This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses

Reviews of Chobe Princesses

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Princesses and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Princesses.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs R
Daventry

"Different way to see the Chobe"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"Very different experience with a look at local fishermen at work without feeling intrusive.
Liked having own dedicated boat and guide for transfers and excursions.
Service on the houseboat was excellent. How did they share out all the work? Cabin small but spotless, if a bit hot, and bed very comfortable." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms C
Toronto

"Relaxing way to tour Chobe Riverfront"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Really nice way to see Chobe Riverfront and very relaxing.

Only had one night so activities were limited. The staff are very knowledgeable and always able to help you identify the bird you just took a picture of.

The game excursions on motorboats is also a nice way to discover the park.

You're on a boat so the rooms are smaller but still very comfortable." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Victoria

"Great water based time on Ichobezi Houseboat"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"Four spacious well equipped cabins, large dining/lounging/viewing area, up to four tender boats for close up viewing and fishing. And a professional attentive crew of five to cater for all needs.

The food, prepared on board by a dedicated chef, was quality restaurant standard.

Although late May is not supposed to be the prime time for game viewing we had no lack of animals or birds to keep us constantly entranced. We even managed to catch a few tiger fish." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Victoria

"Wonderful bird and animal life"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"This part of our trip totally exceeded my expectations. The men looking after us could not do enough for us." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Victoria

"Fantastic experience on Ichobezi Houseboat"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"Coordinator on board Ernest made everything run like clockwork, was very knowledgable about the area and did everything in his power to make our stay a memorable one.

The guides were very knowledgable especially about the bird life . They did everything possible to ensure we experienced everything on the Chobe River while always seeking our input to ensure that they were meeting our needs. Guides Martin, Morgan and Vasco.

Chef Vincent prepared excellent food and even prepared a birthday cake for one of our group.

We were quite surprised at the quality and variety of food given the obvious limitations on the boat and cooking for a different culture." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs CM
Australia

"Fantastic experience"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"This was a genuine highlight of the trip

Have recommended to friends" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Amigos
Spain

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2013
"I really recommend this - a great end to 3 weeks in Namibia. The staff were brilliant, and the houseboat means your trips to Kasene National Park are along the river - elephants by the hundreds, hippos by the score, and a couple of leopards thrown in for good measure" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Sydney

"A fantastically relaxing way to see wildlife!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2013
"We would have stayed for an extra night or two, had we known how fantastic the houseboat experience was. As it was, we stayed for 2 nights and were sorry to leave.

We came down with shocking colds while staying here and were largely confined to quarters, however, this didn't matter as we saw masses of elephants, hippos, buffalos, impalas, crocodiles, Lady Lechwade deer and kudu without even getting out of bed due to having the (only) guest-room with its' own sliding picture windows to a deck.

An excellent alternative to spending weeks bouncing around in a safari vehicle! Would recommend everyone to include this experience in their safari itinerary." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"Review of Ichobezi Mukwae"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2012
"A nice and relaxing change of pace with comfortable accommodation and excellent hosting. Was so nice to tie up at night at a remote spot and watch elephant, kudu, impala, etc. come down to drink a few yards away. For the last night we had the boat to ourselves. The manager, Given, and our guide Raymond were very good but the star of the show was the chef Eustace who produced beautifully presented and prepared meals.

The only area in need of improvement is the provision of some form of insect screening in the dining area in the evening. There are a number of inexpensive options on the market" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Edinburgh

"3 days of complete relaxation"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2012
"In all respects other than game viewing this was the highlight of our trip.

Quirky - comfortable accommodation, nice food, friendly and well trained staff and interesting fellow travellers.
An afternoon spent reading a book whilst ensconced in the small "cold tub" on the front deck with elephants casually wading across the river in front of us will linger long in the memory.

Even managed 9 Holes at "Chobe Golf Club which our captain was only too happy to arrange for us" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 57
96%
57 reviews of Chobe Princesses by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
47
8
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa