This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena

Reviews of Tena Tena

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tena Tena and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tena Tena.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

29% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

95% success

Buffalo

95% success

Zebra

86% success

Eland

19% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Sable antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
St Helier

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2010
"Very friendly camp. Not quite as luxurious as Nkwali and missed fan!

I understand camp may be moving location shortly due to erosion." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Altringham

"couldn't be better"

5 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"All the staff were most helpful and Simon Pitt's guiding was outstanding. We were there for 5 nights and he set out to show us a hundred different birds and managed at least 110.

We like the fact that he is content to wait for events to unfold rather than rushing around and his patient approach to the animals allowed us to get very close. He also showed us many smaller things including plants which were very interesting. He took us on a morning bush walk and went at our slow pace and we were able to have a full day out with him iwhen he was able to show us parts of the Nsefu sector we have not seen before.

Animal viewing was excellent and varied, including honey badger and porcupine with good lion and marvellous leopard sightings. Lucy was an excellent hostess - attentive to detail and very friendly." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms G
London

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"Superb guiding, enthusiasm and attention to detail by Bertram in Simon's absence made the whole experience here, informative, enjoyable but above all fun.

Everyone in this camp seemed to work as a team and made us, the guests, feel part of that team" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2010
"Tena Tena is a lovely camp in a wonderful setting. The tents are quite spacious and very comfortable, plenty of hot water available right through the day. The standard of food was excellent, certainly we felt much better than that we had experienced in Botswana some two years previously. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Rachael and Simon, who went out of their way to make us feel quite at home.

Simon acted as our guide as Bertram was unfortunately ill at the time, and we found him enthusiastic and very knowledgeable of the country and its habitat. The highlight of our three nights there has to be being allowed to accompany Simon and the local conservation team as they darted and captured a 4 year old elephant in order to remove a wire snare that was embedded in his neck.

It was fascinating to watch at close quarters the work of the local vet and her team as they went about cutting off the snare and treating the elephnat with antibiotics prior to its release. A truly wonderful experience.

All in all a lovely camp with a great team." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Birmingham

"Friendly stay at Tena Tena"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2010
"I liked our tent at Tena Tena -- very lovely to watch bushback & impala grazing by the lagoon. I was torn between sitting there or in the hide facing the river!

Didn't get to see much of Simon as he was on his days off & rather regret that as he was very interesting and knowledgable. Again, the guides were accomodating and we went on a lovely walk. Food was very good, staff polite and personable.

Game viewing wasn't as good as I've heard it can be (and saw the least here), but guide did his best with what he could find." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D & Mr B
Berks

"Tena Tena - a very special camp"

4 nights Arrived 28 May 2010
"Tena Tena is our favourite camp, hence our second return. It has a very special atmosphere and has wonderful and varied game drives and walks.

The staff at Tena Tena deserve an 'excellent plus' rating as they always go the extra mile. When I pointed out to Simon that there was no easy way for women to dry their undies and described what I thought was needed, he produced a home-made version the next day.

Betram and Gritid make a great walking pair and it's lovely to have a guide and scout that think a 'sitting safari' is a third option. We had a very special 11 hour day trip out with Betram which also involved a bit of just sitting and see what happens. Everyones enthusiasm for their work, the bush, and the animals really makes this an outstanding experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Highgate

"Tena Tena review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"Wow! Wish we could have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
B x 6
Seattle

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2009
"Compared to our Botswana experience, Luangwa SH and Chongwe this did not meet the same standard. The facilities were fine but the camp leadership did not appear to be as focused on ensuring that we had a first class experience or as cohesive as at other places.

Our interaction with the non expats was excellent. Our guide, Simon, was experienced and knowlegeable and provided a superb trip to the Hot Springs area where we saw a day time Leopard Kill. However he could benefit from coaching on his interpersonal skills as, unattended, this could limit his career options. Ema could benefit from seeing how Lucinda approaches her job." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"tena tena on the banks of the luangwa river"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"simon lead a small, but good team and bertram was overall the best guide on our safari.

we felt that the tents would have been better sited on the river bank rather than the lagoon as they would have been a little cooler.

the game viewing was a little disappointing; by the 6th day on safari we hadn't had a sniff of a leopard simon and team were very helpful when one of our party was ill" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Beds

"Shame about no cats but lovely camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"We were superbly looked after by Simon and Emma at Tena Tena. Unfortunately Chris had a reccurrence of her tummy bug, Simon arranged for the Doc to come out from Mfuwe, he prescribed some anti-bios and it cleared enough to resume game drives the following day. However, it did not completely clear untill we returned to the UK.
The camp was superbly run, food and accomodation were excellent, though disappointed not to see any predators during our stay. I have marked down the activities because of this.
Our guide Bertram was great, vibrant personality and fun to be with, he tried hard to find us some cats but it was not to be." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 136
95%
136 reviews of Tena Tena by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
107
24
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa