This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

121 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

55% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Buffalo

82% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

45% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 121
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Edinburgh

"Great start to our trip at Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2012
"Excellent accommodation and service. particularly liked the "island" location with access and egress by water.

Tents nicely equipped and maintained with good privacy and outlook.

Staff were particularly good.
Pre dinner drinks by campfire were a highlight.
Mokoro trip well worth doing.

Breakfast and Lunch were excellent but cuisine at Dinner was a slight let down,

Would recommend this camp to anyone- overall probably the best we have experienced" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Sussex

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"Arriving by boat in the summer is a short ride from the parking spot but a lovely way to arrive at the camp. The rooms are of a good size and have a traditional feel. The food here was of extremely high quality and very varied. The traditional evening in the boma provided us with a huge variety of food in three courses and the entertainment from the staff was very enthusiastic. The staff were relaxed and seemed to genuinely enjoy working at the camp.

Our guide Kay was knowledgeable but not as chatty or easy to get on with as other guides. We discovered wild dogs on our last day and were privileged to be able to follow them tracking their prey." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr N
Harefield

"Little Vumbura is an Okavango Delta Must See"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2012
"After a 30 minute drive from the airstrip you get to experience the magic of Little Vumbura when you take a short boat ride to the island on which the camp is located.

Millie and Hamish were fantastic hosts throughout my 3 night stay and have great team of staff behind them. Food was great, room was great and there was a really good atmosphere around the camp.

My guide was Madala Kay and this guys game spotting and tracking skills were a sight to behold. Within 2 days we had seen a few Leopards, Cheetah, Sable Antelope, Hyena Pups and much much more.

We had a surprise lunch in the bush one day which made a nice change.

The highlight of the trip was probably and afternoon/evening boat trip when after seeing plenty of Hippo's and a Bull Elephant feeding in the water we experienced the most amazing sunset while enjoying our sun-downers. Unfortunately the Wild Dogs that were about the week before had disappeared.

Little Vumbura is a truly special place

" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Wokingham

"Praise indeed!"

5 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"We travelled in October so the start and end of every game drive is a 2-3 minute boat trip which was lovely. We understand that when it's wetter, that boat trip may be longer but it's a lovely way to start and end your drive.

Lovely spacious tent with instant hot water, fluffy towels, great outdoor sitting area. We didn't feel that the food was the best and was always a buffet so unless you're first up, we felt we were eating someone else's leftovers. The lighting in the dining area is poor of an evening and this should be addressed. Venison stew with bones isn't the easiest to eat without decent illumination.

We changed our guide after 24 hours and were very, very happy with our new guide. The usual lion, elephants, great sable, very good leopard sightings, ground hornbills, honey badger, wild cat etc and a pack of wild dogs we saw on three occasions. More than once we spent maybe two hours watching a herd of ellies so animal behaviour was great to watch.

We requested a full day game drive which was lovely to see areas of the park that aren't normally seen and had a lovely bush brunch. Sadly, despite a boma, we couldn't have dinner anywhere else other than the poorly lit table in the main area as they didn't have sufficient paraffin." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Ms Z
NL

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2012
"Little Vumbura is an exceptional location on an island. We used all opportunities including a boat trip, a mokoro trip and the drives. Kay was our guide on all trips and took his own mokoro to make sure that our waterroute was safe. Kay is an exceptional guide to which his great sense of humor should be added. We saw lions, red lechwe, tsessebe, sable antilopes and a pack of appr. 28 wild dogs. Beatrice and Aaron replaced the permanent managers. They did a very good job, including a surprise brunch in the bush. We regret they did not manage the diabetic food requirements submitted in advance which at dinner they left to the kitchen staff. This caused some substantial problems on our last night, which they blamed (to our great regret) on the kitchen staff." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Canada

"Great Safari at Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2012
"I had an absolutely amazing stay at Little Vumbura.

The staff was amazing, the food was great and the tents were very comfortable. I also had some of the best game viewing I've ever had: three leopard sightings in three days, lions up a tree, leopard kill and feast, sable antelope and hyena puppies. It was my first time in a mokoro and I really enjoyed the experience. I had an absolutely amazing three day stay at Little Vumbura." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms Y
London

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2012
"A lovely little camp, with comfortable tents and excellent guides (Rain was our guide for all the drives, but we spoke to the others during drinks and dinner and found them all to be very knowledgable). In our 3 days here, we saw lots of wildlife including leopards on a number of occasions, a lioness with cubs every day, a large group of sable antelope, wild dog, a good number of elephant, a huge herd of buffalo, hyena, and lots of bird species (including the rare Pel's Fishing owl). We thought the setting of the camp was very picturesque, and the mokoro trip we did one afternoon a surprising highlight - even though we didn't see many animals other than elephants making their way through the reeds and playing in the water, it was so peaceful and a great way to experience a different side to the Delta." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Caldicot

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2012
"Camp good but animals sightings rather disappointing.

We found the boat trip to and from the camp really reduced our time on safari." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Netherlands

"perfect combination of delta en plains"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"An intimate camp at a nice location; the camp is in the delta itself and surrounded by water, but game drives are made on the mainland/ plains. It takes about 20 minutes by boat from mainland to camp and vice versa.

I did one trip with the mokoro too, which was nice.

The cabins/tents are very much OK. The camp is quite small and intimate (6 tents I believe).
The management is nice and do their utmost to make you feel comfortable (young couple from Scotland/Zimbabwe) and the guide was just great (Kay). I didn't want to go to the delta in first instance, but I am glad I did." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C
Toronto

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2012
"This was the highlight of our trip. The setting was perfect and we had the best guide, a thoughtful, serious man who shared his country with us. We were so impressed with his knowledge and sensitivity. He went out of his way to find the animals we wanted to see, and provided them all - even our elusive leopard. He was great company at meals, explaining details of life in the delta.

Management was terrific, helping when I was a bit sick, and the staff were all happy - eager to see everyone enjoy a good time. It was an extremely well run camp but beautiful accommodation. The 20 minute boat ride to and from camp added to the whole experience, peaceful remote beauty. And we loved the hippos and elephants sloshing past our tent every night.

We were amazed by the quality of food, presentation, service, and entertaining staff." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 121
96%
121 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa