This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp

Reviews of Luangwa River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Luangwa River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Luangwa River Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

25% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Buffalo

81% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
CA, USA

"Could have stayed longer at the camp"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"It was nice to go to such a luxurious place after almost a week in the bush.

Would have liked to stay at least another day, and do another night drive." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss CH
E London

"Polly was fantastic"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"Although I only stayed one night as I was flying home the next day I was made to feel really at home during my time there." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Reading

"Lovely last camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2014
"We stayed at Luangwa river camp for the last two nights of our trip and it made a good ending to a great holiday. The resident elephant family seemed happy to share the site with us.

Having come from more remote camps we wondered if we might find the park too busy. There were more vehicles and roads but it was not a problem. We had excellent leopard, lion and wild dog sightings. The river was still quite high so entrance to the park was by boat which made a great start to the game drives.

Polly and team are wonderful hosts and lead lively conversations in the bar and over dinner. The food is excellent and very varied, we were not expecting this standard. The extra little touches mean a lot...the bag of muffins in case we were hungry at the airport were very much appreciated, especially since it was hard to leave." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L
Tunbridge Wells

"Luangwa River Camp review"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Polly the hostess made us very welcome here. It is a small camp and we were only there for one night. The camp is fronted by the river - it is a beautiful setting and we reached it by boat, which added another dimension to our trip. It was good to be actually on the river, if only for a short while. The chalets are of high quality, and it is very peaceful.

There were only 4 other guests whilst we were there and everyone eats together at a set time. If we had been staying longer I think we would have preferred a more 'staggered' time for eating, as we are not so keen on a set time, but everyone was very friendly and sociable.

We particularly enjoyed the 'stir-fry' b-b-q whilst we were there for the evening, out under the glorious night sky." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Leopards everywhere!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2014
"We arrived in pouring rain and were not impressed at having to negotiate muddy and slippery river banks and a boat trip in the dark to reach the camp when still in our travelling clothes. We were very concerned that our luggage would get soaked through; perhaps a waterproof covering could be provided in the car/boat? However the warm welcome from Polly and Sebastian and a welcome drink soon restored our equanimity. Polly was an excellent hostess and Sebastian appeared to have an almost magnetic attraction for leopards!

Our room was very comfortable though some aspects were looking a little tired. The sunken bath is an impressive feature but unfortunately the water system is not up to filling it! We understand that the rooms are to undergo a full redesign and refurbishment and if Polly's description is anything to go by will be lovely when this is complete.

Food was excellent (particularly some fantastic beef fillet) and service impeccable." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Hong Kong

"Luangwa River Camp Review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"After a long journey from Hong Kong, I was warmly welcomed by Polly and her team at LRC. I was the only guest during my stay and I was treated like a rock star.

My intrepid guide Sebastian bent over backwards to accommodate my questions and preferences. My room was spacious luxurious and cosy. The food was excellent and carefully prepared -- the morning porridge was a great touch. All in all, a phenomenal way to start my Luangwa adventure." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Bristol

"Luanga River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"The most luxurious of the lodges I went to. Beautiful lodge house with infinity pool! And lovely water features. The rooms are beautiful - mine had possibly the largest private bathroom I've ever seen. Hostess Polly a delight.

The crossing of the river into the park made for a spectacular start to a drive. The Park here is a little busier than at some other places. On one occasion we had the experience of being one vehicle among half a dozen surrounding a pride of lions - I guess this is what it's like in some of the more commercially exploited safari parks elsewhere. Having said that, the rest of the time we managed to avoid other people and the walking in the morning was great." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Germany

"Luxurious Camp in the Central Area"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Luangwa River Camp is perfectly located on the Bank of Luangwa river outside of the National Park!

The chalets are spacious and luxurious and you have a fantastic view from the camp at and over the river. All people at the camp are friendly and helpful and the food was not only very good but also imaginative!

Although the camp is located outside the park it's easy and quick to get into the park - just by crossing the river with the vehicle passing many crocodiles and some irritated hippos.

Inside the park the game drives take place in the central (Mfuwe) area of the South Luangwa National Park where you can see much game and it seems to be the best place to see leopards in Zambia!

But there are not only many animals in this area but unfortunately also many other vehicles especially at the night drives. One morning we saw a beautiful male leopard and when we returned to this area again in the afternoon there were 13 vehicles standig at or around this poor animal!

Nevertheless it is a great area to observe wildlife and the Lunagwa River Camp a perfect place to stay" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Hants

"Such comfort at Luangwa river camp"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"A big surprise to find ourselves arriving by driving across the river with the crocs and hippos in evidence as the water lapped the top of the wheels!

Polly is the hostess with the mostess and she and all the staff went out of their way to make everything perfect for us and the camp is so comfortable. Both my grandchildren had birthdays while we were there and she produced wonderful boxed "bush" birthday presents in the shape of a sausage from the tree for the 12 year old and a box of dried elephant dung for the 15 year old!! - they were highly amused. Also they each received a delicious iced cake complete with candles - such a treat.

Sebastian was ever patient and an easy, humourous guide, ever answering questions which must be tiring! We also had a good day visit to the Kawaza school and lunch at the village, and appreciated our dinner even more than usual!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Luangwa River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 59
96%
59 reviews of Luangwa River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa