This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp

Reviews of Kakuli Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kakuli Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kakuli Bushcamp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

20% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs L
Surrey

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"Average host. We walked to Kakuli with another guide (Lawrence) who was very good. He changed the focus slightly away from poo and concentrated on birds. He was an excellent mimic.

We came across an elephant on the walk and Lawrence immediately made sure we changed direction to move away so that the wind was not blowing our human smell towards the elephant. We were definitely not getting close. In the brochures Norman Carr shows a group of people that look about 30 metres or less from an elephant flapping its ears. According to our guide this would not be allowed to happen. Again our disappointment and annoyance that the walking safaris were misrepresented.

Unfortunately on arrival at Kakuli we were told that our guide for our stay was again to be Julius. Part of the safari experience is to have different guides. As it turned out we had Julius at Kapani as well which meant we had the same guide for 5 of the 9 nights. As Julius was the worst of the 4 guides we had we were not very pleased. We did not feel that we could ask to change the guide." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms W
Bedfordshire

"Fantastic location and great game"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2011
"We thought the location was fabulous with the views over the river and also great for game drives with plenty to see and not many other vehicles. a good place to come after Nsolo and really nice to be able to walk from Nsolo into the camp.

Aubrey, our guide, was fabulous. He was so good with my nephew and nieces, telling stories and really engaging with them, even putting them on the spot and testing if they had listened to him! They loved him (as did the rest of us).

Minor point about food, snacks on sundowners were not always vegetarian." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Dyfed

"Hippos on the Luangwa"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2011
"Arrived at Kakuli to find that we were the only two guests. Sarah was our wonderful host and Aubrey our guide for what was effectively a private safari.

Experiences too numerous to mention, unforgetable moments continued to pile up, however very close encounter with hyena cubs outside their den with one curious cub coming within feet as we sat on a log and watched deserves a special mention." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E
Berkeley

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2011
"Kakuli has a bush camp feel to it, though it was certainly a more substantial lodging than other bush camps. The chalets/tents were very large with a quite spacious bathroom/dressing area. The hot water was provided by on-demand water heaters (powered by firewood), but required about 15 minutes to heat up for the shower. There were flush toilets, complete with resident tree frogs, and plenty of room for luggage. Tap water was completely potable.

The beds were comfortable. The chalets were a combination of reed and thatch with canvas walls. There were also two chairs out on the front porch with a nice view overlooking the river. There are quite a number of hippo and crocs in the river to watch from the tents, and you can hear the hippos calling all the time.

The chitenge was nice with a bar and a verandah that looked out on a marshy area near the river. We saw plenty of hippos, and a pride of lions in this area one morning.

As with the other camps the food was good and plentiful. Hosting was good. Sarah was very nice – she was attentive, personable, and looked after whatever needs we may have had.

The guiding here was very good. I was guided by Aubrey, and he is very knowledgeable and has plenty of good stories about his years of guiding. Easily one of the most personable guides I had during my safari. Kakuli is a walking camp – they do walks as the morning activity and drives as the afternoon activity.

I had 3 walks during my stay – one morning we stalked a herd of buffalo and spent some time sitting with them. On another walk, we had the previously mentioned group of lions walk by during breakfast, and we left immediately to follow them. Aubrey and the scout did fairly well tracking the lions and we sped along fairly quickly to keep up with them before falling behind. The last morning, I walked to the transfer point across the river, and along the way we visited a hyena den where we were able to get within 15 feet of a hyena pup.

Game drive vehicles were again standard Landcruisers with 3 rows of seats. There were pockets in front to hold belongings – big enough for a pair of mid-size binoculars, but not much else.

The ground in South Luangwa is rather broken in areas, so I recommend a sturdy pair of hiking shoes/boots and perhaps a walking stick." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&M
London

"Beautiful bushcamp on the river"

3 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2011
"We spent 3 nights here and for two we were the only guests....lucky as usual! We had all the camp for ourselves as well as Glenn and Simon and the rest of the staff (sorry but we are bad at remembering all the names!).

Being the green season we were taken to Kakuli by boat and we were a little anxious to be so close to all those hippos (millions of them probably!) but the landscape was so beautiful that we soon relaxed.

We like walking and Simon took us for a walk every morning (escorted by Shimek a scout from the park). We saw thousands of birds and lots of mammals as well. One day we stopped for a rest and watched a giraffe with her baby standing about 100 metres from us. unexpectedly (for us) they did not move for quite a long time and simply kept an eye on us. Another day we met a hippo in a small pond hidden by the bushes, this was quite amazing and we did not feel unsafe at all as we were always under strict control of our guides. We simply stopped and when Simon signalled we walked very quietly and the hippo did not even move. Even so, this was quite thrilling!

In the boat safari we saw hippos doing all kind of things and as I said thousands of birds everywhere. Impala and puku are really endemic! Elephants are also in good numbers, despite being scattered in the green season.

We loved the camp as it is small and rustic but perfectly comfortable (I loved the open bathroom in particular). The main area where meals are served is absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed our early morning coffee with the camp team. Perhaps I should not call them "staff" or "team" as they really made us feel like being with friends! Glenn is a perfect host, always looking after us, extremely friendly yet professional. We deeply enjoyed his company (on top of his professional skills of course) and his nice thoughts- he organized a romantic dinner for us on our veranda for our last night there.

Our tented room was fantastic with a view on the river. We saw two hippos mating just sitting there after lunch. It was amazing as we had never seen that before. Food quality was as good as at Kapani (despite being so remote) and we enjoyed the communal meals a lot. Once again the vegetarian options were always tasty.

We wish we will be able to go back in the dry season and walk between camps." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
W Midlands

"A real bush experience at Kakuli"

5 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2011
"The bush walks were slightly compromised by marshy and boggy areas but we were loaned wellington boots by the camp staff and still managed to come face to face with lions whilst we were on foot. Our guide Aubrey was very professional and was able to give us many insights into some of the less obvious aspects of bush natural history.

The camp staff were attentive and friendly and provided us with excellent and varied meals. The camp manager Glen obviously has a good eye for detail and has built a relaxed and efficient camp team. A highlight was one evening when rounding a remote bend in the river to come upon a sundowners bar laid out on the river bank with the camp staff in attendance, a white table cloth laid and candles lit." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
UK

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"Having arrived on foot from Nsolo our greeting by Glenn, the assistant manager was casual as he was more concerned with serving drinks to the guests at the bar. Our tent no 1 was close to the kitchens, with accompanying noises, and we found to our horror that there were thick woollen underblankets on the beds, hardly conducive to a good night's sleep in hot temperatures. Glenn confessed that he had also removed his blankets on his bed on arrival in Camp.

There was also a restricted view of the river from our tent. We asked to be moved on our second night and Glenn recommended tent no 2 which had a fine panoramic view of the river, and we had a much more comfortable night. There was a thatched building below the tents for a closer view of the wildlife with comfortable seating and some coffee table books to enjoy.

The high spot of our holiday was the guiding by Aubrey whom we found to be very informative with the knack of introducing and descriibing an animal, the flora and fauna of the bush in a simplistic way. He often illustrated his points with explicit actions. The walks beside the river were beautiful and the scenery was impressive. On our last morning Innocent from the kitchen joined us as our tea boy and it was he who spotted two lions which prompted Aubrey to lead us in their direction. Innocent was the only tea boy we met who used a kettle to boil the water for our tea.

We were impressed with Lovemore, who was such a courteous and helpful waiter, particularly on our second evening when he was watchful over us as we ate our dinner on our veranda with Ned the elephant nearby. The Brunch meals were delicious and we were impressed with the loaf in the shape of a crocodile! On the second evening one of us asked for cheese and biscuits in place of dessert and whilst we were on our night drive the chef made the biscuits." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms L
USA

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"Highlight of our Zambian stay, Night drives were superb.

Aubrey is a great guide. In the that context should add on our first night at Kakuli (Sep 8, 2010) there was an incident when our safari vehicle, driven by Aubrey was (briefly) stuck in the sand while we wanted to get a better and closer viewer of a pride of lions. One of the other tourists in the vehicle (an English lady whose name I don't remember) became very agitated and in the following days requested a different guide (which she got) and said the Aubrey acted in an "unprofessional" manner during the incident.

I am concerned that she might have passed her opinion to the management at Norman Carr and that this might have a negative impact on Aubrey's situation. In particular, I want to say that my wife and I were present for the entire (brief) time while the vehicle was stuck and that during that entire time we can say with confidence that Aubrey acted in a 100% professional and appropriate manner. Not for a moment during that time did I feel unsafe or frightened. If you want more details from me about this, please feel free to contact me. On the other hand, if the hypersensitive lady never did register a complaint to you than do feel free to completely ignore these comments.

I have also sent an email to Norman Carr regarding this." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & friend
Italy

"The best sundowner ever!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"Kakuli was our last camp in South Luangwa. We arrived in Kakuli form Nsolo with a morning walk between the two camps: 3.5-4.0 hours are needed to do this, but it is really a nice experience to do.

In Kakuli, with Aubrey, our guide, we had a nice morning walk, where we tracked, hearing her roaring, a lioness, and also two very nice night drives, where we are able to spot leopards, lions, hyenas, giraffes, porcupines, civets and many other animals. But the best thing was the sundowner of our last night in South Luangwa: Glen organized this at a lagoon, where we arrived just for the sunset, a wonderful african sunset in a fantastic location, where we had drinks and popcorn prepared directly on the fire! Definitely the best way to end our safari! Thanks Glen and all the staff!

But the Valley had for us a last surprise on the way from Kakuli to the airport, where I spotted a leopard hanging on a branch of a tree just on the road: a nice way to say goodbye to South Luangwa!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2010
"We loved our stay here (it was our second visit). Aubrey and team, with Paul who had guided us in Luwi, were great. Glen, the manager, is a very nice chap but a bit inexperienced - he needs to learn about communication: Various members of staff had malaria but this only became apparent on questioning; some american visitors were moved from their room without their knowing so that the room could be prepared for other visitors - who did not arrive until after the americans had left. Overall, though, we had a great time.

The MD of N Carr (Dave) paid a brief visit and we mentioned to him that we felt that the camps were super and that the food had improved enormously in quality in the last five years.

Our cabin was excellent but the Thatch (roof) came down so low that very shortly after arrival I walked into it and had to have various bits of elephant grass removed from my (bald) head by Ann." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 61
97%
61 reviews of Kakuli Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa