This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions
Kichaka Expeditions

Reviews of Kichaka Expeditions

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kichaka Expeditions and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kichaka Expeditions.
Lion

71% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

17% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Eland

71% success

Roan antelope

57% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Martina
Austria

"Oh what an experience !!!!"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2017
"Moly and Noelle can hardly be topped !

Moly offered best guidance, scientific explanations on all aspects of the surrounding nature brilliantly performed and still well understandable: the walking tours offered information on all kinds of natural interrelations as well as innumerable details of flora, fauna and geological facts, but they were also highly amusing and deep and moving experiences. We could not have been better cared for !

At home" Noelle was the perfect host: her kitchen left no wishes open - veggies f.e. were always offered .......... and she also entertained perfectly !

The fact that the camp is small as well as really very remote ( apart from the rangers we met litarally nobody !) only added to the fascination of this stay !

We would always highly recommand Kichaka to everybody who looks for African impressions that reach under the surface and go deeper as well as beyond the usual safaris !!" See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
EmlynGarden

"Kichaka Expeditions review"

7 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"Our week at Kichaka was one of the highlights of our lives. We have done walking safaris before but not in such thick bush and not with the intent of getting as close as possible to elephants. It's incredible, sometimes scary and definitely addictive.
Moli did the longer morning walks and Jacques, his number 2, the afternoon walks or drives. Both are accompanied by a very good Tanapa ranger so you do feel safe behind their 2 guns and 2 pairs of eyes.
Moli is amazing: we've heard many explanations of particular animal behaviour but no one who has had the depth of knowledge of Moli or his infectious enthusiasm. It was informative, fascinating and also a lot of fun: we laughed a lot over the week.
So we walked to within 5 metres of an elephant, watched them for 10 minutes and then left without it ever knowing we were there. That was very exciting. And that's the target every day though of course they have to work with the animals and conditions which present themselves..
Jacques, a Zim pro guide, was also very good and a fascinating man who seems to have done a bit of everything over his life
The camp is lovely; I guess relatively simple but all very nicely done and with very attentive staff. Nothing is too much trouble. We said we wanted to swim in the Ruaha and so that was arranged and Jacques and the ranger ensured it was safe for us to do so: no crocs or hippo in sight.
The food was good. Showers/loo/washing are slightly separate from your tent which can make nocturnal loo trips exciting when you can hear lions are around.
The camp's position on a hill above the river is fantastic with sweeping views down and along the Ruaha River. It is very remote and feels like that: you could be the first (or the last) people on earth. We didn't see anyone else the whole week were there apart from some lion researchers. The absence of people and vehicles means the animals are quite skittish; Moli likes it that way and it makes the close encounters you get feel even more special.
It's a very small camp and feels very intimate. We cannot praise it enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Bucks

"David Attenborough & Anthony Bourdain boxset!"

5 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"This was our first safari & Kichaka provided us with a showstopper introduction!

The location was a good 2 hr drive from the Msembe airstrip but rather than being a drag, we had our first intro to our guide's (Moli) encyclopedic skills - each corner contained a new topic and ensured that we covered History, Zoology, Geology and more in what could have simply been a long, dusty drive to camp.

The best description would be to give an overview of the day: These started before 06-00 with coffee brought to our 'tent' (more a hotel room!) before a welcome cooked breakfast with fruit and pastries.....we then left the camp on foot around 07-00 led by our guide and Tanzanian Park Ranger. All guests (no more than six guests in camp at a time) were then treated to Moli's wide ranging and amusing observations on whatever we encountered. Truly fascinating!

The walking safari lasted around five hours, but the time flew and there we plenty of stops of refreshment and a few treats to keep our energy levels up. We were then met by the Kichaka truck who would either return us to camp, or had set up a mobile kitchen to cook us lunch.

That brings me to the cuisine......it certainly wasn't 'simple bush food' but a thoughtfully prepared variety of dishes that presented starters, main courses and deserts that were wonderfully unexpected but a delight. It seems that being in the bush doesn't restrict Kichaka's culinary ambitions!

The afternoons were then a choice of a safari drive or another walking safari.........after a little nap, of course.

The camp was a perfect mix of style & comfort (wonderful beds!) and bush (bucket shower & short-drop loo) that left us feeling that we'd had a wholly authentic experience.

Glamping? Possibly, but it was a holiday that was about more than just nice facilities - the sights, stories and food took it beyond that & the hospitality (10 staff to 6 guests!) made for a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Return to Kichaka- in the green"

7 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2016
"We very rarely revisit places but we came back after just 7 months to experience green Africa, which is testament to the very special experience that Moli and Noelle have created. It's certainly a myth that you don't see animals at this time of year, as we had great animal sightings and also flowers, butterflies and a completely different impression of Africa. Being the only guests in Ruaha was a true privilege and surveying the expansive wilderness from Kichaka's new home up high was like looking over a lost world.

This is a very special safari experience; completely immersive and unique. Thank you Moli and Noelle and all the team." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nomad Aristocrat
NL

"Fantastic guiding"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"Moli and Noelle are an awesome couple and very easy to connect with right away. Moli's guiding and knowledge of "his" environment are second to none and the best I've ever experienced in several safari destinations.

This is definitely a place for people who want to feel completely connected to the bush and it's inhabitants and not for luxury seekers. Although they do an admirable job at providing the creature comforts, (in fact I don't even know how they manage to pull it off so well!), it is ultimately a rustic, simple camp to experience nature rather than simply viewing it. It was by far our favorite destination between the 3 camps we visited although both others were considerably more upmarket.

The food and service were great, the intimate setting and time spent with our hosts very special and made it difficult to say goodbye. Ideal for adventurous and open minded people.
Kitchaka is all bout walking and there are simply none better to do that with than with Moli.

My ratings below reflect the grades based on expectations, and not in absolute terms." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Beyond Unique!"

7 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Operating in a remote part of Ruaha, this is a special wilderness experience. Four nights at base camp and three nights fly camping were a perfect mix for us. We enjoyed walking four/ five hours each morning and evening game drives; a great combination. Game viewing was excellent and Moli is an inspirational guide.

Noelle is an excellent hostess and we enjoyed the food and their company. All in all outstanding; we want to go back!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Queensland

"Unique experience at Kichaka"

5 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"A fabulous experience. Wonderful location for both base and fly camp.

Thoroughly enjoyed walking with the exceptionally knowledgable 'Moli' and was treated to outstanding cuisine by his partner Noelle. A beautiful quiet part of Ruaha park added to our enjoyment. Fantastic sightings of Roan antelope and a family of cheetah.

Combining walking and driving was for us the ultimate safari experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&M
London

"A week on the wild side"

7 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2015
"where to start? and most importantly when to finish? as not to stop readers from reading it all???

We had met Moli and Noelle during a previous trip to Ruaha and since we learnt they opened their own little mobile camp we had wanted to go back and so we finally did!! We immediately thought we should have stayed longer than one week!

Their concept is very simple: a small camp that gives you the freedom of walking where and when and how long you want and makes you feel you are staying with old friends. Combine this with a legendary guide (could be a lecturer) and a fantastic hostess/chef and Kichaka comes straight out of your dreams.

The camp is basic-ish (not luxurious but with everything you need from the vuguvugu shower to toiletries and so on) and mobile so its location can change and you get to explore parts of the park that are completely void of other people...it feels amazing! The animals are curious of you and mostly not overly skittish considering you are on foot. We saw probably a thousand elephants - no I am not joking- lesser kudus, elands, zebras, giraffes, baboons (a troop of them followed us on a river bed for about an hour carefully keeping a distance but checking on us), hyraxes, jackals, mongooses, all kind of birds in great numbers.

One of the most moving experience was walking elephants and watching them without being noticed...there are no words to describe the feeling you just have to be there to understand! Opposite to our previous trip to Ruaha we saw no lions but this is what it is during the green season - this did not bother us at all but may be worth mentioning in case someone expects to see them. It was also a bit hot and humid (as expected but we had to take it easy a couple of afternoon)- again not a criticism but a note for future traveller: the fact that you can walk 5-6 hours in UK does not mean you do not feel the heat there :)

We did 2 nights fly camp and we loved it as we could walk a different area. Moli always makes sure that each walk is done in a new area and oh! we want to film Moli talking about the termite mount and make a documentary out of it! Every day is a new adventure that always finishes with a nice shower, a drink in front of the fire and a delicious dinner!

So to sum it up spending a week with a walking encyclopaedia - but a fun one - and a lovely enthusiastic friendly super hostess in an area of a remote park all for ourselves is...one of the best experience in a lifetime!

All the member of the staff, starting from Salum, are always fun and welcoming and just great - asante sana marafiki! I almost forgot every wish is possible at Kichaka: Noelle and Moli organized a surprise bush lunch for our anniversary, all in secret from my partner and the surprise was just great! Asante tena!" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G
Herts

"Guenuine old style bush experience"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"They are trying to recreate the old bush camp atmosphere and have succeeded . (The trouble is we are older and probably require a bit more comfort now. Unfortunate sickness incompatible with outside WC & shower!)

Beautiful location, very remote and lots of good game.

Everything was very personal ,organised around what you would like to do and very friendly. Superb staff and service .They take great care for your comfort and safety. You would be able to walk (long or short days), and/or drive.

Expert guiding with very entertaining stories although probably did not take into account our depth of prior knowledge.

Since most of the other bush camps (apart from straight camping) have gone up market, this must be one of the few remaining bush experiences left." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss P & Mr C
Weeton

"Superb Safari with Kichaka"

12 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"From the moment we were collected by Moli and Noelle we knew we were in for a great time. They are an absolute joy to be with, both entertaining and full of enthusiasm. Their main camp was like a home from home with stunning views along the river bed and with very friendly staff.

We came to Kichaka to walk and that's exactly what we did. We covered approx. 130 kms over the holiday including around 60 kms of Ruaha riverfront. During our walks with Moli, who proved to be one of the most knowledgeable guides we have ever met, we were treated to many of his fascinating talks. So whether it is the workings of a termite mound or tuskless elephants, you will be totally captivated by Moli's passion for the subject.

We had some lovely elephant encounters on foot and watched a pride of lions cross the river right in front of us. However, the smaller animals gave just as much pleasure such as when we approached a very calm Dik-Dik to within a few metres.

Halfway through our stay we went on a 3 nt expedition to Mpululu in the north of the Park. No tourists have ever stayed overnight in this area. A fly camp was set up on the Mzombe river and we then spent the next few days exploring the area.

One morning we came across a big boulder strewn section of the riverbed, there were hippos everywhere, in the many pools among the boulders, and others making their way up and down the banks of the river. Other animals seen included kudu, giraffe, lion, buffalo and klipspringer. Aside from the immense pleasure for us of walking in areas undiscovered by tourists, one of the highlights was spending 2 of our evenings on Mpululu rock watching the sun go down. It felt like you were on top of the world and could see to the ends of the earth. It was a totally magical and special place.

Each evening, the next days activities are discussed and planned with Moli. You decide whether you want to walk, take a game drive, arrange fly camping or do a 'sleep-out'. The sleep-out tents are small dome tents made entirely of mosquito netting for an all-round view and are great fun. A special mention must go to Noelle's amazing meals which are by far some of the best we have ever had on safari.

All in all, this was a stand-out safari for us - unspoilt Africa at its best in the company of two people who are so very obviously passionate about their surroundings. You cannot ask for more!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 23
98%
23 reviews of Kichaka Expeditions by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (127 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (118 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


98% (40 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (2 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa