This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge

Reviews of Mapula Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mapula Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mapula Lodge.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

20% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Sable antelope

40% success

Spotted Hyena

40% success

White Rhino

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Ms FM
SW London

"Mapula Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"We had a great time at Mapula and found the staff very warm and friendly, particularly Dudu who also had a great sense of humour.

The location and the way the camp has been built is beautiful and the food was excellent. We didn't even mind the bridge! (It was a good spot for birds.) Our guide Dicks was very knowledgeable and between him and his tracker led us to see most of the different mammals and birds in the area. He also sped us away quickly when some of the elephants got a little angry! But that was an experience in itself, as was meeting an elephant on the path in the camp when I was on my own! T

hey were also very patient with our photo requests. We particularly enjoyed the variety of activities on offer. The mokoro trip was a lovely peaceful experience. And it was great to get out and walk even though we cut the walking activity short when a leopard was spotted by the tracker.

We believe our stay here was cheaper than at Lagoon and if that is the case we would say that Mapula is better value for money." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
T family
Peterborough

"Excellent guiding in a fantastic location!"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2010
"The accomodation and service were more rustic than the other lodges we visited, but the competence and friendliness of our guides more than made up for this.

Our guide, Dix, was brought up as a bushman and he communicated his wealth of experience in an interesting and understandable way. Our tracker, Carl, was excellent, helping our 12 year old twin boys understand so much about African wildlife.

Overall, the guiding and the other activities (mokoro, fishing and boat trips) were amongst the best of our stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Avon

"Rustic retreat"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2010
"Mapula is approached by the notorious bridge over a deep channel. Don't worry! It's due to be rebuilt soon. The camp had a charmingly rustic feel about it & the management is very 'hands-on'. All the staff were polite & friendly. The room was simple, but comfortable. Food was adequate & plentiful.

Our guide here was Joe, with tracker Mike. There was a large number of giraffe in the area, along with the usual game species & birds. We particularly enjoyed a large herd of buffalo, a pair of blacked back jackals, saddle billed stork & a tawny eagle being mobbed by a blacksmith plover on the ground.

Unfortunately the wild dogs that usually den near the camp had moved elsewhere due to the extremely high water levels. The guides suspected that they had relocated to an area that the vehicles could not reach due to deep water channels. (the main road through the area resembled a river) We spent a whole morning prospecting an area beyond the old buffalo fence looking for signs but to no avail, although we found plenty of other game.

Shortly after brunch Joe rushed to our room & informed us that 3 guides had been out on the camp tractor looking for dog tracks, without success, but had found three adult lions. Would we like to spend an afternoon with them - would we!! We met up with the tractor crew, who directed us in the right direction. We were able to spend an hour or so in a small clearing parked alongside 3 magnificent male lions, totally relaxed.

Although Joe & Mike had been out since 6am that morning they were still prepared to do another game drive after the lions, be we declined the offer in order to give them a well deserved rest.

We were due to leave the following morning, so Joe suggested a late call (7am), leisurely breakfast & a couple of hours fishing. A very relaxing way to end our stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Mapula Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2009
"We really enjoyed the rustic style of the lodge, although maintenance is very necessary and we understand this is due to commence next year. The wooden bridge that gives access to the lodge was grim to drive across, but is due to be replaced.

The lodge is situated overlooking a permanent lagoon, which is brilliant, with constant calling of fish eagles.

The mokoro trip introduced us to small reed frogs, water snails, spiders and fish. Hippos thankfully in the distance! Matt, the guide and K.T. the tracker were excellent in locating game: lion feeding on a recently killed buffalo, and vultures just hanging around expectantly." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Great start to our safari at Mapula Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2009
"We had 3 nights at Mapula Lodge in November 2009 - our first camp of 3 on this trip - and from the moment that Josiah and John picked us up at the airstrip we had a fabulous time. The camp and guiding staff were all very friendly, the manager (Dudu) was charming and we very much liked the fact that it is very much a 'local' enterprise. There is no doubt that this is a very happy camp - we felt very much at home and thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxed atmosphere.

The camp facilities (lounge and dining areas, plunge pool, bush bar) were excellent and our 'cabin' (Number 4) was spacious, clean and well appointed. It came with king size bed with mosquito net, easy chairs/settee with coffee table, tin bath, two tin wash basins, WC and outdoor shower. On the deck outside were two large wooden chairs where we could relax and enjoy the lagoon and its resident hippos. One small issue with the chairs on the deck - you had to move them around to keep in the shade during siesta time and eventually you ran out of shade!

We have seen other comments about the 'variable' quality of the food at Mapula - we thought the food was absolutely fine. I wouldn't go so far as to say gourmet quality, but very, very nice, plenty of it and no problems whatsoever.

The guiding/tracking was excellent - Josiah and John were very knowledgable and good company. We enjoyed game drives, a guided walk and a mokoro trip with them and enjoyed every minute. Game viewing was excellent - including lion, elephant, impala, kudu, black backed jackal, giraffe, hippo, leopard, zebra, ostrich, buffalo, tsessebe, red lechwe, warthog, waterbuck, wildebeest, civet, steenbok, vervet monkey, water monitor and slender mongoose. Birds too were fabulous - far too may to list, but we were very happy to see such a variety.

Game drives at Mapula come with the added bonus (??) of the infamous bridge! The first time or two going over the bridge is a very interesting, enjoyable and quirky experience - then it becomes a sheer necessity and by the end of your stay it is a bit of a pain to be honest. Hopefully it won't be too long before it is improved?

Overall though, we very much enjoyed Mapula Lodge and we would not hesitate to return." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"Beautiful place in the delta"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"Beautifully situated in the the Okavango delta…. Met by Dicks & Simon on the airstrip in the middle of nowhere! Quite an individual camp. The most rickety, bone-shaking bridge you are ever likely to cross in your trip to get to the camp and you will have cross it 4 more times each day!!

Rooms are large facing onto the lagoon with a good distance between each lodge. The beds are spacious and comfortable with both an outside and in door shower and a tin bath with a view over looking the lagoon. We noticed several of the fixtures and fittings didn't work as well as they should. The main door's latch never shut properly but just got stuck between the doorframes. When the wind blew it kept opening. When I mentioned this to Jane (the Manager) she said that she was aware of it but it wasn't fixed during our stay.

Expert Africa travelers, “Mr & Mrs Delta, commented on Aug 08, 'We had problems with the toilet flush, it kept running'. Well, I can confirm that it is still running well and good! We didn't mention this since it didn't make too much noise. I guess being in the delta one is not too short of water, which might be their attitude to it!!

There is also a communal toilet by the main area, with the most unbelievable view and no door to shut. Just put the rope across with an 'occupied sign' as you walk down ramp and you are good to go!

The meals were taken communally with the guides and manager. We read lots of comments that the food wasn't very good here. But considering its remoteness and logistical difficulties and that they were cooking for at least 16-18 guests the food was good.

Doctor is no longer here. Jane was the manager here when we stayed. A very pleasant friendly young Botswanan woman who worked extremely hard to ensure her guests were happy. We had some excellent game drives with our guides Simon and Dicks. A spacious Land Rover which was comfortable. The vehicles are configured for 3x3 seating arrangements but Dicks told us that they rarely take more than 6 people in them unless that was the total number of people from the same group. A very good seating policy in my opinion.

The tracking was excellent and just watching these two men track the animals we wanted to see was just as fascinating as coming face to face with the animals when they successfully found them!! We saw lions, sable and a vast number of antelopes. Unfortunately despite the recent denning of the wild dogs near the airstrip, by the time we arrived they had moved on after the tragic death of their puppies. They also offer a walk with an armed guide for a couple of hours, which we thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend. The camp main area itself was not as large as it probably should be to accommodate the possible number of guests. The pool was small and didn't look invitingly clean. We also loved the little bar overlooking the lagoon. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Mr M
LA

"Mapula Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2009
"We loved the three days we spent at Mapula. We found the accommodations comfortable, the staff extremely warm and helpful, the activities fun, and the guides excellent. We really enjoyed the variety of activities offered at Mapula, and were lucky enough to participate in all of the available activities while we were there.

The game drives were interesting, and our guide (Matt) and tracker (Mike) took time to discuss with us behaviors exhibited by the animals we saw, various uses of the plants we observed, and general uses of the environment by the people of Botswana. We also liked the walking safari we did one afternoon, which gave us a better perspective of a local environment (and our first bit of exercise during our trip). Our mokoro trip was very relaxing and included a number of unexpected elephant sightings.

The highlights at Mapula were seeing a pack of wild dogs, and following them long enough to watch them (unsuccessfully) hunt impala, and having a group of elephants decide to snack on the vegetation outside our chalet for about 30 minutes during "siesta" one afternoon. We were also treated to a surprise "bush dinner" on our last night at Mapula, which was a really wonderful experience. In addition to the extra effort for this surprise, we truly appreciate the efforts of Jane and Dudu to change our flight to Maun (originally scheduled for 8:00am, despite us having a mid-afternoon flight from Maun to Johannesburg). It took them significant time to achieve this, but it gave us the opportunity to go on one final morning game drive.

We would recommend Mapula Lodge to anyone looking for good guiding and a variety of interesting animals and activities." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Ms B
Alaska

"Mapula Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2009
"As we flew to the Mapula Lodge landing strip we could see what we thought were roads submerged in water and we soon learned they were. Our time at Mapula Lodge and the Okavango Delta was FANTASTIC. DoDo was a very gracious, interesting, and accommodating host. Matt and Mike were a wonderful team guiding and tracking animals as we'd seen no others do on our game drives. The Mapula Lodge served family style dinners and we loved the opportunity to talk with Matt and DoDo after a wonderful day.

Matt was quick to take an inventory of everything we'd seen so far on our trip upon picking us up and was quick to mention he'd do his best to find new things for us. He was true to his word as he and Mike were able to locate new species of mammals and birds we had not seen yet every day we were there.

While at Mapula we went on several game drives, a mokora boat excursion in the lagoon, and a guided walk. The variety of activities offered at Mapula was not matched by any other lodge we stayed at and we appreciated the different ways it allowed us to see the animals and environment.

As for highlights, while it is difficult to narrow things down, the African Wild Dogs of the area are worth noting. We visited the den of a pack of wild dogs that live in the area a few times. The first time we were treated to seeing puppies that were just over a week old, and some of the adults for a brief amount of time. The adult dogs took off on a hunt and the puppies retreated to the safety of the den.

On our last morning we visited once again, the pack was still out on their hunt from the afternoon/evening before and we decided to leave the den area. As we continued our drive Mike gave one of his trademark hand signals, motioning Matt to stop and go to the right. We were treated to a sighting of the pack returning to the den after the hunt. After taking in the great views there we headed back to the den to see what we'd find. We were treated to a good 30 minutes of watching the puppies interact with the adult members of the pack. It was definitely the experience of a lifetime and memorable.

The facilities of Mapula Lodge were of the highest standard and very spacious. Our room over looked the lagoon that is home to a family of hippos, during our afternoon siesta we enjoyed viewing elephants from a far or birds up close on nearby trees as we relaxed on our porch. We also appreciated the variety and large quantity of handcrafted baskets made by staff members that were available for sale.

Of all the places we stayed at in Namibia and Botswana, the Mapula Lodge is the one place we hope to return to. While we were very satisfied with our 3 night stay, Mapula Lodge and the area, as well as the delightful and friendly staff, definitely touched us, we could've easily stayed there for a few more days." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Mapula - A Great Addition by Expert Africa"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2008
"Mapula is new this year on Expert Africa's offering and, having spent four nights there at the start of a 12 night vacation in mid-September, we think it is a great addition which we highly recommend.

There is just one minor caveat to that recommendation and that is that the lodge is situated in an area which (based on our experience at that particular time of year) demands a certain amount of patience searching out the animals. That said, such patience does bring its rewards and we got our trip off to a flying start in terms of both birds and mammals.

Highlights included elephants, sable antelope, lions, serval and caracal cats (the former in daylight) and (the absolute highlight as far as we were concerned) over an hour-and-a-half with a pack of 18 very active painted dogs; among the bird life we particularly enjoyed, at one end of the size scale, giant eagle owls and, at the other, malachite kingfishers. This success is in significant part a testiment to our guide, Matt, and tracker, Johan, both of whom were excellent.

In addition to game drives, we enjoyed our makoro experience (though I personally mourn the demise of traditional materials in favour of plastic boats!) and our bush walks.

We also really liked the camp. The accommodation is very comfortable - the shower was the most pwerful I have found in many years of bush visits! - and the atmospherics/ambience are excellent. The staff are, without exception, relaxed but efficient and nothing was too much trouble.

We enjoyed the food and strongly approve of the brunch menu which breaks away from tradtional breakfast fare to include light lunch dishes (eg quiche, macaroni cheese)." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Delta
Spain

"Great for game-viewing fans"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"Mapula is a place for serious game viewers. Everything revolves around game viewing and they are very flexible with schedules, provided that everyone in your group agrees to the changes. Lunch time and dinner time are never excuses for cutting short a good sighting here. The “standard” drives are a little longer than at other places: 4.5 hours instead of the more usual 3-4 hrs, but you can do them even longer (we did a 6-hr one). You can also do mokoro rides and bush walks.

This was the only place -of 5 camps- where we had a tracker in addition to a guide/driver, and we found it really helps you see more things. Also, the car has no roof at all which is much better for seeing birds and animals on trees. Our guide and tracker made a great team, they are both very familiar with the area and have an incredible eye for game spotting. Josiah, the guide, also has a fine sense of humor that makes the long game drives even more enjoyable.

We had some very good sightings here: during the drive to camp we saw a pride of lions eating a warthog, and then on the morning of departure we saw 10 different lions at different sites, one of them eating the remains of a baby elephant carcass. But the main attraction here are the wild dogs, there is a pack that has denned close to camp for the second season in a row, so we spent most of our game drives with them. The pack has 7 adults and 13 pups.

What I liked the best about this lodge is the atmosphere: very relaxed, completely laid-back and nonchalant. Totally “Hakuna Matata” style. Doctor's (the manager) personality contributes to this for sure, he is such a character, always joking, and has a contagious laughter, we immensely enjoyed our conversations with him by the fire. Like in other camps, the manager and guides sit with the guests at dinner, but here it really seems they do it not just because they're following the rules but because they actually enjoy it. There's a strong feeling of community in this place. I also loved the “24hr self-service bar”, you just go behind the bar and fix yourself a drink anytime.

The food is probably the clearest area for improvement at Mapula. I think it wasn't bad at all (I really enjoyed the Ox tail the first night), but my wife didn't like it, and I agree the food here is one or two levels below the average at other camps in the area.

The chalets at Mapula are cool. Rustic and a bit basic, definitely no luxuries at this lodge, but comfortable. We liked the decoration, simple but looks very African, the whole chalet vaguely resembles a hut in an African village. Ours even had a tree branch going through it! The front part of the chalet, which overlooks the lagoon, is open (i.e., no wall), just has a mosquito net separating the room from the wild. The bed was big and comfortable, a tad short though. The bathroom is nice, it has an tin-like bathtub inside and an outdoor shower, has two wash basins, which look like tin buckets. We had problems with the toilet flush, it kept running, they had to come in and fix it several times. The hot water normally works well but we had to take a cold shower once because none was coming out, we told Doctor and when he came into the room to check, the hot water was back.

Another area for improvement is the cleanliness of the room. I mean, it's not really dirty or anything, but it is less tidy than in other places, and there are more bugs. This didn't bother me at all, though my wife found they have to put more effort into cleaning. Anyway, It's true that this lodge is a little rougher than the typical camp, not a place to expect lots of pampering and luxury.

The area around Mapula is beautiful –most places in the delta are-, feels very remote even though they told us there are a few villages not too far from the lodge. The terrain is very rugged and they frequently drive off-road, which is fun but very bumpy (specially in the back row) and you have to watch out for branches (no roof). The lodge itself has very nice views over a lagoon, you can see hippos and birds. One night we were awoken by an elephant eating right next to our chalet, they later told us that a herd of 8 visited the lodge that night." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 20
94%
20 reviews of Mapula Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
6
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (219 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (86 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (76 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (76 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (36 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


90% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (2 reviews)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Sitatunga Private Island: in this pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, even the name is evocative.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa