This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

121 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

55% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Buffalo

82% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

45% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 121
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Little Vumbura - a good few days"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"We liked Little Vumbura but I think our expectations were too high because we knew that it's a very popular camp. Don't get me wrong. It's a lovely camp and I think it is just that we wanted to like it more than we did.

Camp was nice, rooms were clean and well cared for, food was pretty good (although not as good as at Selinda) and staff were friendly.

Going to and from drives by boat was lovely and very picturesque. We did a mokoro trip which is always relaxing and interesting and we really enjoyed that. Game drives were hit and miss in terms of what we saw. We saw sable for the first time and they were beautiful. We also saw a herd of 3,000 buffalo and followed them for a long time.

Because the camp was full, over a 4 days we shared a vehicle with a number of different people. The only disadvantage was that every time we had someone new in the car, it was like we were starting from scratch and we would go back to finding the buffalo to see if the lions were around. This wasn't our guide's fault but more a case of what other guests wanted to do. That said, we had some lovely sightings of a young leopard which were really memorable.

" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"An amazing time at Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"Little Vumbrua is a lovely camp run by a superb team of staff. Our tent was comfortable, spacious and immaculately maintained. The food was excellent, with variety at choice at every meal. We particularly enjoyed the pre-dinner singing from the staff each evening, which made for a lovely atmosphere.

The game was incredible - we had lenghty encounters with leopards, wild dogs and sable (which we've not seen in Southern Africa for many years). On our first evening drive, we were lucky to witness a very rare and unusual battle between a leopard and her cub and honey badgers - the mother leopard dived into they honey badger sett, dragged the youngster out and ran up a tree, closely followed by the mother honey badget. A fight ensued in the tree in which both honey badgers escaped and bolted back into their sett. The guides were as excited and astounded as we were, never having seen such behaviour before.

We would thororghly recommend Little Vumburu to other travellers." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Vancouver

"Return to Little Vumbura - 6 years later"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"We liked Little Vumbura in 2007 and liked it just as much this time.
The re-built camp is very good, well organised.
We had some very good animal sightings, our guide tried really hard.

Sadly, compared with last time, there were at least 30-50% less animals to see. The small pride of lions has no senior males, no cubs. We were told about the safety fences for protecting cattle from a pulmonary disease - maybe that is one of the reasons?

Throughout our whole Botswana trip we didn't see a single large (even medium) buffalo herd; elephants only in small groups." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Excellent stay at Little Vumbura"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"As Expert Africa says this is a very special camp set in beautiful scenery and very good game viewing. This was the camp that showed what it was like to be reliant on the yearly flood and we spent a lot of the time being driven through water and mud.the skill of the drivers in some situations was outstanding.

Highlights were seeing a pride of lions getting ready for hunting , wild dog and sable antelope.
The bird life was particularly good in this area.

Our best animal encounter was a leopard with a three month old cub eating an antelope which had not long been killed.

Sitting quietly in the jeep whilst elephants with tiny babies were so close to us and a group of kudu passed in front of us, magic!
Staff were all very good and helpful ." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E & Ms P
Spain

"The best guide of them all: Madala Key"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2013
"Our tent was a little far away for Max to walk comfortably back and forth, even though we requested a tent nearby the common areas. It was also quite a walk for Max from the docking area to the common areas.

Very efficient, friendly and helpful management and staff.

The food was quite nice and the rooms were the most comfortable we have had all around, and the most spacious. They were absolutely nice when we arrived the first day, after a long flight and no lunch, to arrange a nice meal just for the two of us, so we did not have to wait 2 hours until tea time.

Our guide was the best we have had in our entire trip: MADALA KEY. He made our stay unforgettable." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Wiltshire

"Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2013
"Excellent wildlife viewing with great experiences - including Lions interrupting sundowners, an elephant interupting coffee and a full fight between lions and Hyaenas ! They also accomodated a fishing trip.

That said, this was probably our least favourate camp. I am not sure why but the concession felt busier, they could not get our dietry requirements right and it was not entirely clear who was in charge.




" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
The C party
Berkshire

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2013
"As with Kwetsani, the staff were all lovely and made our stay a real delight." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr M
Florida

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2013
"This is one of our favorite camps and getting to the island by boat is fun.

We had an exceptional guide, (Mandela K), who had been declared one of the top 25 in Botswana. We saw all kinds of animals, including stalking lions. The staff and managers all seemed to enjoy their work and mingled with each other and the guests freely. The chef even made a special bobotie for my husband and me one night. It was a very pleasant way to end another wonderful safari in Botswana." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Indiana

"final camp in order of visit only"

3 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2013
"Each camp seemed even more wonderful than the last although in reality all were excellent and although different - all on a pretty even par experience.

The guide here was rumored to be amoung the best in Africa and served as both guide and tracker." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Finchley

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2013
"Little Vumbura is set in an area that feels like an untouched paradise. Great care is taken to keep the place as pristine as possible and the low density of visitors certainly helps to keep it this way. The camp and staff were delightful and we felt privileged just to be there.

One of our highlights strangely enough was a boat trip that went wrong. It meant that a motley crew had to resort to use 1 wooden pole, 1 garden shovel and 2 cool box lids to propel our boat in order to save us from spending a night with the hippos after the engine and radio died on the boat.

Sevara (one of the guides) is a great character and we learned a lot from him about this beautiful place." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 121
96%
121 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa