This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

121 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

55% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Buffalo

82% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

45% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 121
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Newcastle

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2008
"An excellent place to start our trip in the Delta at the beginning of November.

Able to do game drives, walks, boating and mokoro from same location.

Staff at camp excellent and guide knowledgeable and wonderful company on activities." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2008
"A quite delightful location. The island location provides excellent seclusion while there is still easy access to "the mainland" for game drives." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Little bee-eater
UK

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"As we arrived by boat the welcome was fantastic. All the staff were there singing and dancing on the jetty and the warmth and hospitality of all was truly memorable.

Lazarus (our guide) was a star. We saw all the animals we could have hoped to have seen amd many beautiful and colourful birds.
Our first trip into the Delta was very special . Our stay in the Honeymoon Suite was the icing on the cake.
Little Vumbura holds very special memories and the highlight of the holiday. What more can we say." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Wonderful safari at Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2008
"We had a truly wonderful time at Little Vumbura. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room which we had was really comfortable and the people was met during our time there made the whole trip truly memorable. The highlight of the trip has to be the first night where we came across a pair of mating leopards while at the same time developed a flat tyre on the land rover.

Sitting on the side of the Land Rover and looking down at the leopards directly beneath us while trying not to move will remain with us for the rest of our lives. After that everything else appeared tame although that was certainly not the case for the remaining two days, it's just that how do you top that !!

We did come across a full grown male lion on the next day and some fantastic herds of elephants along with young ones and very very attentive mothers !!

Little Vumbura is a beautiful little camp, in a wonderful location, with good facilities and good food, backed up by a very friendly and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Drs
Brisbane

"Best camp in the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2008
"Lovely camp, very comfortable and picturesque. Our favourite camp in the Delta. Best game viewing of the trip.

Gavin was a fantastic guide - we really appreciated such a wonderful, all round knowledgeable and competent guide, particularly as some of my interest lie in the smaller mammals and birds as well as the "big game".

We had some fantastic sightings, and got great photos thanks to Gavin who managed to get us into good positions with respect to the light.

Management in Camp (Sarah, Tendani, Oda (sp?) were lovely and extremely friendly and there was a wonderful relaxed friendly atmosphere. We were very sad to leave." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Wise Monkeys
Bucks

"Little Vumbura doesn't disappoint"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2008
"We'd heard a lot about the charms of this camp and it didn't disappoint.

We were expertly guided by Kay, who always seemed to know exactly what was going on in the bush. One noteable evening we saw leopard, cheetah, hyena and sable all within 3km of camp! Another highlight was the hyena den with its very young hyenas and their slightly older minders.

The camp staff were very friendly and the setting and accomodation were beautiful.

The food was tasty and excellent vegetarian options were available at lunchtime but not in the evening. This was noticed by the camp manager on the first evening of our stay. She expressed her disappointment, but it wasn't susequently addressed, which was odd as the camp had several vegetarian guests." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The Leopards
Jersey

"Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2008
"Fantastic camp. Staff great, rooms great, location great - what can more can we say. From the moment we stepped off the boat on arrival to the moment we left the airstrip we had a fantastic time. Lots of highlights on this part of our holiday - sitting by the campfire having pre-dinner drinks, really nice food, laid back and friendly staff who made you feel like 'part of the family'.

Our guide here was Kay (Madela Kay) who was just the best ever - the best barman in the bush, gin & tonics will never taste the same again!!! His knowledge was amazing and his personality made our drives great fun.

Leopards, elephants ( with babies - wow!), buffalo, wildebeest, verbet monkeys, baboons, red lechwe, giraffes, sable antelope, hippos and millions of macdonalds (impala) and pyjama horses (zebra) - Kay's descriptions not ours!! Fantastic birdlife as well - vulchers, fish eagles, lilac breasted rollers, pied kingfisher to name but a few. Truly excellent experience and one that we'd recommend to everyone!!" See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2008
"Little Vumbura is our favourite Okavango lodge. This was our third visit but the first since the modernisation programme. It is still a truly wonderful camp, set on its own on a small island. The boat trip before and after every game drive adds a very special feel and we are sure the island setting leads to an intimacy between staff and guests almost impossibel to replicate in other camps.

As died in the wool dinosaurs we much preferred the old canvas walls and ceilings but appreciate the new man made coverings are probably more cost effective. We did however find the public sitting space very much hotter in early afternoon with the heat radiating from the ceiling. However, none of this detracts from the special atmosphere we have always experienced here.

In true Winderness tradition the staff, both camp and guiding, are top notch and willing to go out of their way at any time to ensure their guests have everything they need. I am sure we will go back for a fourth time in 2009!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
California

"Fantastic guide, huge diverse landscape"

4 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2007
"This was the other highlight of our trip to Botswana. We were lucky to have "Moa" (Moamowedi Monwela) as our guide for 4 days.

The area used by this camp is extensive, so you can go for game drives and not be on the same roads each time. But we were lucky that over 4 days we had time to do a walking safari, and two water trips.

My wife is an educator, and a teacher of teachers, and she was blown away by Moa's ability to integrate and synthesize information, to use pattern to illustrate process. His knowledge of the animals, plants, birds is very deep, but his ability to explain what is really going on to people at very different levels of experience and knowledge was extraordinary.

Otherwise, the camp seemed to be run along the lines of other Wilderness Safari camps. Meals with a few staff, but mostly you talk to other guests. Self assured, very competent, but a little generic. The staff likes to stroke the guests' egos, which I guess is important to some, but a little tiresome to others." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Vancouver

"Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2007
"Superb. Our first experience with Widerness Safaris - the camp runs like clockwork, the team - Lawrence, Molly, Uno - as well as Kay, our guide, were just wonderful. Food was excellent (we learned that the L.. V. chef is well known for that). We met several people who were there multiple times and keep coming back.

We expected a lot from the drives and our expectations were exceeded. We were also very fortunate to get to a pride of some 8 lions about 5 minutes after they killed a buffalo; we watched & followed them for 2 days. Of course we saw a lot of other wildlife. Found a cheetah on our last drive. Also a group of wild dogs who had just arrived.

L.V. is just about the perfect combination: small enough, great drives, friendly. Lots of good images, our guide was very helpful in positioning the car." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 111-120 of 121
96%
121 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa