This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta


19°3’18.2"S 23°8’22.5"E

Reviews of Footsteps across the Delta

Wildlife sightings and reviews

42 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Footsteps across the Delta and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Footsteps across the Delta.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 42
Duration
Arrival date
Prof V & Mr T
Oxford

"The best place ever!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2018
"This was our absolute favourite camp on the trip and we could happily have spent weeks there! Just getting there was quite an adventure (driving through deep water on the way out and having a mokoro ride on the way back - not your average airport transfer). This is perhaps a more 'basic' camp, but in a gorgeous, retro way (e.g. no hot water in taps, but they bring you hot water to wash in the morning, and arrange for a bucket shower when you want it).

The service and attention to detail were astonishing and OP is an absolutely incredible guide with a brilliant personality. All the camp staff were superb and were very happy to interact with the guest.

We had some fantastic walks, saw masses of animals (including hyena, jackal, genet, and sitatunga, as well as lions and hippos). The night drives were magical and we had one extraordinary 'surprise' dinner away from the camp. I can't praise this place enough - or the team that makes it so special." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Beeeater
UK

"Amazing and wonderful experience "

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2017
"Seems like we had the best guide, the best cook and the most amazing experience- the night sounds were unique and I am lost for words to describe how much I loved this.

Suggested activity - 1 night or early morning we could sit indoors, with a guide, who would distinguish the different animal sounds - morning at about 4am might be best as they arouse from their sleep." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Switzerland

"Footsteps Review - Sqwangwa!"

4 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"Had a truly amazing 4 nights/days at Footsteps. Huge thank you to Moses, Sue, Mbaki, Congo, Dr Loorve, Phefo, Hope & KP with all of whom we (Larry, Nancy & myself) built such a fantastic rapport. The activities we did, walking and jeep safaris as well as a mokoro trip, were all brilliant, and loads of animals (game, predators and birds) were tracked and spotted. Sundowners, too, were amazing, and the staff put a lot of thought into how and where they would do them.

The tents were very comfortable in camp, with hot water boiled on the fire if you want a bucket shower. Food at the camp was amazing, even forgetting the very basic equipment used to prepare it. The camp itself is superbly located on a lagoon with a lot of walk-in visitors (hippos, elephants, hyenas) to keep everybody company and Hope, in particular, busy chatting away ("What are you doing here?")!

We also had 2 very enjoyable games of football with the staff, one of the highlights of which was surely a surprising slide tackle by Sue on Nancy. And for the record, we still maintain we scored 7 goals in that first match, not 5 as the official stat sheet shows. We were very appreciative of the staff spending time with us on their own personal time, like the first night when they all joined us around the fire for a chat and the final night when they put on an excellent traditional dancing/singing display. Sadly, we never got to hear Congo's full story, though we were told that if you start in the panhandle, then head up a long way, keep walking and walking, then turn left and keep walking, and walking and walking, you would eventually arrive in his village, which only has 10 people, or actually 9, because Congo was with us! Boster (aka Dr Loorve), however, did manage to introduce a new word into human vocabulary, "Sqwangwa" (for those of you unfamiliar with the term, it refers to the metal plate upon which the burning coals of a fire are first placed), which even now makes me laugh when I think of it. And if Moses tries to convince you that his first girlfriend at the age of 12 was a girl from the US, don't believe him.

I cannot recommend this camp highly enough. If you are coming to the Okavango Delta, I highly recommend you spend at least some of your time here. I get the impression it is not that well known given its distance (1.5hrs) from the nearest (Shinde) airstrip. For us, those drives from/to the airstrip, where we saw wild dogs and a leopard, were another game viewing highlight.

A totally amazing 4 days. Didn't want to leave. Sqwangwa!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Brighton

"Or all round favourite"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2016
"The family enjoyed this camp the most. It catered for just us 6. The game drives and the walks were amazing. On one of the walks we saw lions amongst other game. It was surreal to turn a corner and there in the distance a table had been set up (next to a giant termite mound) with snacks and drinks. We sat and watched the sun go down and the sky turn a magnificent red and orange. There were honking hippos in the distance and we all fell in love with Africa. Sounds corny but its true. It is hard to explain the feeling, you have to be there to soak up the experience and the magic.

Everyday at siesta time in the camp, there was no siesta! We did tin can shooting which the teenagers loved and one afternoon had a 5 a side football game. Playing football in the heat (and dust) in Botswana, then stopping at half time to wait for a massive elephant to stride through the camp has got to be one of the best memories ever. We were treated to hot bucket showers in the open air before afternoon tea (fit for a king) and on for another game drive.

We especially loved this camp as the guides were such good fun. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very willing to go beyond the call of duty to show us everything to keep the interest. The exclusivity of the camp (just our family) made I feel like the staff were the friends we were on holiday with rather than the actual staff.

The food was fantastic here too. The chef cooks on open fire...how does he produce such wonderful food without an oven?!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F & family
GTM

"Amazing experience of 'real' Africa"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"From our arrival at Shinde airstrip to our departure three days later, this really was an amazing experience. To be greeted on our first morning by hippos 'sloshing' about in the water a few meters away from our tent was a typical example. On further examination we found the spoor of a large bull elephant and baboons that had passed our tent during the night. As I said previously, it was an introduction to what I would call real Africa. We have visited many National Parks in Southern Africa over the last twenty years but I wanted my three grandsons, 16, 12 & 7, to have the experience of camping in the bush. With bucket showers, tented accommodation and campfires at night, we certainly achieved this.

I think we were extremely lucky to have Mbaki and Moses supervising the staff and guests - Mbaki was always smiling and joking with the boys and Moses was able to combine his enthusiasm and knowledge of the bush and animals in a very interesting and informative way. Whether it was explaining how the Delta was formed, giving us details of the termite mounds, playing football, or toasting marshmallows on the camp fire, I know the three boys found two new friends. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we found the standard of meals exceptional.

We found our accommodation to be all that we had expected and the facility of daily laundry was a tremendous help.

On our first morning the wild dogs went through camp but sadly, although we rushed out, we couldn't locate them ... only the remains of their impala kill outside Moses' tent! The second morning the exercise was repeated but this time we were much luckier. We have all seen the dogs before but never have we seen a pure golden alpha female - she was beautiful.

So, all in all, absolutely no criticisms, just 100% praise for such a wonderful three days. My three grandsons voted this camp Number One of the four places we stayed at this holiday which is a recommendation in itself! Thank you to all the staff at Footsteps across the Delta." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lovers of Africa
UK

"Alone in Footsteps"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2016
"Despite a breakdown in communication between Liittle Kwara and Footsteps, we eventually met up and were greeted on our arrival by all 7 staff singing and dancing. Although the camp could cater for 6 people, we were the only guests and thoroughly spoiled. Moses, our guide, and Kebafe, the manager, were excellent company and Hope, the waitress, was attentive with a lovely sense of fun.

Our main purpose in coming to Footsteps was to engage in walking safaris, and we did two, led by Moses. Each lasted only about an hour, and while they were interesting and informative, I thick we would have liked them to be longer. I heard from a guide that we met at Muchenje who used to be based there, that the walks used to be 3-4 hours, which i think is what I expected when we decided to go there. However, the sundowner venue at the end of the first walk was wonderful!

We enjoyed a mokoro trip with Phiefo from Shinde and had some good sightings, including leopards, lions and an eagle owl.

The staff once again put on a show for us on our second and last night and we were then escorted up to the lookout post for a private candlelit dinner for two, with sparkling wine and personal service from Hope. Quite magical! We enjoyed a final tour of the kitchen before we left and marvelled at their ability to cook such lovely meals, launder our clothes and generally keep the camp in such excellent condition with only a gas-fired fridge and a wood fire to help them. Farewell singing as we left, with hits all round.

We loved this simple camp - even the bucket shower! - and were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Although lacking the luxury of other camps, it was excellent of its type." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J & Mr E
New York

"Footsteps across the Delta review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2016
"Our Footsteps experience was like us visiting friends and becoming a part of the family. The camp was very personal and warm and being the only guests (there are only 3 rooms!) at the beginning of the season made it particularly special.

Moses, our guide, went above and beyond to plan the perfect 3 day stay for us. It was a nice change from the game drives (and no exercise) at other camps to be able to walk and learn about the small details of the bush. We also slept right next to a water hole filled with hippos day and night - to the point where you would hear them walking by at night right outside your tent!

Overall, magical and authentic bush experience. Loved it!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Chester

"a great bush experience"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"loved the camp, the people were great.

again, only disappointment was less game than expecting" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr p
Southend On Sea

"Footsteps Across the Delta review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2015
"The game drives were interesting but the walking safaris were not very interesting." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms K
Alberta

"Footsteps Across the Delta review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2015
"After doing so many game drives, it was very nice to have the opportunity to do walking safaris instead. We used the opportunity to learn a lot more about the environment as a whole. They were very conscious about safety and we felt safe, even with so many animals around. One morning, they opted to do some of the outing as a drive because they were uncertain about the location of the lions that we could hear.

We really enjoyed waking up with an elephant munching close to our tent!

We were somewhat taken aback to discover that we were the only guests there, and that they usually only take one group at a time. It sometimes made it a bit awkward at meals, finding topics to discuss with the guide and manager who ate with us. It also made tipping a more major issue because we were the only people contributing to a fairly large staff. On the plus side, they could tailor things specifically for us and our tastes. And the staff and guides were excellent!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 42
99%
42 reviews of Footsteps across the Delta by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa