This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp
Kaingo Camp

Reviews of Kaingo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

186 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaingo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kaingo Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

58% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 186
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs N
E Sussex

"Kaingo-a real bush safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 27 May 2011
"We arrived to find a South African-organized photographic "workshop" (6 people) in progress-not ideal from our point of view as the only "outsiders" there. However,our hosts at Kaingo had already recognized the potential discomfiture and problems which might arise and thoughtfully gave us our own vehicle and guide throughout (Kennedy), as well as staggering the set-out times for the morning and evening safaris.

Kaingo is in a beautifully remote location in the game-rich northern section of South Luangwa ,and it was really special to have such a vast area to traverse, virtually all to ourselves. Accomodation in your own bungalow with river frontage and deck was as good as we imagined, although it would have been nice to have a ceiling fan if that were possible with the solar power system.

The variety and quality of the food which we were given was first class and we do hope that Lisa can be persuaded to stay to serve up such delightful fayre to future guests. On the evening of the 29th May - our 46th wedding anniversary - we were treated to a surprise private champagne dinner on our riverside deck-a really memorable occasion!

Wildlife viewing, including some of the more unusual creatures, was quite exceptional - even the elephant which appeared immediately outside the window of our bungalow while my wife was having a shower! !zzie and Ian organized things very efficiently for us, Patrick has much accumulated bush wisdom, and Kennedy is a knowledgable guide as well as being a very personable young man. Grateful thanks to them all!!" See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Stratford

"Total tranquillity at Kaingo"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2011
"We transferred from Mwamba to Kaingo on foot, which turned out to be a wonderful experience - being so totally immersed in the vastness, quietness and wildness of this beautiful area was totally unique for us and we will always remember leaving Mwambe as the sun was rising, sharing three hours in the magical early morning light with our guide Meyem and scout Charles. Meyem provided such detailed and interesting information as we walked through different areas, ending up in a lush valley full of impala and a couple of nosey buffalo, before walking into Kaingo camp to be greeted by the whole team. We would recommend the walking transfer to anyone - it's the way to go!

Kaingo was just as wonderful as Mwamba, although so different. The setting overlooking the Luangwa river was perfect and the determination of the staff to maintain the privacy of the guests to enjoy the environment was very much appreciated. During our three nights in Kaingo, hippo and leopard were seen in the camp by the staff, and it was impressed upon us not to wander out of our chalet at night and to be alert at all times - welcome advice after our experience at Mwamba. Richard was in heaven with several pods of hippos visible (and audible!) from our deck, and the hippos hide was a real highlight of our trip.

The number of activities daily was really good, and it was always possible to do just exactly what you wanted to do, when you wanted to do it (although we did have to dash off in the middle of breakfast to watch the elephants crossing the river as clearly they were not going to wait for us). The staff were the friendliest people we have ever met and we truly felt as though we were part of a Kaingo family. Sadly we did not get to meet Jules and the children, but really enjoyed our chats with Derek and congratulate him on running such excellent and unique camps.

We really appreciated the slight changes to the pattern of the day - a surprise sundowner "party" on the banks of the river during one of the game drives, and bush brunch in the ebony forest will always be remembered. The food generally was unbelievably good - the kitchen staff are rightly very proud of their facilities and the food they produce, and it's good to know most of it arrives fresh from their own vegetable garden near Mfuwe on a regular basis. We could have gladly coped with one meal less a day, but it would be hard to know which one - lunch on the private decks was such a great idea. Lisa is to be congratulated on running the catering and administration side of the camp so efficiently and professionally

We have to give a BIG mention to the guides, Meyem, Kennedy and Ian who live and breathe the Luangwa and took us on such incredible journeys, often taking off into the bush to track down a leopard or lion, but always with the interests of the animals uppermost in their minds. Never could we have dreamed we would see so many different animals and birds in a few short days - culminating in the excitement of the hippo being eaten by a pack of lions and scores of crocodiles and vultures on the river bank (a gold star to Meyem for his driving bravado on this one, getting us to the perfect viewing spot with more than a little difficulty!).

Overall - the perfect safari and one we would love to think we might enjoy again at some time in the future. We drove up from Mfuwe with a couple who return regularly, and we can see why. However, our one complaint is the nature of the transport to and from Mfuwe. Whilst this forms part of an arrival and departure game drive, which is most enjoyable (especially on arrival), we did feel very vulnerable in this vehicle on the road from the park gate to the airport. This is not at all a reflection of our drivers, who were both excellent. However being so high and open, with no restraints, we felt that had the driver needed to brake or swerve, we would have been thrown from the vehicle, which did not encourage us to relax. We did notice other camps using more enclosed jeeps for this journey, and this would have been our preference." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Cambridge

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2010
"This was excellent, just what we had hoped for. The camp struck a perfect balance of feeling close to nature and providing creature comforts.

The staff were uniformly good at their jobs, charming, helpful but not intrusive. The guiding and activities were excellent - as there was always a guard as well as the guide driving, there were 2 pairs of expert eyes spotting. Excellent viewing of mammals large and small, and birds. Wonderful photo opportunities.

Very professionally run. Full marks." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Luxborough

"Outstanding Kaingo"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2010
"Outstanding wildlife viewing facilitated by Derek and his team of highly knowledgeable guides.

Comfortable and characterful accommodation situated to make the most of the stunning river-front location, all enhanced by the excellent level of service provided by the pleasant, hospitable and friendly staff.

Thanks to Derek, Jules, Ian, Izzy et al, for being so welcoming." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Chichester

"Excellent team at Kaingo"

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"This is a superb camp, made excellent by the consistent top quality and enthusiam of all the staff - there just appeared to be no weak link. Derek and Jules have clearly put together a great team and show constant effort to go the extra mile with a number of nice small touches. We had some great game viewings with Gondwe and the potentially disruptive handover as managers from Brian & Michelle to Isabelle and Ian (which happened while we were there) was handled in a way that actually added to our experience....

The Shentons (at both Kaingo and Mwamba) have a different timetable from other camps we visited, with a quicker early morning start and an added midday activity. With their specialist hides, this normally works well. We particularly enjoyed the Carmine Bee-eater and Hippo hides (although strangely the highlight at the "Hippo hide" was an elephant amusingly "tobogganing" down the bank to the river....)

This is a lovely camp with a great feel which we'd very much like to return to." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LS
Dorset

"Kaingo Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Spot on! So glad we had booked for 5 days, a visiting agent queried if that was too long but not at all, if we'd had longer we would have transferred to the bush camp for a couple of nights.

Derek and Jules are splendid hosts, Patrick is a guide par excellence, and all the staff did their best to make our stay memorable. The recent arrival of Izzy only added to the professionalism. Game was more than plentiful and the hides added another dimension to the day's activities. Derek was in his element when acting as a guide, much to our benefit.

Only one quibble, lunch was really superfluous!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Kaingo Camp experience"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"Just the right combination of adventure & luxury for us.

Everyone very welcoming." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Norfolk

"The perfect South Luangwa safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"Had a brilliant three day stay at Kaingo Camp. You are far enough into the park that the animals behave naturally for you to feel that you are part of the 'real' Africa.

Gondwe was an expert guide, along with Ben in the evenings, which enabled us to see the elusive leopard at very close range! So close that you felt you could hear her breathe as she walked past the vehicle! She was relaxed enough for us to watch her drinking and then stalking Impala.

Derek is very passionate about the area around Kaingo and has developed brilliant opportunities to see species at very close range in the hides that he has set up. The sound and smell of the Hippos is something we will never forget! We were lucky enough to have Derek accompany us on a visit to the Carmine bee-eater hide, paddling us across the Hippo filled river!

Michelle and Brian were excellent hosts in camp, even organising a private dinner on one evening and a surprise brunch in the Ebony Grove on another occasion. Food was also excellent, particularly Michelle's home made cakes! We really enjoyed the lunches served on our private deck with the Hippos laughing in the background.

There are so many fantastic memories, two of the highlights being the wonderful leopard sightings and a close encounter with the Hollywood pride of Lions as they set off on their evening hunt with the cubs in tow." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Bristol

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Harrogate

"Kaingo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2010
"Especially loved the hippo hide, and the private balcony/terrace where lunch was served" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 186
96%
186 reviews of Kaingo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
159
23
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa