This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

45% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Dr M & Dr Y
Richmond

"Mwamba - great bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2011
"We chose to walk to Mwamba bushcamp from Kaingo (highly recommended) and were lucky to have Derek Shenton as our guide which we very much appreciated and seeing lions on foot was an added bonus.

Mwamba is a lovely small camp, with a great atmosphere and combines perfectly with Kaingo. Although a bushcamp it is very comfortable and we loved the chalets which are cleverly located, private and immersed in the bush. We saw elephant, impala, puku, baboons etc from our veranda. The open bathroom is wonderful and the view of the stars through the chalet skylight as the lions roared will live long in our memory. The camp host Debs worked tirelessly to make our stay special and our guide Mayem was excellent, extremely knowledgeable and accommodating.

Being a smaller camp with a single guide and six guests the activities need to be agreed in advance, this was not a problem, but perhaps this might be explained to guests on arrival to avoid confusion. We had wonderful game viewing, delicious food and great company. Finally, we loved being woken by the drums at Mwamba and Kaingo and the top drummer Zimba followed us to Mwamba - wish I had asked for a lesson!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E
Berkeley

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2011
"This is definitely a bush camp. The facilities are a bit primitive, but certainly “luxurious” for anybody used to a rougher sort of camping. While the chalets are reed and thatch, the beds are comfortable and the toilets flush. The showers are of the “bucket” variety and the staff is happy to fill it whenever you like given 15-20 minutes notice. I would suggest that they need to change the shower head to something that produced a bit more water and pressure than the current dribble. All the water was potable here. Tap water was completely potable.

What's nice about the chalets is that they have open skylights in the roof that are covered with mesh giving you a view of the night sky from your bed. The front porch has two chairs with a view over a channel of water (generally dry).

The common areas include a chitenge with a bar where most of the meals are taken. There are also other sitting areas, including one near the channel and another on top of a very large termite mound. All-in-all, this is a very comfortable bush camp. The camp is on solar power, and they do offer to charge your electronic devices, like camera batteries. All you have to do is leave your charger with the camp manager, and she'll take care of it for you.

When I was there, there was a resident group of baboons that commute back and forth in front of the camp every day; as well as, a number of elephants that would come by on occasion. Also, there were plenty of other wildlife – impala, puku, mongoose, etc. about camp.

The food was good. They do things a bit differently than the other camps I stayed at. They do tea at 6:00 a.m. (basically just beverages plus cookies), and then do a full breakfast (English) at 9:30 a.m., then a lunch after the noon activity, and then afternoon tea, and then a late dinner. All of the food was good and they certainly feed you enough.

The guiding was very good – and geared towards photographers. More than any other camp, the guides are sensitive to the needs of a photographer. They take care in positioning the vehicle, pay attention to the light, and have a pretty good sense of photographic opportunities. For example, we were driving around during the afternoon game drive, and the sun was setting and I was looking for a good setting for a sunset photo. Before I could say anything, the guide asked if we wanted to stop to get the setting sun behind some trees and had recognized a good spot for that. The guide was also able to recognize when a particular sighting was a bit static (e.g. a bunch of wildebeest just standing around not doing much of anything), and could tell when it was probably time to move on.

With other guides, I had to give quite a bit more guidance in terms of what I wanted photographically, but I rarely had to with the guide at Mwamba. He was also used to photographers who wanted to get our early and stay late, so he was always ready to go.

The game drive vehicles were good – standard Toyota Landcruisers with 3 rows of seats. They have a shelf in front of each seat to hold your belongings, as well as, bean bags for your camera. They also have dust covers for your lenses or camera. They also provided a step-ladder for entry or exit from the vehicle, though I tended to eschew it as I just used the standard step up points on the vehicle.

The two noon-time activities offered here were either the hide near camp or a visit to a nearby lagoon. The hide wasn't very interesting – hot, sweaty and not much action going on. I think it'll be better later in the season when animals come by for water, but nothing was happening on my visit. The lagoon was largely about birds, but again, I think June isn't the best time for this waterhole.

The camp was fairly quiet, and I basically had private game drives until the last drive where two other guests joined me in the vehicle.

The hosting was also very good. Debbie was very accommodating and was trying to anticipate any needs and checking in how my stay was going. She also was fairly good at hosting during meal times and keeping the table conversation interesting and flowing.

This was probably my favorite camp mainly due to the photographic orientation of the guiding." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"Bush camp feeling is superb.
Small is surely beautiful !!

A very very dedicated and efficient camp manager ( Debbie )

Kennedy didn't leave a stone unturned to make our drives & walks a special experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Stratford

"The real Africa at Mwamba"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2011
"We were made to feel welcome and at home immediately on arrival by camp manager Debbie and guide Patrick, together with their team. Whilst respecting our privacy and desire to experience the wildness of the South Luangwa, they expertly provided all the back up we needed to make our stay a totally unique experience and to get the very most out of our short visit.

Whilst the camp had only opened for the season the previous day, we could not have expected any better service or company. Debbie was a gem - we left after just two nights feeling we had made a real friend. Not only did she provide everything we needed and help us enjoy our surroundings to the full, but she adapted quickly to Richard's sense of humour (which can be an acquired taste!).

The chef and kitchen staff worked wonders to produce delicious food on the most basic of equipment - and the afternoon cakes were the lightest we have ever tasted!

Patrick, our guide,was such a mine of information about all the birds and animals - we learnt a huge amount and could really appreciate what we were seeing thanks to his amazing skills, knowledge and enthusiasm. Thank you Patrick for making our game drives better than we could ever have expected. Also thanks to Gideon, our scout, who reassured us when out on our walking safari and expertly wielded the spotlight during the night drives.

Our only comment would be that we would like to have been advised more on arrival about the inevitability of large animals in the camp at night. On our second night a male elephant came within feet of our chalet, and sounded as though he was going to munch his way right through the reed walls - which was quite a heart-stopping experience, and we were not sure quite when to panic and use the whistle - or run ! We did feel a little isolated in our chalet at this time, although assured next morning that had we needed to use the whistle our call would have been answered. We wanted to be in the midst of the wildlife, and the bushcamp was certainly the best experience we could have had, but having just arrived direct from UK and not being used to the behaviour of the animals, we feel a more detailed briefing might have been useful!

Otherwise, a phenomenal experience and one we would love to repeat in the future." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Cambridge

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"Wow! We were the only guests, so it couldn't have been a more luxurious personalised experience.

With the assistance of our expert guides, wildlife viewing was excellent, whether from the vehicles, hides or when on walking safari." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Luxborough

"In the bush at Mwamba"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"A small and intimate camp with a truly 'bush' feel. The wildlife viewing was fantastic, with elephants & lions seen from (and in!) the camp.

The traditional reed and thatch huts gave a feel of authenticity whilst still providing the necessary creature comforts.

Our guide, Patrick, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and friendly and made the most of each of the many wildlife encounters. The pleasant and attentive staff looked after us extremely well, we really enjoyed our time here." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Chichester

"Possibly our best camp ever....."

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"We loved everything about this camp and are struggling to think of one we've preferred in Africa (and we've been to a lot of camps over the years).

As at Kaingo, the staff are all excellent and genuinely welcoming. Patrick is a truly exceptional guide, combining an infectious enthusiasm, enormous experience and a lovely, quiet sense of humour. The camp is away from the main river but overlooks a tributary with some water and has a charm of its own.

We also saw lots of game. For example, we were walking there from Kaingo but the scout, Gideon, spotted lion en route. With Patrick, we followed them to their kill and afterwards radioed for a lift as we'd diverted a long way off route! The excitement continued as we witnessed a lion pride ambush 200 yards on one side of the camp and, at another time, leopard sparring over his kill with hyena a similar distance on the otherside. With elephant walking through the camp and creating some havoc for the staff, there's almost no need to leave on drives...." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Mwamba Bushcamp experience"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"If this is camping .....!

How did they make all those amazing meals with those kitchen facilities?" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Bristol

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2010
"Exciting place to stay - altho the elephants in camp at night rather nerve-wracking." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Harrogate

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2010
"Food was amazing and guides very enthusiastic" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 124
99%
124 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (276 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa