This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions

Reviews of Kichaka Expeditions

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kichaka Expeditions and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kichaka Expeditions.
Lion

71% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

17% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Eland

71% success

Roan antelope

57% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
California

"Kichaka Expeditions review"

5 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2020
"Just superb.....Noelle and Moli run a 1st class operation and they are so much fun. We will go back and visit again.
Moli is superb to hike with...omg :)

Noelle serves the best food you can imagine!!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Striped Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Jo
Cambridge

"Kichaka Expeditions review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2020
"Kichaka is in a fantastic location but sadly we went at a terrible time ... the heavens opened, getting there was hard, and getting back to the airstrip was an adventure in itself.

Moli is a great character and really fun to spend time with. He is a fountain of knowledge on so many different subjects, and despite not seeing much on walks he made them fun and interesting. I feel terrible putting the activities as average as I think this was purely down to weather which is obviously beyond anyones control. We desperately wanted to walk with elephants but sadly there were none to be seen. Feet were permanently wet from walking through effectively swamp.

We got to know his team pretty well and had a lot of fun with them helping to repair roads etc .. they were great and remained upbeat at all times. Game viewing was sadly limited and I suspect this was purely down to the weather.

Moli moved mountains to get us back to the airstrip which at one point looked like an impossible task, with roads washed away, we are very grateful to him for all his efforts. I suspect this would be a fantastic experience in dry season, but we still certainly had a real adventure there, and was very different to any other experience we have had in Africa !" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Wow! A truly Special Place"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"Our whole trip had been planned around being able to go to Kichaka and we were very much looking forward to it. I needn't have been worrying that my expectations might have been too high! It really is somewhere very special and it is perhaps appreciated more and more as I think back on our three days spent there.

As it happened we were the only guests staying for our entire visit. While it might have been nice to meet other people it actually made our stay all the more special. We never saw another visitor or vehicle during our stay which brought home the remoteness of the place.

I had read much of Moli and his talent as a guide on walking safaris. You really need to be with him to appreciate just how inspirational he is. He dealt very well with the potential walking difficulties of my husband. We always felt safe with Moli and David the Park ranger even when we were fairly close to elephants and cape buffalo. Moli has a way of making everything he talks about so interesting and has a very wide knowledge of animals, plants, ecology, ethics and ecosystems. An interesting person to spend time with. We learned so much on our walks with Moli and am sure will remember this experience for ever.

Sam was our guide for our drives. He is a very special young man who looked after us very well, showed us many animals and plants, and gave us lots of interesting information.

Our tent at Kichaka was just so lovely. Luxurious touches without detracting from the feeling of being very much with nature. A difficult combination to achieve. I just loved the bucket shower and drop toilet.

The food at Kichaka was without exception extremely good. However the highlight at meal times was having the company of Moli, Noelle and Jaques. We had such great conversations and fun.

All of the staff at camp were wonderful. Friendly and very good at whatever role they played.

As you will have gathered we loved being at Kichaka and feel privileged to have had the experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Lisa & hubs
Nashville

"Walking safaris are the best!"

5 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"We are very physically active people and so thoroughly enjoyed all the walking on these safaris. We were thrilled to be able to wear shorts and short sleeved tops while we walked (since it was the dry season, there are minimal insects). A few superficial scratches after pushing through bushes or river grass were not bothersome.

We loved getting to know interesting details about animals and plants, and seeing things "up close and personal". You definitely can get closer to animals in a vehicle (they don't perceive you as people in that big, square thing that stays on the road), but it was thrilling to "sneak up" on a herd of elephants, being downwind and not talking.

Moli and Noelle have created a true oasis in the bush, and accommodations are first rate! They seem to truly enjoy hosting people in their slice of paradise, and regaling them with hilarious stories. Their staff are second to none, and food and drinks were delicious. The beds are truly enormous and comfortable, and the entire camp is spotlessly clean.

We spent 2 days at fly camp, most of the time with Jacques, and enjoyed it immensely. He was tireless in giving me photography tips and helped me get some wonderful pictures of the night sky and the Milky Way.

We don't usually repeat trip destinations (the world's just too big!), but we're already planning to return in wet season to revel in the differences, and spend time in this beautiful area with super people. This was definitely our favorite camp of the 4 we stayed on this trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Kichaka is smply the BEST!"

5 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"If you want to experience an African safari like it should be, then Kichaka is the place! The simple, yet luxurious main camp is located in a remote part of Ruaha, on a ridge with a fantastic view of the Ruaha River below. The fly camp is located a ways away on the banks of the Ruaha itself. Wildlife in the area is plentiful and diverse, and just wild enough to let you know that human visitation is not that frequent. In fact in our 5 night stay we did not see a single other visitor!

Our daily walks with Owner/Guide Moli were fantastic. We had close encounters with herds of elephants, and saw lots of other wildlife and birds. But what made the walks special was learning so much from Moli about what we were seeing. From elephants to ants, Moli is a walking encyclopedia of the African wilderness, and shares his knowledge so effortlessly!

Camp hostess Noelle made us feel right at home, and dinner was always an opportunity to share conversation about the day and past experiences in a pleasant atmosphere. Meals were excellent. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful too. Although most of our walking and game drive time was spent with Moli, Jacques, the camp's other guide was also extremely personable and very knowledgeable about the area's wildlife and birds.

We have been on 4 trips to Africa, and stayed at quite a few camps, almost all of them excellent. But Kichaka was simply the best experience that we have had." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr D
Devon

"Adventures with Kichaka"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"Our family group of 6 had 3 nights at the Kichaka main camp and 1 night fly-camping, though the latter title rather under plays the standard of service and comfort that Moli, Noelle and their team provided. The main camp is on a ridge with breathtaking views out over the bush. Very comfortable facilities, delicious food and excellent hospitality; Noelle and her staff provide a well run camp as a base for the safari adventures.

The walks with Moli were a wonderful experience; his enthusiasm, passion and knowledge were inspiring. Within 2 hours of setting off on our first morning walk we were following a pair of young bull elephants. This ended with our group observing one of the elephants at a distance of about 15 metres. A memorable experience for us all, particularly for the "safari novice" in our group who was 2 hours into her first safari. On another occasion we followed Moli's instruction - boots and socks off - and waded into the river to watch 3 elephants coming into the river to drink and then wander across to the other bank. Magical moments standing on a sandbank mid-stream as the elephants drank and then walked across in front of us, all with the backdrop of the cries of fish-eagles. The walks were not just about elephants, though they are Moli's great passion, there were many other wonderful experiences - sightings of other game, the scenery, the birds and their calls, the smells as we walked through wild sage. It is a complete immersion in the African bush.

Moli's careful guiding and skilful reading of situations meant that we always felt that we were in safe hands. He was ably assisted by the Park Ranger who accompanied us on all our walks.

The night fly-camping was at a beautiful location on the banks of the river. The standard of service and food remained outstanding even though we were "fly-camping".

The pattern of activities over the 3 full days we were with Kichaka was a walk in the morning (a certain level of fitness is required to be able to enjoy this), lunch followed by a rest and then another walk or a game drive in a vehicle in the late afternoon. Kichaka operates in a part of Ruaha that is well away from other camps and so there is a real sense of remoteness in the experience. The whole adventure with Moli, Noelle and their staff was fantastic." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Grantham

"Superlative - an experience of a lifetime"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"Kichaka is definitely not for everyone, but boy, did we enjoy every moment. The camp is situated high up and overlooks the river - which I found amazingly peaceful.

The focus here is not on physical luxury and enormous amounts of food - although the tents are more than adequate (beats most of the brick and mortar four wall bed and breakfasts I've stayed in), the bucket showers were nice and warm and we never did 'run dry' during a shower even when washing long hair and we definitely didn't go hungry. In fact, it was rather nice to have simpler food after a week of quite elaborate food.

The jewel in the crown, however, is the time spent bush walking. It was amazing, even in such heat and Moli is a master at making sure you are never in the sun for too long before he stops under some amazing tree and hypnotises you all with fabulous tales - ask about the termites - it should be a TED talk!

Obviously, to cope with the walking you need to be mobile and, especially if you are not very tall like me, able to do a little bit of clambering but the pace is not fast. In addition to animals, Moli finds shade and ensures you drink plenty of water. Top tip - if you get hayfever make sure you have antihistamines if you are visiting when the grasses are tall and pollen around.

The guiding here is on a completely different level and I could not begin to compare it with anything else I've encountered in my previous six trips to Tanzania. If you like being out in the bush, visit this camp." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Mr S
USA

"Kichaka Expeditions review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2017
"This is the ideal standard for a camp. The location, the level of service, the level of luxury, absolutely everything is perfect to a T. Moli and Noelle have really put together something terrific. I will always use this camp as the standard for future safaris -- if I can even bring myself to go anywhere else!

Moli is a guide unmatched by anyone else. His passion, depth of knowledge, sense of humor, and story-telling abilities made every venture a remarkable experience. It broke my heart to have to leave, and I joke to my husband that if we ever win the lottery, we are going to book six months at Kichaka.

His staff are friendly and attentive. The food is divine. The rooms, though they are just tents, are supremely luxurious with an incomparable view. He has the perfect location. I thought that being in an area where animals are not so habituated to animals would affect our viewing experience, but it actually heightened the experience when we did see game. To experience a wilderness so untouched by man is moving. And yet, we had absolutely no wants, as it was still a luxurious place to be. It's pretty cool how far they have to go to get supplies, but somehow it all works out.

Even two weeks after getting back, I can't stop thinking about that place." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms I
Oakland

"Mindblowing times in the middle of nowhere"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"This is the most amazing place we have ever stayed. The luxury, beauty, excellent service, and great food at the lodge contrasted bizarrely and yet wonderfully with the complete isolation and unparalleled access to truly wild land. We have no idea what miracles Noelle works to make this happen when she is a nine hour drive from the nearest store, but we appreciated the results!

We had expected fantastic hikes in the bush with very knowledgeable guides, but even our very high expectations were exceeded. Moli and Jacques were extremely informative and clear, and the combination of drives and hikes gave us a broader and deeper understanding of Ruaha than we could possibly have achieved in a more centrally located camp.

We especially appreciated Jacques' authenticity and deep passion for the bush -- and his delicious gin and tonics!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
London

"Kichaka Expeditons August 2017"

7 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2017
"Surely one of the greatest (if not the greatest) trip we have done to date. Kichaka is all and more what we were expecting it to be, and our expectations were high. Moli is indeed the best guide I have ever had the pleasure to meet, combining unmatched practical experience, deep scientific knowledge, great presentation skills and most engaging personality. Noelle was also a very charming and helpful host and a joy to be with. We had also the opportunity to spend a couple of days with Jacques as a guide and host at the fly camp, and he too was truly great both as a guide and a travelling companion.

Ruaha is a great place where to see wildlife and live the bush, teaming with wildlife but with very few people (and basically no one else in the Kichaka area). We manage to see many lions, leopard, buffalos and (hundeds of) elephants...both whilst walking and from the car, but we also had wild dogs, hyenas, roan antelopes ....and both greater and lesser kudus on a daily basis.

We tend not to go back to places we have already visited, but we will certainly make an exception for Ruaha and Kichaka Expeditions" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 23
98%
23 reviews of Kichaka Expeditions by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa