This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp

Reviews of Mchenja Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mchenja Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mchenja Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

30% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Zebra

91% success

Buffalo

90% success

Wildebeest

45% success

Eland

18% success

Roan antelope

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Ms D & Mr B
Berks

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"I liked the situation of this camp but our guide, Simon, was very poor. He just chatted to the scout and ignored his passengers when in the vehicle and was abrupt to the point of rudeness when out. He didn't bother to try and develop a relationship with us or the Jacksons, didn't ask what our interests were, was about to drive past a herd of elephants about to cross the road in front of us and I had to ask him to stop and let us see them. He didn't know that the Jackson's had never seen elephants up close." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L
Surrey

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"Good host and an interesting group staying at the camp. Guide (Julius) was not so good . Seemed to spend too much time chatting to the gun man during drives. The walking safari at Mchenja was along the same lines as the previous ones focusing mainly on poo.

The game drives were at a much better pace and because of the area the viewings were better." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Guildford

"Luxury in the bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2011
"Mchenja offered a more luxurious stay on safari. Our very comfortable room provided wonderful views of the river together with the resident hippos and their dawn chorus!

All our guided walks and drives were brilliant and the knowledge of the guides was amazing! More jeeps in the vicinity did not always offer that more personal viewing of the animals; however our guides made every effort to avoid being part of any large groups of people that would spoil our experience.

Overall, Mchenja was an excellent experience which we could highly recommend!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Dyfed

"A fitting climax to the holiday"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2011
"After a relaxing walk from Nsolo a sensational arrival. Aubrey came tearing over and dragged us off in a vehicle for a unique viewing of a huge pride of lions killing a buffalo. This apparently is a very rare occurrence because the lionesses were teaching a young male( about to leave the pride) how to bring down a buffalo and finish a kill - not for the squeamish.

We met Andrew our guide at Mchenja and again some wonderful walks and night drives, Andrew had an amazing knack for finding anything we wished to see from leopard to chameleon, three very special days at the end of our holiday." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
San Fran

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"This camp was very well run. The rooms were lovely.

Finally saw our first giraffe." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & friend
Italy

"Away from the crowd"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"During the firts night drive, John, our guide, received via radio the information that my luggage was in my tent: even if that day was already fantastic, this news gave me an extra happiness!

In Mchenja, Charlotte and our guide John did a great job and we enjoyed very much this camp, where we met also other very nice guests, as also was the case in all the other camps.

John tried very hard to find a leopard, that we saw also during the transfer to Luwi. Night drives were really very interesting, with the opportunity to see the bush in complete different perspective: notturnal animals like civets, genets, porcupines, owls, but also the different behaviour of animals like impala, puku, etc.

Nice to hear, during the night, hippos "walking" around your tent, and other animals using the camp as their own territory: I think this is another feeling that can be met only in such places. Frogs in the camp liked to stay in the night in our bathroom and in our tent: but do not tell this to Lawrence........." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Hampshire

"First visit to Mchenja"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2009
"Mindy ran the camp with a quiet, friendly efficiency and was always available. We very much enjoyed sharing meals with her. Whilst the variety and quality of the food was excellent, we have rated it as good because it did not always take account of my very special dietary requirements - vegetables were often too hard for me to eat. The laundry service was very efficient and much appreciated.

Levy and Godfrey were excellent guides and made every game drive an experience to savour and remember. We learnt so much from them and enjoyed their enthusiasm and humour. Bird life was superb and there were several leopard sightings, lots of monitor lizards as well as all the more usual animals. Great to see so many baby impalas.

The room was comfortable and well-equipped with an excellent shower but the absence of mosquito nets made for uncomfortable nights. The mesh covering the windows was not sufficient to keep out even the larger insects which came in through other gaps. We realise it was our choice to come at a time when insects were most prolific but nets would have helped.

The plunge pool was less than inviting, with a variety of dead creatures floating in it!!

Thankyou to the whole team for looking after us and giving us a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Glos

"Luxury in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2009
"Lovely camp - the tents are fantastic!

Good walks with lots of little details and track interpretation.

Enjoyed listening to Pel's Fishing Owl in the evening." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Mr L
Northants

"Luxuriant safari at Mchenja"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"We loved the difference in look and feel of the accommodation at the various places we stayed, but felt that the rooms at Mchenja were the most romantic and gave the most elegant impression. The location on the river bank was lovely and the outside deck was a great place to siesta as lots of antelope and birds came very close. However it didn't feel quite as private as either Kpani or Nsolo,as we could see our neighbour and the chitenje from our deck.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, but special mention of Levy and Mindy, who were both great fun and made sure our stay was perfect. Levy put in lots of effort to track down whatever we asked him for, the leopard being our obvious favourite. The only improvement I could suggest is for there to be more light in the chitenje in the evenings that doesn't rely on candles; very dark when it was windy." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hove

"Wonderful game at Mchenja."

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2009
"Driving to the camp from the airport we were treated to some excellent game, Elephant, Buffalo, lions, Hyena and even wild dogs, all in the space of a couple of hours - fantastic!

The camp lived up to all expectations, lovely setting, great food and extremely helpful hosts and guides. The rooms were of and excellent standard and it was fun sharing the shower with a number of tree frogs! The only comment we would make was ,unlike the other two camps there were no mosquito nets over the bed and we got bitten where as we hadn't at the other two.

A great camp which we would definitely visit again!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 66
98%
66 reviews of Mchenja Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (303 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (222 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (204 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (183 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (114 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (88 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (73 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (41 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa