This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali
Nkwali

Reviews of Nkwali

Wildlife sightings and reviews

203 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkwali and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Apr-2018, 31 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkwali.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

90% success

Wild dog

63% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

97% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

97% success

Buffalo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

79% success

Wildebeest

23% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Sable antelope

4% success

Aardvark

4% success

Eland

4% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 171-180 of 203
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
New York

"Unbelievable Time at Nkwali"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Our entire safari experience has to go down as our most memorable vacation ever. We were impressed with every aspect of our experience here and at Tena Tena, including the knowledge and training of the guides, the quality of the meals (not to mention the charming 'snacks' offered while in the park), the individualized attention we received, and the very real commitment to make sure that each of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
H family
Cheshire

"Our favourite place of the whole trip, Nkwali"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"South Luangwa Game reserve and Robin Pope Safaris in particular formed the best part of our 3 week trip to Africa. Loads of game and fabulous birds. Incredible accomodation and wonderful people.

We were privileged to have Kanga as our guide for our whole stay. He is amazingly well informed, friendly, and good with children. He is part of a great team of Guides at Nkwali who make you feel safe yet "out there!" We felt that our stay focused on us and our needs: Our jeep drives were changed to suit our interests and the night drives which proved too scary for the 10 year old were cut out. This involved changing meal times for us which also was done without difficulty.

Melissa the camp manageress was fabulous, we felt well informed and looked after. She handled last minute flight changes without turning a hair!

Jo Pope has great taste and organisational skills and these are reflected in the decor, shop gifts, and meals -no-one has a repeat menu whilst with their safaris!

The abiding memory was the impressively strong role models that the Zambian guides provided and the sense of community within the camp, based on mutual trust. The need for trust cannot be overstated for visitors, completely out of their comfort zones. Robin Pope Safaris understand this and enable you to form good working relationships with their exceptional staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Northumber

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2009
"Good welcome at Mfuwe airport and transfer to camp. Accomodation excellent. Food excellent.

Melissa and team very friendly and looked after us very well. Good wildlife viewing." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Poole

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"Although this was our first Safari and first visit to the Continent of Africa, the trip lived up to all our expectations." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 5 May 2009
"This was our fourth visit and we enjoyed some wonderful wildlife again. In one 24 hour period we saw a Leopard hunting in daylight (unsuccessfully), had wine on the river watching the sun go down, a pride of lions at night and a pack of wild dogs the following morning. In between there was a barbeque in the bush under tha stars.

We might have been especially lucky on previous visits, but we wdidn't feel that we were made to feel as special this time. We were not asked by the camp if we wanted to go walking or on a boat trip although these were arranged when we asked. There was a large South African birding group in camp which seemed to take priority and the best guides. Ours was enthusiastic and helpful, but inexperienced.

Another very good experience, but not sure we'd go back to Nkwali. Even at this time of the year we came across a number of other vehicles (admittedly most from Nkwlai or the Robin Pope houses." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & family
Dorset

"Nkwali - fantastic"

6 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2009
"Everything about it was brilliant. Service was superb and extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble

The food was consistently excellent

Our guide - Sebastian - was very knowledgable and very helpful

Cannot recommend it too highly" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Hythe

"Nkwali review"

8 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2009
"Wild Dog week - on arrival there was confusion on who was leading the week activities (R Pope or WDC) and it took a couple of days to sort out what was happening as there was no initial greet and inform on the week. We had a fantastic time anyway but this is something that could be improved.

The WDC people were wonderful and the standard of guide at R Pope's was excellent based on our experience of Botswana including Kwando, Namibia and South Africa. We had 4 different guides with different personalities but all very good. R Pope's were extremely accomodating in trying to offer multiple activities for each taste when the wild dog were showing no sign of coming close to the area. 9 leopard in 8 days is pretty good and elephant shrew and white tailed mongoose a bonus, birding fantastic.

Transport across river novel and good for quick park access. Nice to be able to go by boat on the river. More game than we expected for emereld season and with the wild dog finally turing up, a whole day with them was a bonus that you wouldn't get on any other trip.

N'kwali is a lovely camp especially for emereld season. Good access, friendly and confident staff, excellent food without feeling force fed. We had to ration the cake intake!

Having said we wouldn't normally go to the same camp twice - we would with N'kwali." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Beckenham

"A Christmas to remember."

7 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2008
"We were lucky to be upgraded to Robin's House giving us the unexpected, but very welcome, luxury of our own bungalow complete with a dedicated team to look after us. We also had the benefit of game drives with just the two of us on board. The game viewing wasn't spectacular - as is often the case at this time of year - but our guide, Obi, ensured that there was always something of interest to see just around the next bend. Game viewing highlights included a pair of Pels Fishing Owls, spending time up close with elephants and their calves, and a male lion roaring from only 10m away!

Having the use of boats on our doorstep (literally) to get across the river, and into the park, added to the overall experience. Opportunities for walking were somewhat curtailed due to the muddy conditions underfoot, but we manged to get out twice during our 6 days there.

The carol concert, where all the safari lodges and their guests congregated under a nerby baobab tree, is a memory that will stay with us for many Christmas's to come So, too, was the excellent play performed by local drama group, Seca. This is the second time we've been to Nikwali, and we hope it won't be the last." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Lincolnshire

"Nkwali review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"Nkwali was a good camp run very professionally and there were many very good things about it. From its point of view it did suffer a little in comparison with the camps further north away from the busy main gate and it may have been better to do the camps in reverse order.

The guiding was good but some drives were extremely quiet and with the luck of the draw we saw no cats at all in the area. The time it took to get to the park could be a drawback but they did try and vary the routes as much as possible. In the event the drive to the main gate was the best wildlife option as the game was much more plentiful there than taking the nearer routes via the boat and the river crossing.

The guiding was good but not outstanding. I would also praise their willingness to allow us to make a particularly early start on two occasions so as to be on the bridge at the main gate before sunrise." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
R family
Scotland

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"After 3 days of being private at Luangwa Safari house it was a nice change to mix with other travellers and to swap stories. Met many interesting people over dinner. We carried on our game drives in the park with Joseph who was excellent and informative.

Camp was well run and accommodation very good. Although different from the safari house we really did enjoy our time here. A refreshing change. Boys got to try their hand at beating the drum for meal time. Pool again was a big plus to the boys. They loved it and was a great way for them to pass the down/quiet time. Could see the need for a English/Welsh hostess here - more staff and guests to coordinate. Done very effectively.

Different from the luxury of the previous 3 days but we loved this camp.

Another of the many highlights from this part of the trip was the morning we spent at the school and village sponsored by Robin Pope. We were privileged to get into the local school, Jonathan pumped water from the well, we chatted to the local nurse, we eat lunch prepared by a villager....a very humbling experience and a huge learning experience for the boys." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 171-180 of 203
96%
203 reviews of Nkwali by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
166
33
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa