This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

186 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 186
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H & Mrs H
London

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"We had seven fun-filled days of great wildlife viewing at and around Kaingo and Mwamba. The name Kaingo (ie. leopard) was certainly programme for us, we were lucky enough to have five leopard sightings, including that elusive daytime leopard on our last day.

The same could be said of Lion Plain - having two large resident lion prides around always makes for exciting trips out into the bush.

The unique set of photograpic hides set up every season by Kaingo were fantastic, everything we were hoping for and more - a photographer's dreas. Also on activities, one clearly notices the guides' awareness and experience with photographers.

Being located further away from the gate and the many lodges in that area, staying at Kaingo provides a great safari experience in diverse, game-rich landscapes with few other vehicles around." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Austin

"Leopards, hippos and more, oh my"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2011
"Wonderful lodging right on the river. We woke to hipps and elephants walking around camp; proliferation of birds and wildlife and the hides (elephant and hippo) were an incredible experience.

The food was excellent and the staff was delightful." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs HA
Pimlico

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2011
"After the deeper bush experience at Mwamba, Kaingo felt more traditional and with a few more luxuries. Taking lunch on your own deck while watching the Luangwa river slowly flow by was wonderfully relaxing. The Hippo hide is a fantastic place and repeatedly interesting, as was the Elephant crossing.
The game viewing was wonderful and we were fortunate to have three good leopard sightings over the three nights, plus very special sightings of Pels Fishing Owls and an Aardvark.

All-in-all the two Shenton camps complement one another wonderfully. The guiding was consistently good and able to flex to meet the knowledge / wishes of the different guests." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Sweden

"Great hides"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2011
"Very short stay. Very mixed guest.

We had an excellent guide, young British guy, Ian (born in Malawi) who was doing what he loved, and he was very good at it. He could actually pass on his love of the environment birds-animals-trees etc to us. And we had a "peeping Tom" experience with a lion couple mating.

Food was of good quality but a bit international/british.

Breakfast before the morning drive/walk was very light, tea only. Not much to walk on. Brunch when we came back. The walk was "a transport" of one guest to the bush camp. We were told 6 km in 2,5 h. No time to stop - look - listen etc. We brought it up with the guide and asked him to slow, which he eventually did.

Hides were of course super." See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mr G
Bangor

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2011
"Kaingo is fantastic.

It feels wild and remote , and we saw an amazing amount of wildlife, including some ferocious hippo fights. Being able to watch hippos from the hide was incredible - though be prepared to duck if they are spraying! The night drives were spectacular, with our guides spotting a camouflaged and motionless leopard , and somehow seeing even the smallest things like elephant shrews. The walking safari was great (and followed by a surprise which I won't spoil!).

Three activities each day means you are busier than in other camps, with a bit less siesta time, but having lunch privately on your own verandah makes up for it!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
USA

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2011
"A bit of luxury in the midst of the South Luangua Park. The cabins were well appointed, and lunch was served on our patio that are built over the river bank. This camp had the largest number of cabins, but the service was personalized. We were treated to a private and romantic dinner one night on our patio served graciously by the staff.

The afternoon activity could be spent at one of the hides - either the hippo hide or the elephant hide. On one of the drives we stopped at a hide at a lagoon and was treated to a small herd of zebras passing by.

The guides were very knowledgeable about the animals and the flora in the park that made the jeep rides most interesting. The guides worked together to report animal sitings and we were fortunate to see a leopard with cubs on one of the night drives." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
THB47
New Zealand

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2011
"The location is great, overlooking the river with lots of hippos, crocs and elephants. Having lunch privately on the chalet deck at the river was great. It was our 25th anniversary and they prepared the most wonderful candle-lit dinner on the deck by the river as a surprise. It was terrific!

The chalets were nice but, once the mosquito nets were down, there was really nowhere to sit. The outside bathtub was fun to use. The meals were good to excellent. Game viewing was a bit disappointing as we really like to see cats and are used to Sabi Sand, where there seem to be more reliable and better cat sightings. But game viewing was still good. Hippo hide is highly recommended as is the elephant crossing viewing platform. We enjoyed walking from Kaingo to Mwamba.

They washed female undies without comment but we later discovered that we should probably not have put them in the laundry as all the other camps we visited would not wash female undies. Expert Africa's information sheets should have stated that female undies would not be washed in Zambia and this information does also not seem to be in the Brandt book that we were given. This is in contrast to a trip we did to Namibia where the tour provider was very clear that no undies would be washed. A small point, but my wife would have packed more undies had she been better informed." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss L
Scotland

"Kaingo experience"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2011
"We were met by Patrick at the airport and had our first game drive on the way to camp. This wasn't what we expected but got the sun cream on, the camera out and enjoyed!

On arrival at camp we were welcomed and shown to our room where lunch was served on our deck. With hippos and crocodiles in the river there was plenty to enjoy. The drums called us for afternoon tea and we then headed out on our evening game drive. Ian was our guide for most of our stay at Kaingo and Mwamba. We found all the guides to be knowledgeable, patient and very helpful. This first day set the pace for the rest of our stay.

Breakfasts and dinners were a communal affair as is usual in camps. Food throughout our stay was delicious, plentiful and beautifully served.

Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff were efficient but very friendly.

We loved being wakened and called to meals by the drums. A real African experience.

We chose Kaingo and Mwamba because of the opportunity to use the photographic hides. These were very well situated allowing a close-up view of hippos and birds and were an ideal mid-day activity.

The camp has a great location on the river bank where we liked to sit and watch the wildlife.

The overall experience was superb. Two nights weren't enough!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M & Dr Y
Richmond

"Kaingo - perefect safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2011
"Kaingo turned out to be everything we had hoped for and more. The camp has, in our opinion, found the perfect balance between remoteness, comfort, setting and serious game viewing, without resorting to the excessive luxury that seems to be the recent vogue in many camps.

The chalets are simple and comfortable and the combination of your own private deck and the more extensive main deck offer stunning views over the river, with hippos, crocs, other game, wonderful birds and to our excitement a leopard on the opposite bank during one short afternoon 'siesta'. The guiding of Ian, Patrick and Kennedy was exceptional and the game viewing terrific. We also particularly liked the fact that the animals came first and were never put under pressure even though the guides very ably positioned the vehicle to catch the light.

The central area is very attractive, the food extremely good and the light lunch on your own deck a very nice touch. The atmosphere in the camp was very relaxed and great fun thanks to Derek, Issy, Lisa, the guides and all the staff, who work tirelessly to optimise your experience. Access to the hippo and elephant hides as part of a midday activity was such a bonus and offered wonderful views and photographic opportunities. In addition, the willingness to take us at any time of day to get the best view of an interesting sighting such as elephants crossing the Luangwa was very much appreciated and added to the air of excitement in the camp.

We would recommend Kaingo v highly and hope very much to return." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2011
"We appreciated to enjoy for KAINGO drives & walks the same very motivated guide as in Mwamba ( Kennedy )

In KAINGO the planning of activties is very accurate.
It gave a busier feeling after Mwamba, but nevertheless very pleasant lodge.
( Sounds quite logic : we were the only guests in Mwamba, and Kaingo was fully booked ! )" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 186
96%
186 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
159
23
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa