This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lion Camp
Lion Camp
Lion Camp
Lion Camp
Lion Camp

Reviews of Lion Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lion Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lion Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

91% success

Wild dog

30% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Eland

20% success

Roan antelope

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-25 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
Ms N
San Francisco

"The place to go for lions"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"This was my 3rd and final lodge in Zambia.

The lodge is beautifully designed with a combination of wood and brightly colored fabrics.
The setting is magnificent with plenty of puku, bush backs, impala, baboons, kudu and elephants wandering about in the landscape just outside the main dining area/room verandas. I even heard a lion during the morning hours last night.
I was put in the honeymoon suite which offers a nice corner view. However, it was probably the smallest of my three lodges and couldn't compete with the Puku Ridge view.

Our guide, Hendrix, knows the area and is eager to please you with your first lion sighting.
No better place for lions. In my first 24 hours, I saw two large prides of lions (more than 10 lions each) and 4 adult males. I also saw a herd of maybe 500 buffalo which offered the opportunity to witness both a pretty intense fight between two of them and a number of lions stalking them in an unsuccessful attempt at a kill. Of course, all the other animals are here as well although much of the focus is on the lions. It seems like there may be somewhat fewer elephants, giraffes and zebra here than further south.

The lodge has a communal orientation with all guests eating together with the hosts and guides at a large dining table in the main veranda and once a week all the guests meet at a common spot on the river for their sundowner. A drum calls guests to meals and tea time, which is a delightful component of "lodge life." The communal feel is different than at Nkwali, however. Nkwali is a bit more relaxed with greater camaraderie across the staff and between the guests. Here, people put on dress shirts for dinner and cross group conversation was more forced.

Why stay: groups of lions doing their thing! Fits image of what a high-end African safari lodge experience would be like

Dislike: Across my entire safari, Most lodges employed white foreigners to serve as host or Camp Manager. Given my orientations, I would have preferred local people to be in senior staff positions. Lion Camp, in particular, felt a bit colonial. There wasn't much camaraderie between the foreign managers and the local staff and, while it is difficult to explain, it felt like the staff held more of a secondary status. This made me a bit uncomfortable." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Erna
Netherlands

"Beautiful camp hidden in quiet part of SL"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2014
"Lion Camp is a great place hidden in the northern part of the South Luangwa Park. The camp has a fine ambiance, nice and friendly staff and is beautifully decorated. The rooms are quiet, lovely designed and have a great view on the lagoon filled with water. This means that you will see wildlife every moment of the day. Elephants, hippo’s (and others) can even wander through the camp. And if you are lucky a kill is made on the plains in front of the camp. Food is amazing also for vegetarians as myself, not only diversity but also the use of spices and fresh ingredients.
Dining together of visitors, guides and staff makes a nice mix of people and stories from all over the world.

Being on safari here you will meet no people from other camps which means you are completely alone in the bush, at least I was. Guiding is done with expertise and very pleasant. You can choose between walking and driving, also night drives are made and they are very special.
I saw lions and leopards with cubs, elephants, giraffes, lot of birds and all kind of antelopes.

The team of Expert Africa is not too keen on this camp as I read in their own review, I think it is time for a new perspective and hope they pay the camp another visit. I am happy to have been here and would like to visit again if possible. Thanks Lion Camp for the pleasant stay.

Erna" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
Wimbledon

"Wonderful Safari at Lion Camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"The location of Lion Camp is wonderful. It overlooks a watercourse that was visited throughout the day (this was October when the water in the Luangwa River was low and occupied only a small portion of the riverbed) by wildlife and there was a constant stream of animals arriving and departing in the middle of the day between our game drives (except a pair of hippos who spent our first 48 hours almost motionless in the water directly in front of our chalet) including lions and elephants with their calves. We even had lions wandering through the camp for most of one night - the chalets are elevatd on stilts and linked by a walkway to the main facilities.

The game drives and the guides were excellent.They matched or exceeded our safari experience in several other countries but with far fewer vehicles than say the Masai Mara. At most there were 4 vehicles, 3 from Lion Camp and one other at sightings, due to the camp being further from the entrance to the park than most camps. We frequently saw a large pride of lions with their cubs, resting or chewing on the remains of buffalo, on two consecutive nights we saw a leopard and on our last morning we saw one in a tree and then jumping down. Also a pack of hyenas and lots of hippos in the river.

The chalets are fine, comfortable beds, well furnished, a deck overlooking the watercourse, loo with a door and washing facilities and shower tucked away reasonably private - we were father and daughter.

The staff were welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere was great. You soon get to know the other guests at mealtimes and over a few drinks which are readily available in the all-included price. The food is of a high standard.

Through Expert Africa we had arranged for the the camp to send a taxi to collect us from Chipata, some 3 hours to reach Mfuwe near the entrance to the park. I confirmed the collection arrangements the day before and all went well.This was an interesting journey through the countryside and many villages, and then the camp collected us from Mfuwe for the longish journey to the camp. Even from the road through the park we saw elephants, giraffes and a pride of 15 lions resting by the roadside after a buffalo kill the previous evening." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G
Christchurch

"Lion Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2013
"Great location, liked the raised walkways. Taking the meals together at one big table worked most of the time but not when we were swamped by an American religious group.

The walking safari was rather boring." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr G
Christchurch, NZ

"The Best!"

5 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2013
"This was our best experience. We liked the design that brought everyone together in a central core, the offer of drinks upon our return from a drive, that all guests ate together at a common table, and that the guides ate with us. All these factors contributed to a most enjoyable experience

I don't know the degree to which the long serving manager had contributed to this, I presume a great deal, but she was only peripherally present for us during our stay. A great deal of the present success I suspect must be attributed to the Australian Operations manager who was always there and worked very hard." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-25 of 25
94%
25 reviews of Lion Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (301 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (221 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (203 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (182 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (113 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (87 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (72 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (41 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (15 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa