This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp

Reviews of Kakuli Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

65 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kakuli Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kakuli Bushcamp.
Lion

78% success

Leopard

89% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 65
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
BC, Canada

"Kakuli Bushcamp to experience walking safari"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2013
"Kakuli bushcamp was a lovely surprise. Small with 4 tents but this wasn't camping! They were well appointed with very comfortable beds. The food was again of a very high standard and lots of it. Fresh bread daily and the most amazing cakes all in the African bush!! There were only 3 other guests initially and then we were four.

We really enjoyed the walking safaris. Our guide Aubrey was superb. His knowledge of everything in the park was quite amazing. He taught us about safety around the game, tracking, traditional medicines made from plants and various aspects of Zambian village culture. He had many tales all told with great humor and as well poured a mean G and T for our sundowner while watching the elephants cross the river. We both appreciated his immense knowledge and obvious love for South Luangwa National Park as well as his humor.

The camp staff were also cheerful, friendly and efficient. It was lovely to return from a walk to be greeted by Sam with a cold towel and offer of a cold drink. They were very conscious of our safety and comfort in camp which was very reassuring.

When it came time to leave Kakuli Aubrey drove us to the airport stopping on the way at his village where we met his wife and 4 of his children. We also visited Tribal Textiles where the local people make beautiful bedding, purses and wall hangings plus many other items. All the materials are hand painted and sewn on site. Well worth a visit for anyone going to or from the airport at Mfuwe.

I was pleased to see the use of solar power and hope that the capital investment is proving worthwhile. I suggest that glass bottles not be used in the shower and that the sling back chairs be replaced with something more upright for those with bad backs - or that a choice of chairs be offered.

Moses, the ZAWA guide, was good and it seemed like Aubry and he made a good team.

One highlight was meeting Adrian and Katherine Carr on the road back to Mfuwe. I suggest that the approach established by Norman Carr is very compatible with the writings of Aldo Leopold (US forester and game manager) and further suggest that the video ' Green Fire' would be of interest to your staff.

We would definitely return to Kakuli, Aubry and Sam.

I think that the vehicles we experienced at Norman Carr were superior to the ones at Chongwe" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Chenai, India

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Hertfordshire

"Lovely to return after a few years"

4 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2013
"Again, Aubrey, Enoch and all other staff could not have done any more to ensure my stay was as pleasant as possible, in spite of the paucity of game on some walks.

The surprise brunch in the bush at the end of a morning walk, and the special arrangements they made for my last dinner on the river bank ensured a memorable end to a lovely stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Croydon

"Heaven in the bush"

5 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2013
"This was such a fun place. The camp manager, Katie went out of her way to make our stay memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and she was a joy to talk to. The staff were brilliant, helpful and so so courteous. When one of our party was ill, Katie arranged a boat transfer to see the local GP at Kapani. No fuss, but extremely efficient organisation. On our last day she organised an English scone and cream tea which was thoroughly appreciated. Our last night was spent having a wonderful dinner with Katie as we were the only people left in the camp. Sad to say goodbye to the staff, but luckily Katie came back with us to Kapani to deal with her office work.

One point would be that when Kakuli is updated, they organise slightly better lighting and also a fan would be greatly appreciately in the very hot weather. The rooms were slightly stifling at night." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Great fun at the bushcamp"

5 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2013
"A lovely venue overlooking the river.

Wonderful food served in the company of the delightful Katy and the guides. The river was on the low side so it made for difficult viewing over the tributary banks. The birdlife was prolific with Simon our guide getting the boat into position for the best possible photos.

The elephants at lunchtime beneath the viewing platform were so close, that it was fantastic just to sit and watch ." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Bristol

"The old buffalo at its best..."

5 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2013
"Kakuli, Aubrey and Batwell(scouting), it does not get any better than this.

My favourite bush camp, boating and walking safari with the river high enough to transverse the channels.
Super sightings, close encounters but always in safe hands. The experiences never cease to amaze me.

Beautiful location, fantastic food, friendly faces and great service. I will never forget the brunch arranged on top of the riverbank, under the shade of the ebony tree over looking the river. Cooked breakfast to order, 'G and T' in hand after a long morning walking safari, the experience does not get better.

Thankyou to my friend Aubrey and all of the team at Kakuli- memorable!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Doncaster

"Kakuli"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2012
"Another great camp with the added attraction of animals coming down to the water, and its own resident elephant!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chelmsford

"Friendly luxury bush camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"The camp has a lovely setting on the Luangwa river. Spacious and comfortable "tents", friendly, enthusiastic and welcoming staff, good food (how do they provide fresh produce and cook it so well in such a remote place?) good guides and abundant wildlife. This goes for all the Norman Carr camps we stayed at.

Our nighttime visit from Dixon the elephant was quite memorable. The only minor negative was the appearance of mosquitos at night." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Somerset

"Kakuli Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Our walk from Nsolo to Kakuli with Innocent was one of the highlights of our safari. We were very fortunate to see lots of animals and birds along the way. Standing 15m away from 3 giraffes was a magical moment as was the sighting of a leopard sitting in the dry river bed.

We were met at Kakuli by the very capable Amy, who along with her usual duties, had marauding elephants to cope with! We were informed of the safety drill regarding the elephants coming into camp and shown to yet another beautiful chalet. After a delicious lunch and a visit by Dickson, the resident elephant, we happily spent the afternoon on the viewing platform watching a group of elephants with babies drinking and enjoying the water in front of us.
We saw a huge number of animals during our time at Kakuli, particularly during the afternoon/night drives with our guide John. We were thrilled to get very close to giraffe, buffalo, hyena, leopard and even a pride of lions eating a zebra." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Aldershot

"Kahului our third camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2012
"We drove to Kakuli with a game drive on the way which took around three hours, very warm welcome again from our host, This camp is based right on the river packed with hippos and crocodiles . Our tent , as with all of Norman Carr bush camps we stayed in, are spacious with thatched roofs and an open air bathroom, very cool and those beds, so comfortable . Once again the food, excellent . Staff wonderful and nothing is too much bother they are there to please and they surely do that . There is a small troop of baboons that come through the camp mid afternoon to feast on the trees and are great fun to watch" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 65
97%
65 reviews of Kakuli Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (318 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (239 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (213 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (192 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (152 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


98% (119 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (93 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge is now the main office base for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (74 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


99% (69 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


95% (26 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (20 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently undergoing renovations, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2022.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa