This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Four poms
Somerset

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2019
"A wonderful location, with the chalets cleverly positioned amongst the rocks.

It was very hot (but we expected that) - no aircon. very good new manageress, but waiter service a bit erratic. Guides were very good and knowledgeable.

Morning walk strenuous and tiring. Guided drive to Bushman paintings outstanding. No good for animals - saw some mountain zebra in the distance." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J.
Warwick

"Great Lodge in incredible surroundings"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2019
"We had a lovely 2 nights at Erongo. A lovely place to stay and absorb the surroundings. We enjoyed the guided walks. Not much else to do but we thoroughly enjoyed the lodge. The drive was very straight forward from Windhoek. Good map and directions and excellent road signs. Someone there to great us at the entrance to transfer us to the lodge, but as we had a good 4x4 we were able to take our own car, following him up the rocky track to the lodge. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Remote Lodge in stunning location"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2019
"We again had exclusive occupation of this Lodge for two of our three nights. It is set in a remote location among the rocks of a large kopje with fabulous scenery.

The large tented room was very comfortable. Walks around the area provided some challenges both in terms of the steepness of some of the climbs but also the extreme heat after about 10am. The staff unobtrusive but helpful when needed

We saw very little game, but there was a considerable number and variety of birds around the Lodge.

Altogether a beautiful place for relaxation at the end of our travels round Namibia." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B.
KILFENORA

"Hot & Humid"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2019
"Erongo was our final stop before leaving Namibia and its difficult and perhaps unfair to compare it to our previous experience at Desert Rhino Camp.

The accomodation was comfortable and with a wonderful view. But we struggled to relax in our room as it was baking in the summer sun and with no air conditioning.

Erongo was hot and humid compared to other locations we stayed in and the activities were geared towards bird watching which we were not that interested in. But the food and the service was great. " See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Great bird viewing"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2018
"We arrived at lunchtime on Friday, and were immediately transfixed by the bird bath and lizard activity outside the main lodge.

There was slight confusion with staff discussing the access to Paula's Cave to see the rock art, as our road map showed we could drive to it ourselves (not possible), but this did not ditract from a great stay.

We did try to find it initially, before driving around other parts of the conservency, looking for the other rock art marked on the map. This was at the AiAiba lodge. We saw springbok and 3 groups of baboons!

We made it back for the sundowner excursion, which was very enjoyable and had fantastic views. On Saturday morning, we went on an early morning excursion with Bony. This was also great fun, and we saw more baboons.

We only wish we could have spent more time relaxing on our balcony taking in the fantastic vista (although it was extremely hot)!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"A great place to finish off the holiday"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2018
"Erongo is quite a different lodge compared to everywhere else we stayed and has only walking and nearby bushman paintings on offer. It was good place to chill out for a night before our flight home.

Our chalet/tent was large and well equipped and the restaurant was good. Staff were welcoming and friendly and the swimming pool was very welcome after our drive.

We opted for the sundowner climb (not too steep or strenuous) and watched the baboons on an adjacent hilltop and a spectacular sunset before a good dinner.

We did not have any more time to explore the local walking trails as we had to leave after one night at Erongo to return to Windhoek.
" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Boghall birder
Roslin

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"Great location, service and activities. Knowledgable guides who knew their bird songs and calls." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Halifax

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2018
"A lovely lodge in a beautiful location with stunning views over the Erongo mountains.

Access will require 4x4 vehicles but for those with 2WD cars there is parking 800 metres from the camp and guests will be collected and transported to the camp by staff in 4x4 vehicles. There is quite a lot of walking and steps to the guest's rooms and the dining area so guests with poor mobility might struggle but the struggle will be worthwhile as this is a beautiful and well run camp with exceptionally good food.

A walk up the adjacent koppie is worth the effort and you will be rewarded with magnificent views while enjoying your chosen sundowner watching as the sun sets over the distant mountains. It is also a chance to meet and chat with the other guests but this walk is not suitable for those with poor mobility.

If you are returning to Windhoek on leaving the camp the road is very good and is tarred all the way apart from the initial 12 kms or so from the camp. We left early the next morning so did not partake in any game drives." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2018
"We had a beautiful two tented section with our own camp fire and separate lounge. Tents were beautiful and luxurious. The walking was great and it's a very beautiful place. This was the best place we came across for dealing with our special dietary requirements/allergies - which shows very good management. Food was very good. The main lodge feels slightly less modern than the rooms.

Although no big game the variety and number of birds (trees full of brightly coloured lovebirds), brightly coloured lizards and hyrax were wonderful.

We had heavy rain which spoiled the experience a little as we couldn't do the sundowner walk/dinner outside/campfire, but would go back to experience this wonderful lodge again." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A
Somerset

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"ANOTHER WONDERFUL LOCATION" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa