This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

45% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Essex

"A real bush experience"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"Walked here from Kaingo for a 3 night stay, very small camp with excellent food and fun outdoor bathroom, small seating area in front of the chalet overlooking dry river bed. Excellent hide to observe animals/birds visiting for much needed water just a few steps away from camp.

Perfect for those looking for a relaxed bush experience, fantastic game viewing - best saved to the last evening when had a superb leopard sighting followed by lion and two small cubs, so good we missed sundowners that night.

Debbie perfect hostess, staff behind the scenes did an excellent job in soaring temperatures and the legend that is Meyham was not only incredibly knowledgeable but had the best sense of humour ever!

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary in Mwamba and they gave us a private dinner outside our chalet which was lovely and much appreciated." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Dersingham

"Magical Mwamba"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Mwamba is a true bushcamp, where we felt that much closer to the wildlife than anywhere else we stayed. We were totally immersed in the sounds and sights of the bush from dawn to dusk and beyond. Being escorted to our chalet after dark proved essential on two evenings when we were visited by hyena and elephant.

We were so lucky to have Meyam as our guide for the duration of our stay at Mwamba - his expert knowledge on everything from the smallest insect to the biggest animals made a great experience even deeper. Every drive and walk brought new sightings and variety. On our first evening here we followed a hunting leopard for over an hour. Unfortunately for the leopard its hunt was interrupted by the appearance of a group of lions.

We ended up sitting in the midst of that lion hunt in the dark, with impala rushing past the vehicle hotly pursued by the lions! On our last morning we were on our own with Meyam who responded to our request with a specific 'birding' drive when we saw many brds not previously encountered.

Debbie runs the camp in a friendly and efficient manner; all the staff took delight in their roles and looked after us extremely well. We really didn't want to leave!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs B
Herts

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"Probably one of our favourite camps in Zambia. Intimate, with a real "in the bush" feel to it. Lovely bar and dining area, and a great hide overlooking a productive pumped waterhole. Sitting in the hide after returning from a morning drive and just watching what happens is a relaxing, and sometimes thrilling experience. Derek - I'm sure you could bill this as an "in-camp sauna" - an extra facility for guests! This was our second trip to Mwamba, and it felt like we'd never left.

Debbie and the team did a great job in looking after us, and Meyam, in his quiet way, is one of those rare guides who can truly convey the beauty of the bush and was a real pleasure to be with. Thank you Meyam. We were lucky enough to be there with an hysterically fun group of Australian artists (thank you Peta, Lyn and Judy). Leopard in a tree, hyenas whooping at night, lions in camp, you name it, we had it.

If you're staying at both Kaingo and Mwamba, do make sure you walk from one to the other - we saw leopard, elephants, a very friendly group of giraffe, zebra, wilderbeast, puku, impala, and no end of birds. Highly reccomended." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"We especially loved this camp maybe because we spent 4 nights here and because it is small taking only 6 guests. Because of this we got to know our guide Kennedy and Debbie the manager more than at the other camps. Mwamba has a real bush camp feel to it with an open bathroom. Animals wandered by and an elephant came to dinner one night.

We walked from Kaingo camp to Mwamba and saw a number of animals including hyenas. Our morning walks with Kennedy were always interesting. The drives here were great too with many lions and a lovely leopard . We would like to return to both Kaingo and Mwamba camps." See all these reviews: 22n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Mrs H
London

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2011
"Mwamba has been a very enjoyable, intimate bushcamp experience for us and shouldn't be missed when staying at Kaingo.

The wonderfully remote location in the middle of game-rich areas, combined with great personal service/guiding and a waterhole hide right in the camp made for days filled with plenty of excitement. The fun doesn't stop when arriving back in camp - there is plenty of rustling, grumbling, growling and hooting in and around camp to keep things interesting day and night.

Don't come here if you are after luxury with aircon and modcons - but if you are after an immersive bushcamp experience of a largely bygone era, you might just fall in love with it." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Austin

"Our own, private bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2011
"We were the only guest in Mwamba so we had the entire staff and camp to ourselves. The staff was wonderful, the food great and giving us sundowners and sunsets never before seen.

We had Elliot the leopard walking right next to us as he stalked a croc with his dinner." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs HA
Pimlico

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

5 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2011
"Mwamba is truly away from it all giving a wonderful sense of being in the bush. We saw only one other vehicle in 5 days. The network of roads was superb and we encountered the local Mwamba lion pride on several occasions.

The outside bathroom was brilliant - loved it, despite an elephant taking a very very close look one night!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
USA

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2011
"A small camp with personal service.

We did not expect the 3 hour ride from the airport, but even though we were late landing, the camp provided the driver and a guide so that we could look for wildlife once we entered South Luangua Park. The staff held supper for us and we were able to meet the rest of the guests.

We were only there for a short time, but the staff made the arrangements for a great safari walk with guide and scout to get to the other Shenton camp in the park.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
THB47
New Zealand

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2011
"Great bush camp experience and great personal service.

The outdoor bathroom was fun but the shower could have been better. Getting "trapped" in our tent by an elephant right outside the door of our chalet was a highlight. We also enjoyed spending time at the hide and being taken to the lagoon." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss L
Scotland

"Mwamba experience"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2011
"We took the opportunity to walk from Kaingo to Mwamba with Patrick and enjoyed this very much. Our luggage was taken by road.

Everything at Mwamba was excellent - like Kaingo, and we loved it. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The accommodation was different but just as comfortable as the sister camp. However, it was more 'bushcamp' than Kaingo which was exactly the experience we wanted. Same high standards but slightly less formal. Of the two camps we preferred Mwamba.

The game drives were terrific and Ian went beyond the call of duty to make sure that we saw what we wanted. Endless enthusiasm and patience from him and Patrick. Many leopard sightings including the beautiful Kylie who didn't seem at all perturbed by our presence. We got some fantastic photos.

We had a wonderful time and we highly recommend Shenton safaris. Everything was well thought out and ran like clockwork. Both camps are a photographer's paradise and they cater for photographers by providing dust cloths and bean bags. It's these little things that make the overall experience so enjoyable.

We plan on returning!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 124
99%
124 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa