This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

186 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 151-160 of 186
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Bath

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"Guiding is excellent and front of house staff very helpful. Choice of activities excellent. Can be tiring trying to do everything on offer - but just say no to one of the three activities on offer!

Both this camp and their bush camp are well suited to keen photographers - sturdy bean bags are provided in every vehicle as well as dust covers for cameras. Guildes are experienced in positiong vehicles for the best views. Vehicles are not overloaded with guests and so it is easy to take photographic equipement with you on the drives. Well worth staying in both camps." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Hides at Kaingo Camp"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"A very friendly and relaxed atmosphere to the start of our holiday. The hides were fantastic getting close to the hippos made it possible both to film and photograph them at close quarters but to also observe them in a safe position.

The Carmine Bee Eaters were brilliant in colour, sound and activity, and not an experience that will be forgotten easily. Thank you to Derek and Jules and all the staff for the food, the service and the administration.

The game drives and guides were exceptional, each day provided more and more spectacular events ending with four lions confronting a hippo over the use of a tiny pool, (why lions would want to drink hippos bath water we've no idea).
" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Beds

"Great for Hippo,Carmines,Lion and Eles"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2009
"Kaingo had some fabulous facilities, both the Hippo hide and the Carmine Bee Eater hIde experience were very special. We also had great Lion and Elephant views/photo opportunities. Food was delightful and the accomodation and service fine.
Experience was spoiled somewhat by having to go on a game drive with Alison (the camp manager) one night instead of Derek Shelton (he had a cold) and not having one guide for our stay at the camp, we had 3 separate guides for the other drives.
We did eventually see a Leopard on the last drive, light not good enough for photos." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"hippo heaven"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2009
"the hippo and bee eater hides were brilliant. the camp was simple but comfortable. the biggest drawback of our time there was that in 3 days we had 4 different guides. they did work hard to get us our leopard and we finally got a brief view in the twilight on our last drive.

we appreciated the bush brunch- a nice surprise. overall we didn't feel entirely happy at laingo and that was probably due to the disruption of having so many different guides" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Lymington

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2009
"All aspects of the camp were first rate. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, very professionally run.

Tom as camp manager particularly good.

Guides and scouts all excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr R
Birmingham

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"Excellent guiding from Freya
Very good game sightings, especially lion. We also saw 2 leopard in 4 days and wild dog! Big herd 800-1000 Buffalo around
Excellent accomodation
Food very good but excessive! Breakfast in the Ebony grove was another highlight
As advertised, staff and vehicles well equipped for photography eg bean bags
Many thanks to Derek for opening up the carmine bee eater hide whilst we were there" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Surrey

"Kaingo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"Very good welcome from Derek Shenton (ferried across the river). Camp was full and there wasn't quite such a personal touch as at Tafika (we were probably spoilt)

Night drives were slightly disappointing, with less seen than at Tafika. Good drives during the day. Hippo hide was particularly good.

Rooms were comfortable and clean" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Nature red in tooth and claw"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2009
"The fun started soon after we left Mfuwe with an elephant very close. However, the highlight of our stay at Kaingo was the epic struggle between two young lions and a buffalo, which we watched for most of the day until too dark to see. Very gory but very exciting (the buffalo lost). The proximity of elephants in camp also made for excitement - "meals on wheels" at dinnertime one night because the elephants were between the kitchen and the dining-room. Unfortunately we were among the 5% who didn't see a leopard (but we don't do long night drives).

Patrick is an excellent guide, both driving and walking, ably assisted by Labin and Ben, and Alison did an excellent drive with Anne. The hippo hide is a wonderful photo opportunity.

Meals were a bit on the "heavy" side. The 3 hour drive from Mfuwe to camp would have been improved if we'd had more than cold drinks and a biscuit half-way - we'd all had a very early start (2 of us from London) with little or no breakfast.

A stop at Tribal Textiles on the way to or from Mfuwe is a "must".

" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mrs G
UK

"Kaingo - wonderful as always!"

4 nights Arrived 26 May 2009
"Chris & Lisa's comments -

Everyone at the camp was extremely friendly, and being the first guests of the season meant that we were treated like royalty. We felt like we had a private camp as we were the only guests!

Patrick was a superb guide, knowledgeable, enthusiastic & friendly with a great sense of humour, we were lucky enough to have him to ourselves for the whole time we were here as he moved with us to Mwamba.

This was the second visit to Kaingo for two of us and we were not disappointed, the camp was as wonderful as we had remembered.We were treated to special dinners on the deck & a surprise bush breakfast in the Ebony grove. Such a treat! It was lovely that Derek & Jules were able to spend so much time with us in camp & great to meet Saphire (their 14 months old little girl) who was just a bump last time we were at Kaingo.

Sleeping overnight in the elephant hide (20 feet up a tree) was an unforgettable experience for us and we highly recommend it to others. We very much enjoyed the optional midday activity, sitting in the hippo hide or just under a shady tree.
The food as with our previous visit was plentiful! Delicious meals & fabulous bread & cakes baked fresh every day. You will never go hungry here!

We hope to return to Luangwa & will certainly be staying here again!

John & Uschi's comments -

Chris and Lisa said it all. It was absolutely fantastic! Everything. Patrick was the best guide we have ever had on our many trips to Africa. Not only did he know everything, he was also full of stories and lovely to be with.

Everybody at Kaingo was extremely friendly. After John had his breakdown, they looked after him (and me) so well. We were very grateful. We are full of wonderful memories. Writing this down brings it all back, the smells, the great food, this wonderful bush feeling, and above all, the friendliness. We would love to come back!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Lincolnshire

"Kaingo Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"Wonderful camp for the serious photographer with well sited hides and dust covers etc. Accommodation was a little rustic but all the better for this.

Excellent guides and 3 activities during the day keeping you busy. My only monor complaint is that they seriously over-feed you - there seemed to be food coming from all directions all the time.

Great position on the river. All in all an excellent experience" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 151-160 of 186
96%
186 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
159
23
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa