This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

45% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Bedford

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2010
"Thanks to Ian and Patrick this is a great place. Showing the importance of hands-on management and professional guides.

The rooms are certainly to be commanded, particularly when comparing with the main camp (Kaingo) and Patrick is a first class guide. He made a superb pair with the scout whose name we don't remember." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Italy

"Mwamba Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"Lovely bush camp, with a lot of game around and through it, great!

Excellent walks and game drives.

Thanks to everybody for the unforgettable stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs B
Herts

"Mwamba Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2009
"A superbly located small bush camp located on the banks of the (in October) dry Mwamba river. Josh and his team did a fantastic job of delivering absolutely first rate service in challenging circumstances - elephant came through camp two out of the three nights we were there, the first night demolishing part of the kitchen, and the third night trashing our shower, and for good measure, the kitchen again. How he kept his humour, we'll never know!

Patrick was an absolutely superlative guide - extremely knowlegeable, always friendly and good humoured, and with an ability to spot anything. That leopard sighting in the tree still makes our hearts race. Gideon was a great spotter. The in-house hide is fabulous - located overlooking a small pumped water pool, and attracting a lot of wildlife; a very tranquil location to catch up after breakfast on the photo downloads and back-ups while waiting for activity.

We were particularly lucky to be sharing the camp with just one other delightful couple for the first two nights, although we could guess the intimacy could be a little more challenging with less enchanting guests. One small note - our chalet was located under the branches of a fig tree. The baboons took great delight in pelting us with figs while showering, and it was probably the abundance of figs that encouraged the elephants to visit around 1am in the morning. The other two chalets did not appear to be affected.

Patrick - if you read this - thank you for sharing in your "little piece of paradise". And Jsoh - for a first time Africa hand, you did a fabulous job. Again, if the scale went above "Excellent" Mwamba would receive even higher marks." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Heaven with flies"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"Mwamba means heaven and this place was certainly that, Josh the Manager had moved from Kaingo the day before we did and did a splendid job during our stay at the camp, the setting is so peaceful with lots of sightings in and around the camp.

Maen was our guide for the majority of the trips out from the camp and did a fantastic job, one morning drive started with elephants and zebras, moved onto eight lions hunting two buffalo which they failed to bring down (buffalos can really run when they need to) then morning tea at the elephant crossing, all seen in perfect light which gave opportunity of fantastic photos.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Lymington

"Mwamba Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"Exactly the same comments as per Kaingo. [Ed: this traveller commented: 'All aspects of the camp were first rate. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, very professionally run.']

If anything I preferred Mwamba as it was more intimate." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Bath

"Mwamba Bush Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"Excellent guiding and very welcoming staff. Camp is informal and relaxing and one feels at home immediately." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Surrey

"Mwamba Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"Good walk to Mwamba with Patrick - Very knowledgeable with a real african perspective. Food was of a very high standard (one of the best!) Young camp catering manager (Josh) was particularly enthusiastic and welcoming. His team worked hard to give us a memorable stay.

Tracking lions on foot with Meyam (super guide) & Gideon was a highlight of the entire trip. Night drives covered some of the same territory as Kaingo, but some good sightings at dusk.

Several animals in the camp (Elephant, hyena and leopard) but safety was an absolute priority" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Oakham

"Mwamba bushcamp"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"This was our third visit and we found Mwamba almost as we left it two years ago - a very comfortable, friendly, and excitingly wild bush camp. There were a few changes however - a redesigned lookout/sunset viewing spot, a different manager and a new guide. Meyam has a number of years guiding in South Luangwa and we found him very personable and were very happy to benefit from his extemsive knowledge both on drives and when walking.

Gideon was again our scout and a highlight was him spotting a pack of 16 wild dogs while we were walking. The new camp manager, Josh, who had been in post for only 6 weeks did a great job and was very helpful, pleasant and welcoming, but we did miss the wealth of knowledge and experience of the camp's previous manager and guide.

We enjoyed another lovely picnic on the banks of the Luangwa on our last day. The need to be accompanied to the nearby hide at the edge of the camp, where previously one could go alone (apparently there was an incident) was a bit inhibiting, but presumably necessary on safety grounds. The provision of bucket showers was a bit hit and miss and some of the breakfast biscuits were hard enough to break teeth!

But these are very minor gripes and overall we loved it and would certainly return if possible. It remains one of our favourite bush camps." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Close to nature"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"Josh, all on his own and in his first season, was doing an excellent job. Meyam and Gideon are knowledgeable and informative, and took 3 of the guests on a walk with excellent, close, views of lions.

The camp really gives a feeling of living in the bush. We nearly shared our bathroom with an elephant; the ladies in the next chalet experienced the demolition of their bathroom one night - so they extended their stay.

We had excellent sun-downer locations.



" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mrs G
UK

"Mwamba Magic!"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2009
"Chris & Lisa's comments -

We walked from Kaingo to Mwamba (about 3 hours easy stroll). This was a lovely way to arrive in camp for the first time. It is hard to imagine that this bush camp is built from scratch each season, so much work! You get a real feeling of being in the wilderness at Mwamba.

The rooms have open panels (with mosquito nets) in the ceiling so you can lie in bed & see the stars. The bathrooms have no roof & we loved being able to shower under the stars listening to the chorus of bats, frogs & crickets. Josh the camp manager was great fun & very helpful, we are sure he will have a great season at Mwamba.

The food was to the same standard & just as plentiful as a Kaingo, there was no issue with two of the four of our group being vegetarian. Battery charging for our cameras etc was no problem here as at Kaingo. As with Kaingo there are magic laundry baskets here - dirty clothes go in & later that day they arrive clean & ironed on your bed. I want one at home!

John & Uschi's comments -
Again, Chris and Lisa said it all. We totally agree. Mwamba was magic. You feel so close to the wilderness.

We loved the walking safari, sundowners up on the termite mound, and early morning coffees by the river. From Mwamba, we also had that great experience on a night drive when we found the male lions. All that roaring and mating around us gave us quite some chills! Fantastic!

Again, we would love to come back!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 101-110 of 124
99%
124 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa