This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps
Shinde Footsteps

Reviews of Shinde Footsteps

Wildlife sightings and reviews

48 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shinde Footsteps and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shinde Footsteps.
Lion

71% success

Leopard

29% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Buffalo

71% success

Spotted Hyena

71% success

Sitatunga

29% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 48
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs F & family
GTM

"Amazing experience of 'real' Africa"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"From our arrival at Shinde airstrip to our departure three days later, this really was an amazing experience. To be greeted on our first morning by hippos 'sloshing' about in the water a few meters away from our tent was a typical example. On further examination we found the spoor of a large bull elephant and baboons that had passed our tent during the night. As I said previously, it was an introduction to what I would call real Africa. We have visited many National Parks in Southern Africa over the last twenty years but I wanted my three grandsons, 16, 12 & 7, to have the experience of camping in the bush. With bucket showers, tented accommodation and campfires at night, we certainly achieved this.

I think we were extremely lucky to have Mbaki and Moses supervising the staff and guests - Mbaki was always smiling and joking with the boys and Moses was able to combine his enthusiasm and knowledge of the bush and animals in a very interesting and informative way. Whether it was explaining how the Delta was formed, giving us details of the termite mounds, playing football, or toasting marshmallows on the camp fire, I know the three boys found two new friends. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we found the standard of meals exceptional.

We found our accommodation to be all that we had expected and the facility of daily laundry was a tremendous help.

On our first morning the wild dogs went through camp but sadly, although we rushed out, we couldn't locate them ... only the remains of their impala kill outside Moses' tent! The second morning the exercise was repeated but this time we were much luckier. We have all seen the dogs before but never have we seen a pure golden alpha female - she was beautiful.

So, all in all, absolutely no criticisms, just 100% praise for such a wonderful three days. My three grandsons voted this camp Number One of the four places we stayed at this holiday which is a recommendation in itself! Thank you to all the staff at Footsteps across the Delta." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lovers of Africa
UK

"Alone in Footsteps"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2016
"Despite a breakdown in communication between Liittle Kwara and Footsteps, we eventually met up and were greeted on our arrival by all 7 staff singing and dancing. Although the camp could cater for 6 people, we were the only guests and thoroughly spoiled. Moses, our guide, and Kebafe, the manager, were excellent company and Hope, the waitress, was attentive with a lovely sense of fun.

Our main purpose in coming to Footsteps was to engage in walking safaris, and we did two, led by Moses. Each lasted only about an hour, and while they were interesting and informative, I thick we would have liked them to be longer. I heard from a guide that we met at Muchenje who used to be based there, that the walks used to be 3-4 hours, which i think is what I expected when we decided to go there. However, the sundowner venue at the end of the first walk was wonderful!

We enjoyed a mokoro trip with Phiefo from Shinde and had some good sightings, including leopards, lions and an eagle owl.

The staff once again put on a show for us on our second and last night and we were then escorted up to the lookout post for a private candlelit dinner for two, with sparkling wine and personal service from Hope. Quite magical! We enjoyed a final tour of the kitchen before we left and marvelled at their ability to cook such lovely meals, launder our clothes and generally keep the camp in such excellent condition with only a gas-fired fridge and a wood fire to help them. Farewell singing as we left, with hits all round.

We loved this simple camp - even the bucket shower! - and were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Although lacking the luxury of other camps, it was excellent of its type." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J & Mr E
New York

"Footsteps across the Delta review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2016
"Our Footsteps experience was like us visiting friends and becoming a part of the family. The camp was very personal and warm and being the only guests (there are only 3 rooms!) at the beginning of the season made it particularly special.

Moses, our guide, went above and beyond to plan the perfect 3 day stay for us. It was a nice change from the game drives (and no exercise) at other camps to be able to walk and learn about the small details of the bush. We also slept right next to a water hole filled with hippos day and night - to the point where you would hear them walking by at night right outside your tent!

Overall, magical and authentic bush experience. Loved it!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Chester

"a great bush experience"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"loved the camp, the people were great.

again, only disappointment was less game than expecting" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Southend On Sea

"Footsteps Across the Delta review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2015
"The game drives were interesting but the walking safaris were not very interesting." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms K
Alberta

"Footsteps Across the Delta review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2015
"After doing so many game drives, it was very nice to have the opportunity to do walking safaris instead. We used the opportunity to learn a lot more about the environment as a whole. They were very conscious about safety and we felt safe, even with so many animals around. One morning, they opted to do some of the outing as a drive because they were uncertain about the location of the lions that we could hear.

We really enjoyed waking up with an elephant munching close to our tent!

We were somewhat taken aback to discover that we were the only guests there, and that they usually only take one group at a time. It sometimes made it a bit awkward at meals, finding topics to discuss with the guide and manager who ate with us. It also made tipping a more major issue because we were the only people contributing to a fairly large staff. On the plus side, they could tailor things specifically for us and our tastes. And the staff and guides were excellent!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Athens

"A once in a lifetime experience for our kids"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2015
"We were lucky to go there. It is impossible to overstate the quality of our guide OP. Saw incredible animals so close. Very flexible camp.

We could plan together with OP the amount of walking and vehicle drives.

I would recommend this camp to be the first in a trip. It would make it even more exciting." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Nevada

"Fun for a change"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"Footsteps was quite a bit different than any of the other camps we have stayed at in the past. It was a different feeling looking at elephants and lions on the ground than in a car--obviously, from a long distance. The food was outstanding--I think it was better than any of the other camps.

The wildlife was very plentiful. If they heard of a popular animal, ie lion, wild dogs, etc, we would walk to a waiting car and they would drive us to it. It appeared the wildlife was more plentiful in the delta than the Linyanti areas with the early rains. I was a little disappointed that our guide commented on how Botswana had too many elephants and did not comment on the poaching crisis which is more prevalent in other countries. It was a missed opportunity to educated others on the illegal ivory trade.

The rooms were very comfortable. The bucket showers worked really well and were just the right temperature." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A
Washington DC

"A fantastic retro introduction to the Delta!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2014
"Footsteps harkens back to safaris of a bygone era while still being extremely comfortable and pretty high end for bucket showers (always with hot water). This was our hands down favorite stop of the trip. A small camp made the experience very intimate and tailored to our every need.

The food was five star -- all cooked over an open fire. The staff extremely attentive and friendly. The accommodations were extremely comfortable. And the animals wandered through the camp making for a truly special experience.

We would highly, highly recommend to anyone that wants a real experience with lots of comfort, but doesn't need all the "conveniences" of the developed world." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs M
London

"Footsteps Across the Delta review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2014
"Our guide, whose name/initials I am happy to provide if you don't have them, was uninspired, a bit weary and in general just "mailed it in." He did not bring much energy and almost no enthusiasm to the experience and provided average information and observations about what we saw.

While the walks were fun, they were shorter than we had hoped and barely allowed us to stretch our legs. We were hoping to have a more intense walking experience in the bush in terms of distances covered, terrain experienced, wildlife observed, etc. The food was surprisingly good and the staff apart from our guide were delightful: charming and warm." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 48
98%
48 reviews of Shinde Footsteps by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (223 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (87 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (79 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (76 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


96% (19 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


95% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery, Pom Pom offers idyllic mokoro trips in season, great birdwatching, and increasingly good big-game sightings, especially leopards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (10 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (3 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Tucked away in a pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, the exclusive Sitatunga Private Island is a water-based camp offering boating, mokoro trips and fishing.


100% (1 review)
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa