from the ordeal it once constituted many years ago. It is a great place to stay a few days." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms V family trip
UK

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"We loved the scenery and surroundings at Zebra River as well as the springbock and warthogs grazing on the front lawn.

It was very exciting to see animals (kudu and zebra) at the waterhole on our first night in the countryside. However, we weren't very keen on the food (too ambitious and overcomplicated) and the place is quite odd. There were very few visitors (us and one other couple) - and the place felt a bit abandoned. Our room was strange too - a stone house with a sort of baronial hall attached. It felt like a folly built for slightly inexplicable reasons - although the rooms were spacious and well appointed.

We booked a guided walk for the morning after our arrival - but there was some confusion and the guide announced over breakfast that he wouldn't take us. The owner then sorted this out - but the guide was monosyllabic on the walk and told us nothing. We loved the surroundings so were glad to have done a walk - and it later turned out the guide wasn't feeling well and hadn't eaten for three days - but no one mentioned this to us and the whole episode felt rather mismanaged." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Chester

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2013
"This was the most rustic experience and seeing the warthog eating the grass around the swimming pool made our day. The owner and the staff were lovely, the staff provided us with entertainment on the last evening they had formed a choir and sang traditional songs after dinner.

We went on a guided walk , unfortunately the walk was too much and the guide was unaware of our capabilities. We think the guide had recently been trained and he did not tailor the pace to suit ( Matthew kept up with him but w were unable to do so). We feel he could do with more training." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 94
91%
94 reviews of Zebra River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
23
6
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa