This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps

Reviews of Shinde Footsteps

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shinde Footsteps and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shinde Footsteps.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

83% success

Buffalo

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Sitatunga

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 41-47 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
York

"Fantastic, most remote, great for walking"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"Great walking, superb knowlegeable guide in Titi, amazing food despite the remoteness, the mokoro trips can bring you VERY close to the hippos, but walking towards the roaring lions with Titi's expert guidance was the highlight." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The O family
London

"Footsteps review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"This was what we wanted - a remote small camp with the opportunity to walk, and some very congenial company who were also into walking.

We were amazed at the ingenuity and skill of the staff in creating amazing meals and hot showers from charcoal pits in the ground. The camp needs to make it clear - as you did to us - that it is a specialised walking place, where you'd be lucky to see big game (one of our co-guests would have been much happier at neighbouring Shinde).

The guides were again very knowledgeable and helpful, though a bit more distant than Lagoon. We found Ker and Downey camps in general somewhat more formal, and a bit more inflexible, than Kwando. But a great experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"Magnificent!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2007
"No tea served at 5.30 allowing us time to struggle out of bed, wash and get to breakfast at 6.00. This camp was the only camp to serve porridge for breakfast. Other camps should take note!

Again food superb. The sightings were wonderful. Guide was amazed at number of sightings we saw over the two days, for instance we saw 4 different prides of lion in two days.

On way to airstrip we even saw leopard turtle to which the the guide exclaimed that we must have seen nearly everything available. We even saw a family of aard-wolf with puppies which was a first for the guide as well! Great place." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"wonderful footsteps"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2007
"This was magic, best place of all the camps, small tents, close to nature. Great company from the staff and atmosphere. Only problem with walking safari's is the long wait after the morning walk before the evening walk.

This felt like camping in the bush but with the great food and wine." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F & co
Sacramento

"Great start to our safari"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2007
"After a long flight from the US the previous day and our two short flights to get to Footsteps, we were delighted to be out and walking our first afternoon. We weren't sure this would work well but it certainly did for us.

Immediately immersed us in the experience, got us tired enough to sleep well. Our guide, Alberto, was very knowledgeable and led two very interesting walks.

Based on our experience, we would do another walking safari, maybe for two or three nights next time." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs R
Sandy

"Walking at Footsteps"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2007
"A wonderful experience, great guides who made you feel quite dafe. I was a bit nervous at times as there were clearly lions around but felt well looked after.

Most surreal moment was having a shower out of doors in the dark with the hippos grunting in their pool jsut a few yards away.

Tents are not as luxurious as other camps but we had expected that.

What I would say about the walking for guests to be aware of is that although not a "route march" it is quite tiring walking through very sandy terrain after several hours as the day heats up. There are frequent stops though. A really different and worthwhile part of our trip, seeing animals on foot." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"Footsteps feedback"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2007
"we particularly liked the fact it was small (only 4 guests while we were there). The staff team were really helpful and friendly and the manager/head guide TT and the other guide Alberto were very knowledgeable, were obviously very committed to their country and its environment, and took great pains to explain about the way the eco-system worked - they were also very good company at dinner.

If there was anything that we would change it would be that we felt that sometimes the level of pampering was verging on the excessive and although the cooks did miracles in their bush kitchen, we would have been jut as happy to have had a braai in the evening and not worried about the table cloths and cutlery settings.

This is absolutely no criticism at all of the staff, but rather rflects our own more informal approach to life in general." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 41-47 of 47
98%
47 reviews of Shinde Footsteps by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (222 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (78 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (76 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (38 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


95% (19 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (17 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery, Pom Pom offers idyllic mokoro trips in season, great birdwatching, and increasingly good big-game sightings, especially leopards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (10 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


93% (3 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (3 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Tucked away in a pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, the exclusive Sitatunga Private Island is a water-based camp offering boating, mokoro trips and fishing.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa