This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp
Kakuli Bushcamp

Reviews of Kakuli Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kakuli Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kakuli Bushcamp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

20% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Scrub hares
London

"We loved Kakuli"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2010
"Also our second visit. Literally everything about our stay at Kakuli was wonderful, starting with the welcome party led by Aubrey and Priya waiting on the riverbank for our boat. The location is superb, and recent work to the accommodation has made the rooms/tents even more comfortable.

Like Kapani, the food was delicious and we were again astonished at how so much is achieved in this remote location. Our guides Aubrey and Laurence were superb, and delivered surprising and thrilling game trips: we will never forget being within a couple of metres from two lionesses hiding from us in the bushes!

We hadn't realised we would be able to do so much walking in the bush at this time of year: the balance between boating and walking was perfect. We simply love everything about Kakuli and its staff." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Glos

"Great location, over-protective."

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2009
"Great camp - lots of activity seen from rest/bar area and from our room,which had a lot of character.

Again camp safety arrangements OTT with (eg) staff over-reacting to risk from elephant not behaving in threatening manner (chasing with brooms does tend to elicit a charge) and escort back to room at night (we were not allowed out on our own) 'panicking' when we saw an elephant minding its own business, not on our route, quietly browsing, and hurrying back to find the scout.

Finally got our own guide in a sensible group size." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"friendly knowledgable staff, beautiful location, care and attention" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms AW
SW London

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2009
"This was my favourite bush camp overall and perhaps the one I enjoyed the most. Robin, the manager, had a very relaxed manner about him and nothing was too much trouble for him. The camp had a very intimate atmosphere.

Our guide Aubrey was again excellent. We went on a few walking safaris with him and they were the most intersting of all of the camps we stayed at. He had a good understanding of nature. I liked the fact that at both Norman Carr camps the same guide stayed with you. I also liked the fact that a park ranger came with us out in the bush on each excurision.

The camp is in a beautiful location and the central lodge or meeting area is idyllic. I also think we saw the best game here: pride of 12, leopard making a kill, python wrapped around a dead impala. Hippos were in abundance here and the tents provided great views of them. On the walkign safari we got close to zebra, an elpephant, a hippo, and also saw a lioness chase 2 impalas.

Another plus for this camp is that you are truly out in the bush and apart from the other jeep at the camp that is all we saw. You are in the park here and have easy access where as at Kapani you have to drive into the park and also share the game with lots of other camps. The food at Kapani was slighlty better but both offered great salads. But if one has never been on safari and wants electricity, perhaps this is not the place for them." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Rugeley

"Lions at Kakuli"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2009
"Kakuli camp was set in a fantastic location right by the river. Lots of comical hippos to keep us company and awake. Walks and drives as ever were excellent.

Our guide, Aubrey, was fantastic. The way he brought everything together from the animals, birds, habitat, reasons behind animal behaviour, he made the walking safari just as exciting as the game drives by way of showing signs and tracks of the animals themselves.

A pride of lions (about 10 including a male) was sighted, all very full, sleepy and contented (a bit like us really!!). Thanks Aubrey.

Food was first class, yet again. Emanuel, one of the front of house staff, was brilliant, taught us one or two Zambian words, which greatly amused him and Michael.

We felt accommodation was good overall, but certainly not clean. Little disappointed on arrival to note that the toilet seat was totally split into two pieces and didnot appear to have been cleaned for a while. If a thorough cleaning had taken place the toilet seat would have been immediately noticed as broken. The hand basin again had not seen a good clean for quite a while, ground in dirt around taps and basin. Once we had alerted Robin to the broken toilet seat it was replaced quickly, but should never have been left in that state.

A perfect camp for exceptional bird sightings." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
riguss
Belgium

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2009
"Too short to really get the feeling of the place and had no opportunity to walk to Nsolo and Lwui. Next time, we hope. But very professional and enjoyable." See all these reviews: 8n in Mozambique; 5n in Zambia; 1n in Tanzania; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Greece

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2009
"Everything was excellent. Levy is a great guide, a very interesting person.

Teresa is an excellent hostess, gentle and discrete." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AL
France

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Great location but accomodation rather basic and not what we expected. Bed was very uncomfortable, shower a disaster and wc seat a joke. If this is the camp which is to be used during the wet season serious attention to maintainance and detail is required.

Guiding by Simon and Aubrey was superb." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Farnham

"very good for lions"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2008
"Lovely location. Overall standard of accommodation was very good.

Our only real gripe was that we were given the end tent/cabin which was open to the bush and could not understand why we had to be escorted to and from dinner in the evening, but it was considered alright for us to walk ten yards from our front door, quite unprotected, unhidden and unsheltered to the passage leading to the bathroom, at say, 1 and 4 am, when we had been told there were hyenas and lions around the camp at night. I asked for a plastic bucket and got, eventually, an old plastic paint container to pee in, but only when I insisted. We were able to move to an alternative tent for our remaining nights.

Lovely dining area looking out over the river. We saw lions, cubs and adults, with breakfast one morning. There was less variety of landscape than in the other camps but we had excellent walks and interesting drives." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T
Hertfordshire

"noisy hippos; great people"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"My main contacts during my stay here were Lucinda and Aubrey, and again, no one could have been more friendly and helpful. Some really great sightings of lion, especially with the 5 cubs. My favourite is the one with leopard markings, which I had never seen on a cub before. I'm sure not many can look like that.

With all Africa around us, Lucinda and I ended up discussing Rocking Horses!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 61
97%
61 reviews of Kakuli Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa