This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena
Tena Tena

Reviews of Tena Tena

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tena Tena and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tena Tena.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

29% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

95% success

Buffalo

95% success

Zebra

86% success

Eland

19% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Sable antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J & Mr B
London

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"Having visited Nkwali & Nsefu this camp offered comparably excellent facilities and service but lacked the feeling of close proximity to the river.The surrounding area however provided many attractions, especially the lagoon: over three dozen African spoonbills moving in a straight line methodically siphoning up their food and over 100 saddle-billed storks in a tight cluster.

Elsewhere we witnessed engrossing animal behaviour: four juvenile giraffes bashing each other's necks and heads together in play fighting and a female baboon pursued by a male with clinging baby which was being used as a 'protective shield' against the threats of another competing male" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Madrid

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"Tena Tena is the main disappointment of the trip. Overly rated. Poor situation. Average service. Worst park of the park.

The best part was when our request to be transferred to Nsefu for our last night was accomodated. Nsefu is a beautiful lodge, with an amazing setting and a great team. Old fashioned lodge in Rondavel. Highly recommended" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr&Mrs Z
Switzerland

"Great luxoury"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"Tena Tena is a very luxoury facility. The safari are well conducted although it occurs a bit driving thru a large Zoo." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Tena Tena review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"This is an excellent camp. We particularly liked the accommodation and again, the guides were superb and worked hard to get that lion! We also took the opportunity to go on two walks which give a different perspective on the area. We learnt so much from our guide about the flora and fauna. We had a fantastic time here." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Erna
Netherlands

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2014
"Tena tena camp is described as one of the most beautiful camps in South Luangwa. The Bradt guide book on Zambia is right about that. It is a remote tented camp, basic on one hand and luxurious on the other hand. Camp manager Bertrame and his team are not only friendly and welcoming but have also high experience in the field they are operating and guiding is of top level here.

This camp attracts people that look for a place without any fuss and being far away from everything in the bush. Well that is what you get. Beautiful days (and nightdrives), driving, walking, lots of animals and sharing your stories in the evening with other guests, staff and guides during joint (carefully and well prepared) meals.

There are different areas you can visit: bush, woodland and (salt) plains, even a village stay if required. The beautiful South Luangwa river is leading during most of your trips as lots of animals can be found here. But you do not only visit South Luangwa for the animals as one guest pointed out: you come here for the bush, the remote place itself, seeing animals is a bonus! And so it is." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Surrey

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2014
"We have been to Tena Tena before and it was just as good this time. The guiding was excellent, the lodge and new location beautiful and the staff very helpful. It was only let down by the average food. The two camps I visited prior to Tena, Wasa Lodge and Shoebill Island, managed much better in more difficult circumstances.

However the camp itself still remains one of my favourites in all Africa, probably because of its position on the river in such a beautiful part of the South Luangwa." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Isle of Man

"What a lovely camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2014
"The camp and location are wonderful. It was our first time at Tena Tena and we will definitely go back.

We requested the same guide as on previous visits and RPS were kind enough to arrange this. Kanga is an excellent guide and nothing is ever too much trouble. He went out of his way to find all that we wanted to see and photograph and always had something new and interesting to say about life in the bush. We have become keen birders (much to the amusement of our friends and family) as a result of Kanga's enthusiasm!

Bertram and his team looked after us very well and the food and service were up to usual RPS standards i.e. fabulous!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Tena Tena"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2014
"This was my first visit to an RPS camp and I was very impressed. I liked the way they got out early in the morning (30 mins before other camps) and didn't have overly elaborate breakfasts which tend to delay people. The experience seemed very "safari focussed" which is a good thing in my book.

They were also very flexible about activities, even sending over an extra guide from Nsefu at one point to accommodate everyone's choice of activities. The vehicles were very comfortable with a maximum of 4 guests and I prefer not having a canopy. Despite the lack of shade, for all round visibility, especially looking at birds or animals in trees, I think the vehicles without canopies are better.

The managers/guides were all very friendly and mealtimes were very enjoyable. It was nice to see a hostess/caterer (Rose) with some safari industry experience.

The food was mostly good, the lunches being better than dinners. I wasn't keen on the Mongolian BBQ idea, especially when I found myself chewing on raw chicken. Fortunately there were no nasty consequences.

I loved the tents, which aren't huge but that makes the outdoors seem closer, and I loved the outdoor bathrooms although the hot water in my shower was very temperamental. I have a fair bit of experience in coaxing these geisers to work, and I couldn't get a consistent supply of water of a moderate temperature out of it. They should do something about this.

But overall, I'd definitely go back to RPS." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LK
SW London

"Amazing safari at Tena Tena"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2013
"Luxury tents with comfortable beds, clean sheets and en suite. The tents are light and airy and with nothing much more than mosquito nets on the sides (optional thinker canvas at night), the 37 degree heat was not much of an issue for us. For us, this is the perfect safari experience, although be aware that you will probably be sharing your room with a few frogs and insects.

The camp is excellently run by Bertie, a Zambian, who is also an amazing guide. Bertie was ably assisted by Jessica, a young lady from UK. We liked the 'host' was African and had a genuine in depth knowledge of the country. Great idea to have staff names subtly embroidered on their shirts, so much better than pin on labels.
The food was good, given that you are in the middle of nowhere.

Our guide Nyambe was terrific and it is a superb area for game, especially lion." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Massachusetts

"A very special safari experience at Tena Tena"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2013
"Tena Tena was the ideal place to spend the last 3 days of my safari experience, an elegant camp set by the river with 6 guest tents. Hosts Jessica and Bertram and the entire Tena Tena staff offered seamless hospitality, thought of everything, and responded to the varied demands of guests with total grace. Meals are out of this world. We were served breakfasts and one barbeque dinner while facing the river in a line of safari chairs on the bank in front of camp. Accommodations are exquisite, creatively natural. Private, unimpeded views on 3 sides from my tent. Night noises included hippos sighing in the river and the munching of elephants only feet away.. Near my tent we found a lion's paw prints from the night before. A feeling of 24/7 total safety with attentive staff and guards.

Guides Bertram and Nyambe made each walk and drive a magnificent learning experience, their expert knowledge of the wildlife made it possible to be where things were happening and to observe big and small, and the life and death cycles of nature. Highlights included seeing several lion prides after kills, two leopards during night drives, each eating their impala kill, and a mother leopard and cubs lying in the afternoon shade, observing elephants below at a waterhole. The dryness of the season meant more game was visible to us not only in the bush, but also when they came to drink where the (limited) water remains.

A lasting moment for me came during our "sundowners" break on an afternoon drive. From our spot under a shade tree on the river bank, we could watch hippos and crocodiles in the river below, impalas in the distance, waterbirds of all description, and hundreds of gorgeous carmine bee eaters flying around and below us to their perches and nesting holes in the river bank.

I highly recommend Tena Tena and hope to return someday." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 136
95%
136 reviews of Tena Tena by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
107
24
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (279 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (204 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


97% (190 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (169 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (127 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (106 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (62 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


92% (12 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


95% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


95% (8 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa